Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating 319 Reviews
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Details & Booking
Member Image Crosboro
Oct 2018
Very good guide, very knowledgeable, saw a lot of the city--highlights being the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain (not as wide open as the pictures would have you believe) and the Vatican. Great lunch in a little cafe. Did not go inside the Sistine Chapel and the line was hours long.
Read Crosboro's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Same as the others
Member Image carlamandell
Sep 2018
As a hop on/hop off bus tour - this would have been good except that in Rome, the bus does not drop off close to the monuments. In few instances, dropped off 1-2 blocks from entrance, in others a 5-10 min walk for those with full mobility. Additionally, the initial spot to pick up the Big Bus - long line to get a bus and the bus that came when we approached the front of the line - did not tell us that they were an express bus to the train station and not a bus to begin the tour. Also, the bus did not exactly follow their own map - thus leaving out a few sites along the route. You cannot see Vatican city from this bus tour. Also - no benches at any of the bus stops. Only one stop had a cafe - which did not have a bathroom. Had to walk a long block to find one that did offer a bathroom for customers. Not a tour for those with any walking issues.
Read carlamandell's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LAL Cruiser
Sep 2018
Did the transfer plus hop on/hop off tour. Organization was poor - we arrived in Rome with 60 other passengers only to find no sightseeing buses waiting for us or organized. We were "pushed" on to already circulating buses.
Read LAL Cruiser's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image newtocruiseinblue
Sep 2018
We took the EXC tour "Best of Rome" which was a highlight of our cruise. Splurg and do it. Don't waste time looking for maps, waiting in lines or looking for transport! We went to the Trevi fountain in the morning and it was not that crowded, which we appreciated. We then went to the colloseum - which was a pinch me moment. Our tour guide was a history expert and a teacher - he was absolutely amazing!! Not just a tour guide reading from cards but someone who really knows everything there is to know about the subject matter!! We had lunch as an underground restaurant near the colloseum and this was a highlight of our trip - ammmmazing lasagna and wine. LOVED IT. The wine was flowing! We then went to the Vatican City and saw St. Peter's Basilica! We would like to go back and explore more of the vatican city. Not enough time for everything but we squeezed in everything that we could in one day!!
Read newtocruiseinblue's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image NJJOENJ
Sep 2018
This excursion was worth every penny. It was full of all of the must sees in Rome. We were overwhelmed with joy seeing everything we wanted
Read NJJOENJ's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image morrisretired
Aug 2018
Spent 2 nights in Rome before cruise. Did the Combo Exclusive Catacombs After Closing / Bone Chapel Tours at night. It was cooler and less crowded then. Also, did the Rome In a Day Tour. That made a very long day, first going to the Vatican early morning, lunch break, and then going to the Colosseum for the rest of the afternoon. A lot of walking and climbing steps everywhere on this combined tour. It would be better to split this into 2 days. Both tours were skip the line! Best way to go - because there are long lines waiting to buy tickets.
Read morrisretired's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Step9
Aug 2018
Rome blew my mind, it was the most amazing place to see, we couldn't do the museums on the day because it was a public holiday so we missed out on the Sistine Chapel, it was replaced by a visit to the catacombs which i enjoyed. This was easily my favourite port.
Read Step9's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Patrick.m.kennedy1
Jul 2018
Rome was by far my favorite day. Seeing the Vatican and the Colosseum is something I will never forget. The architecture is out of this world, very colorful and clean. You couldn't have asked for a better time.
Read Patrick.m.kennedy1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group, LLC
Member Image R McLeod
Jun 2018
Disappointed that a city of this stature has allowed itself to become such a mess. Time for a dramatic clean-up. Graffiti everywhere, the smell of urine, homelessness, beggars, pick-pockets - a shithole of a city!
Read R McLeod's full Viking Orion cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image biglux
Jun 2018
Awesome tour just 2 persons in total through SmartCruiseTours.com Saw so much driven in Mercedes van right up to most attractions.
