Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image joepeggy
1 review
Dec 2017
Overall tour by bus of the city. Stopped at Vatican City for a visit. Security checks slowed things down. We left at noon and the Pope was going to come out to the balcony at 1230 that day. Disappointed the tour operators didn't seem to know this so we could have stayed another hour.
Read joepeggy's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image NPare
1 review
Dec 2017
Included city tour was well organized with knowledgeable guide.
Read NPare's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Captain Camera
4 reviews
Nov 2017
Bought the MSC grand tour which includes lunch, highly recommended this tour
Read Captain Camera's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image jmarsh184
2 reviews
Nov 2017
We had been to Rome before but this tour added a lot we had not seen. Hard to take pictures unless they stopped.
Read jmarsh184's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image robinhood1
3 reviews
Nov 2017
Included - long drive , congested streets, short walk - would have preferred just to be dropped off in St Peter’s for the afternoon!
Read robinhood1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image vagolferbob
2 reviews
Oct 2017
In Rome, we used Italytours.eu and had them pick us up in a small van as we exited the ship saving us time from using the shuttle bus to the main bus staging area. Our driver Alexander was excellent in navigating the torturous streets and traffic, and managed to get us close to all sites. He provide commentary while driving and found us a nice quiet spot for us to have a reasonable lunch and do some additional sightseeing. We had skip the line tickets for the Coliseum and the Vatican, where we had an expert guide, Isabelle, who knew about all the works of art, even what the painter was thinking at the time. We got to see all the major sights, with inside visits to the Coliseum and Vatican and even had a leisurely lunch.
Read vagolferbob's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italytours.eu
Member Image doggo12
1 review
Oct 2017
Our first stop was Vatican City on All Saints Day yes it was busy but I got to see the Pope up on his balcony addressing the crowd which more than made up for the crowding. Beggars and touts were every where and did spoil the experience a little.
Read doggo12's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Aulanifan
1 review
Oct 2017
This was a bus tour from the airport through Rome then on to the ship. 4 hours but a nice overview of the sites
Read Aulanifan's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jacobzakd
1 review
Oct 2017
Very good saw a lot no free time.
Read jacobzakd's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.eu
Member Image keno940
2 reviews
Oct 2017
An included excursion. Cruise terminal is unfortunately a long ride from Rome. We saw lots of sights from the bus and had one stop for a photo shoot followed by an hour of free time in St. Peters square. If doing it again, would have taken one of the extra cost excursions.
Read keno940's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Viking Star 6090
2 reviews
Oct 2017
We saw most of the famous sites by bus. Could not get good photos. Rome is very congested and therefore no room for buses to stop. We did stop at Vatican City, but not enough time to get into the Sistine Chapel, very long lines.
Read Viking Star 6090's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Srchu
1 review
Oct 2017
Nice bus ride, interesting sights, knowledgeable tour guide. Interesting stops at tour sites.
Read Srchu's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PatBain
1 review
Sep 2017
This was an excellent excursion. I was nervous to book it but well worth it. It was Rome on your own tour with cruising excursions. The tour guide showed us the drop off and pick up location on map. On the way to Rome she was very knowledgeable and funny. Worth the money and Rome is amazing.
Read PatBain's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image barnegatcruiser
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Excellent overview of Ancient Rome in the AM, stopped for lunch by the Vatican Museums. Nice drive back to ship.
Read barnegatcruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Rome Driving Tour
Member Image UK David
1 review
Sep 2017
The tour was excellent, although expensive, and Rome was wonderful. The downside is you really need three or four days to properly visit all the sites so a one day tour doesn't do Rome justice especially as a great proportion of the tour time is taken getting to and from the port.
Read UK David's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image steventrace
3 reviews
Sep 2017
Love, love, love Rome. Hate the million selfie stick or ticket sellers they are a pain. Just loved walking to the Pantheon and Trevi fountains etc a beautiful city. We will return.
Read steventrace's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: One of the vendors at the port entrance
Member Image leesj3
1 review
Sep 2017
Very busy and although small group tour ( 8 people) still fair bit of walking to do. Great way to see most of the sights
Read leesj3's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grooster
1 review
Aug 2017
We went on another excursion with Cruising Excursions and again they were great. The guide was amazing. Perfect English and guided us around Rome and the Vatican City and his knowledge was unbelievable. They don't just read a script parrot fashion, they know what they are preaching and would answer anything thrown at them.
Read Grooster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image Linneylou
1 review
Aug 2017
Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday, so the Sistine chapel was closed. Also a very long queue to get into the basilica so we missed that. However we still saw plenty of other sights and the tour guide was great
Read Linneylou's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KallieSEA
1 review
Aug 2017
We did the Ultimate Rome excursion on a very hot (44 degree C) day. It was one of those trips that sucks while you're doing it but you're so glad to have done it in retrospect. We did see a lot of Rome but spent a disproportionate amount of time waiting to get into the Colloseum and a lot of time being dragged through the Vatican Museum (which was very hot and crowded). Lunch on your own.
Read KallieSEA's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image macwrestler
1 review
Aug 2017
I highly suggest booking privately before your cruise with a tour company. The onboard charges are astronomically high. I talked to some cruisers who got far more from an outside company than we did with our onboard shore excursion. The drive to Rome is about 1 1/2 hour. We saw just the basic highlights with a stop at the Forum, The Trevi fountain and the Vatican. It was very rushed. The tour guide was my favorite of the whole cruise. She new so much about her city.
Read macwrestler's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pollymary
1 review
Jul 2017
Did a golf buggy tour of Rome. Absolutely fantastic! It was the highlight of our holiday. We were taken to the main sites, but also down side streets to see some little gems there. We ate in a back street pizzeria - great food and reasonably priced.
Read pollymary's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image newsman9
1 review
Jul 2017
Discovery Tours offered a private tour with a great driver and guide around Rome's major sites, including inside the Coliseum, as well as inside Vatican City and its treasures. We paid a bit less for this than we would have paid through the ship to ride on a big bus and see far less, without guarantees of getting into the Coliseum. Wholeheartedly recommend.
Read newsman9's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Discovery Tours
Member Image ftwtong
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We did the "Best of Rome" with Italy Tours which gave us a guided tour of the Vatican, skip the line tickets at the Colosseum, and many other sites around Rome. It was a very hot and full day, but there is no way we would have seen everything on our own. This was money well spent.
Read ftwtong's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image djhe
1 review
Jun 2017
Bus arrived with a broken air conditioner, but after complaining a second bus arrived within 15 minutes and the rest of the trip was great. Saw a lot of Rom, but would have had a better time getting out in the old part of time then in Vatican City. We could only take photos from the outside since the lines were too long to get into it during the 1 hour and 20 minutes stop.
Read djhe's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links