Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image PatBain
1 review
Sep 2017
This was an excellent excursion. I was nervous to book it but well worth it. It was Rome on your own tour with cruising excursions. The tour guide showed us the drop off and pick up location on map. On the way to Rome she was very knowledgeable and funny. Worth the money and Rome is amazing.
Read PatBain's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image barnegatcruiser
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Excellent overview of Ancient Rome in the AM, stopped for lunch by the Vatican Museums. Nice drive back to ship.
Read barnegatcruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Rome Driving Tour
Member Image UK David
1 review
Sep 2017
The tour was excellent, although expensive, and Rome was wonderful. The downside is you really need three or four days to properly visit all the sites so a one day tour doesn't do Rome justice especially as a great proportion of the tour time is taken getting to and from the port.
Read UK David's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image steventrace
3 reviews
Sep 2017
Love, love, love Rome. Hate the million selfie stick or ticket sellers they are a pain. Just loved walking to the Pantheon and Trevi fountains etc a beautiful city. We will return.
Read steventrace's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: One of the vendors at the port entrance
Member Image leesj3
1 review
Sep 2017
Very busy and although small group tour ( 8 people) still fair bit of walking to do. Great way to see most of the sights
Read leesj3's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grooster
1 review
Aug 2017
We went on another excursion with Cruising Excursions and again they were great. The guide was amazing. Perfect English and guided us around Rome and the Vatican City and his knowledge was unbelievable. They don't just read a script parrot fashion, they know what they are preaching and would answer anything thrown at them.
Read Grooster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image Linneylou
1 review
Aug 2017
Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday, so the Sistine chapel was closed. Also a very long queue to get into the basilica so we missed that. However we still saw plenty of other sights and the tour guide was great
Read Linneylou's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KallieSEA
1 review
Aug 2017
We did the Ultimate Rome excursion on a very hot (44 degree C) day. It was one of those trips that sucks while you're doing it but you're so glad to have done it in retrospect. We did see a lot of Rome but spent a disproportionate amount of time waiting to get into the Colloseum and a lot of time being dragged through the Vatican Museum (which was very hot and crowded). Lunch on your own.
Read KallieSEA's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image macwrestler
1 review
Aug 2017
I highly suggest booking privately before your cruise with a tour company. The onboard charges are astronomically high. I talked to some cruisers who got far more from an outside company than we did with our onboard shore excursion. The drive to Rome is about 1 1/2 hour. We saw just the basic highlights with a stop at the Forum, The Trevi fountain and the Vatican. It was very rushed. The tour guide was my favorite of the whole cruise. She new so much about her city.
Read macwrestler's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pollymary
1 review
Jul 2017
Did a golf buggy tour of Rome. Absolutely fantastic! It was the highlight of our holiday. We were taken to the main sites, but also down side streets to see some little gems there. We ate in a back street pizzeria - great food and reasonably priced.
Read pollymary's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image newsman9
1 review
Jul 2017
Discovery Tours offered a private tour with a great driver and guide around Rome's major sites, including inside the Coliseum, as well as inside Vatican City and its treasures. We paid a bit less for this than we would have paid through the ship to ride on a big bus and see far less, without guarantees of getting into the Coliseum. Wholeheartedly recommend.
Read newsman9's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Discovery Tours
Member Image ftwtong
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We did the "Best of Rome" with Italy Tours which gave us a guided tour of the Vatican, skip the line tickets at the Colosseum, and many other sites around Rome. It was a very hot and full day, but there is no way we would have seen everything on our own. This was money well spent.
Read ftwtong's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image djhe
1 review
Jun 2017
Bus arrived with a broken air conditioner, but after complaining a second bus arrived within 15 minutes and the rest of the trip was great. Saw a lot of Rom, but would have had a better time getting out in the old part of time then in Vatican City. We could only take photos from the outside since the lines were too long to get into it during the 1 hour and 20 minutes stop.