Read biglux's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: SmartCruiseTours.com
Member Image Michael JPB
Jun 2018
Realy Realy enjoyed this trip, guid was very good knew his stuff and made the walking part of the trip very enjoyable, will return to spend more time in this city
Read Michael JPB's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image bfamily9
May 2018
Lot's to see with little time to see it. The excursion offered a brief overview of Rome. The city is more than one hour away from port. Taking a shore excursion offers a bus ride to Rome with a tour also included.
Read bfamily9's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Illerrep
May 2018
So much to see. You really need more days to see everything. We did get in the highlights. The colosseum, the Roman forum, the Trevi fountain and St. Peter’s basilica.
Read Illerrep's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image howag93
May 2018
We stopped off in Civitaveccia port which is just under an hour's drive from Rome. Opting for the Rome in a day excursion, we packed quite a bit into the day so it did feel quite rushed. First stop, the Coliseum, however, we were told not to go in as we wouldn't have time to queue up, so we just walked around. We hit the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain next, followed by Vatican city. One thing is that whilst Rome itself may not be too busy, as soon as you get anywhere near these landmarks, it's full of tourists, keep that in mind if you plan on visiting near Summer as it was already pretty crowded in May. We did feel that we were quite rushed as we were some of the last people to get back on the coach and some people even had to meet us at the next destination.
Read howag93's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sfrancis4949
May 2018
Ape Calessino-Poor audio quality of guide’s talking, strong diesel fumes, very bumpy
Read Sfrancis4949's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GroveBen
May 2018
Tour was all day 7am - 5pm so you have to have stamina, but it was excellent and fast paced. Vatican city was stunning, Trevi Fountain beautiful, Collesseum was hetic, busy and did not allow for us to go in. Beware of the gypsy's and beggars - constantly demanding attention and one gypsy tried to get my handbag but my husband spotted her eyeing up my bag, so beware! We stopped for food at Casanova's restaurant - I have an onion allergy and gluten free diet is required - the guide rang ahead to organise this for me, I was presented with a plate of gluten free pasta with nothing on it, it was foul and the other passengers shocked, only when we had finished and my food was left and cold did they offer some vegetables with it. Stay clear of this restaurant if you have any dietary needs.
Read GroveBen's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Happy Northern Cruiser!
May 2018
Guide on the coach was entertaining and knowledgeable. One of the best guides on our holiday. Driver was great, took us to all the highlights and slowed the coach so we could all get good photos. Great excursion.
Read Happy Northern Cruiser!'s full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image davidjnowak
Apr 2018
The tour started great, but was derailed when we arrived at the Vatican. The tour guide was denied entrance while other tours without an appointment were allowed to go ahead of us. We arrived at the boat over an hour after "anchors away".
Read davidjnowak's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jbkellen
Apr 2018
Full day tour, a lot of walking but well worth it!
Read jbkellen's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wallacejain
Apr 2018
Just a city tour from the Bus, except for St. Peter's Basilica, nothing much could be seen
Read wallacejain's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image feljen
Apr 2018
Very good tour with plenty of free time to explore the back streets and get away from the huge crowds around the vatican
Read feljen's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Grandma Google
Apr 2018
Great guide. We saw St Peter's Square and the outside of the basilica, but couldn't go in because it was Sunday. On the other hand, since it was Sunday, we "saw" and heard the Pope when he addressed the public from a window and received his blessing. It was a magical location, even though the single entrance and body-to-body crowd-pushing security checkpoint were challenging. Wonderful excursion!
Read Grandma Google's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image Cdurkee
Mar 2018
Enjoyed seeing the colosseum and St Peter's Basilica it was just busy. I really didn't have a chance to really enjoy and appreciate the Vatican museum or the Sistine Chapel due to the insane amount of people in there. We were walking though as one big crowd, shoulder to shoulder, with no circulating air any any time you would want to pause to just look or take a picture, there was always security there to yell "Avanti, Keep Moving"
Read Cdurkee's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jfoote
Mar 2018
The bus tour of Rome was very comprehensive and the transfer to the airport was included. Highly recommended!
Read jfoote's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jfoote
Mar 2018
The bus tour of Rome was very comprehensive and the transfer to the airport was included. Highly recommended!
Read jfoote's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links