Read djhe's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image deeter256
1 review
Jun 2017
Our tour guide was a former Art History teacher. To say we had the best tour guide of anyone else, let alone on the planet, was an understatement. She was amazing and we enjoyed every moment of our time in Rome. Excellent excursion! However, be ware, it's going to be crowded. Very very crowded. So much so that the crowds almost ruined it for us.
Read deeter256's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EyeDocCT
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Visited Vatican and Sistine Chapel, Trevi Fountain and much, much more
Read EyeDocCT's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: "Rome-in-Limo"
Member Image Tinafrommd
1 review
Jun 2017
Ape Calissino was fun! We got a personalized tour that showed us around a lot in 2.5hrs. We had to go to Spanish Steps and Fountain on our own. This took us about 45min to walk to from where we were dropped off at. We could not have enough time to go inside the Coliseum or the Vatican. That will have to be for another trip. We had to take a taxi to be able to get back in time to our meeting point from the Fountain.
Read Tinafrommd's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DazzaO
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Our tour guide was so informative and had such a great knowledge of the fantastic history of the city, we couldn't fail to be impressed. We done a lot of walking during the day long excursion, in a great deal of heat, but it was truly worth every single moment of it. Rome has been a city I have wanted to visit for many years and I was dissapointed.
Read DazzaO's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image katethecookiemonster
2 reviews
May 2017
Loved Rome, but the tour guide was not great.
Read katethecookiemonster's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image ahaim
1 review
May 2017
Great city tour of Rome and the Vatican with skip-the-line option. Trip included an expert guide at the Vatican - absolutely worth it.The Rome part included the Colosseum and few Piazzas.
Read ahaim's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image whaleboy12
1 review
May 2017
New Air Conditioned bus, way way smart tour guide. She knew everything about all the history in all the buildings. Only problem was time restrictiion. Due to having to get back to port there was no time to get inside the Vatican. Church tours were rushed and lunch was served but had to keep moving to make the schedule work. Colloseum was unbelievable.
Read whaleboy12's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Monty222
1 review
May 2017
Walking the historic streets of Rome is an experience. Not the first time for us, but always a nice experience. We also did the hop on-hop off bus, but the traffic, fumes have or has meant that this tour is longer and more painful than previous trips. Get a city map and just walk.
Read Monty222's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Cynchaslo
1 review
May 2017
Our driver and guide, Remo was terrific. Trump was in town so the traffic was horrendous, but he got us around to hit all the highlights of Rome and the Vatican. We also had a delightful lunch. We were picked up and dropped off dockside right off the ship.
Read Cynchaslo's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Share a Shore Excursion Italy
Member Image davehcruises
2 reviews
May 2017
The tour itself was good but Rome was absolutely packed with people so seeing things was actually difficult. Throwing a coin into the Trevi Fountain would have needed a catapult! There was a lot a walking involved during the day and keeping an eye on the guide at all times was tiring. The downside to the trip was the poor arrangements to join it. We left the ship in good time to make sure that we were not late for the coach but then had to stand in a car park for over an hour. The coach would only be called once everyone was there which was poor.
Read davehcruises's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Crusing Excursions
Member Image the moosettes
1 review
May 2017
The tour was very expensive just to be driven to Rome. We chose to do the city on our own but the time there was not nearly enough to get parked and walk to the drop off point was far to far to walk and took far to long . What I did find quite bad was that we had an accident when leaving Rome and sitting upstairs right at the front of the coach took the impact of the coach hitting a road sign, mounting the kerb and knocking down a lamppost. At no time did the courier check to see if we were ok and the proceeded to take all the passenger off the coach across 3 lanes of traffic to await pick up coaches. I would not take another RC excursion as no one seemed to bother about it
Read the moosettes's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Aggiemom17
1 review
May 2017
Antonio was our driver and wasnt very chatty. Played tapes of descriptions of what we were seeing. We toured the Vatican museum and sisteen chapel with a guide that was good but it was Wednesday so we did not get to see the Basillica. Collesium, Trevi fountain, pantheon and St Peters Square. Long day and we barely scratched the surface of the sights of Rome.
Read Aggiemom17's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Italy tours

Sponsored links