Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image ftwtong
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We did the "Best of Rome" with Italy Tours which gave us a guided tour of the Vatican, skip the line tickets at the Colosseum, and many other sites around Rome. It was a very hot and full day, but there is no way we would have seen everything on our own. This was money well spent.
Read ftwtong's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image djhe
1 review
Jun 2017
Bus arrived with a broken air conditioner, but after complaining a second bus arrived within 15 minutes and the rest of the trip was great. Saw a lot of Rom, but would have had a better time getting out in the old part of time then in Vatican City. We could only take photos from the outside since the lines were too long to get into it during the 1 hour and 20 minutes stop.
Read djhe's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image deeter256
1 review
Jun 2017
Our tour guide was a former Art History teacher. To say we had the best tour guide of anyone else, let alone on the planet, was an understatement. She was amazing and we enjoyed every moment of our time in Rome. Excellent excursion! However, be ware, it's going to be crowded. Very very crowded. So much so that the crowds almost ruined it for us.
Read deeter256's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EyeDocCT
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Visited Vatican and Sistine Chapel, Trevi Fountain and much, much more
Read EyeDocCT's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: "Rome-in-Limo"
Member Image Tinafrommd
1 review
Jun 2017
Ape Calissino was fun! We got a personalized tour that showed us around a lot in 2.5hrs. We had to go to Spanish Steps and Fountain on our own. This took us about 45min to walk to from where we were dropped off at. We could not have enough time to go inside the Coliseum or the Vatican. That will have to be for another trip. We had to take a taxi to be able to get back in time to our meeting point from the Fountain.
Read Tinafrommd's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DazzaO
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Our tour guide was so informative and had such a great knowledge of the fantastic history of the city, we couldn't fail to be impressed. We done a lot of walking during the day long excursion, in a great deal of heat, but it was truly worth every single moment of it. Rome has been a city I have wanted to visit for many years and I was dissapointed.
Read DazzaO's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image katethecookiemonster
2 reviews
May 2017
Loved Rome, but the tour guide was not great.
Read katethecookiemonster's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image ahaim
1 review
May 2017
Great city tour of Rome and the Vatican with skip-the-line option. Trip included an expert guide at the Vatican - absolutely worth it.The Rome part included the Colosseum and few Piazzas.
Read ahaim's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image whaleboy12
1 review
May 2017
New Air Conditioned bus, way way smart tour guide. She knew everything about all the history in all the buildings. Only problem was time restrictiion. Due to having to get back to port there was no time to get inside the Vatican. Church tours were rushed and lunch was served but had to keep moving to make the schedule work. Colloseum was unbelievable.
Read whaleboy12's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Monty222
1 review
May 2017
Walking the historic streets of Rome is an experience. Not the first time for us, but always a nice experience. We also did the hop on-hop off bus, but the traffic, fumes have or has meant that this tour is longer and more painful than previous trips. Get a city map and just walk.
Read Monty222's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Cynchaslo
1 review
May 2017
Our driver and guide, Remo was terrific. Trump was in town so the traffic was horrendous, but he got us around to hit all the highlights of Rome and the Vatican. We also had a delightful lunch. We were picked up and dropped off dockside right off the ship.
Read Cynchaslo's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Share a Shore Excursion Italy
Member Image davehcruises
2 reviews
May 2017
The tour itself was good but Rome was absolutely packed with people so seeing things was actually difficult. Throwing a coin into the Trevi Fountain would have needed a catapult! There was a lot a walking involved during the day and keeping an eye on the guide at all times was tiring. The downside to the trip was the poor arrangements to join it. We left the ship in good time to make sure that we were not late for the coach but then had to stand in a car park for over an hour. The coach would only be called once everyone was there which was poor.
Read davehcruises's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Crusing Excursions
Member Image the moosettes
1 review
May 2017
The tour was very expensive just to be driven to Rome. We chose to do the city on our own but the time there was not nearly enough to get parked and walk to the drop off point was far to far to walk and took far to long . What I did find quite bad was that we had an accident when leaving Rome and sitting upstairs right at the front of the coach took the impact of the coach hitting a road sign, mounting the kerb and knocking down a lamppost. At no time did the courier check to see if we were ok and the proceeded to take all the passenger off the coach across 3 lanes of traffic to await pick up coaches. I would not take another RC excursion as no one seemed to bother about it
Read the moosettes's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Aggiemom17
1 review
May 2017
Antonio was our driver and wasnt very chatty. Played tapes of descriptions of what we were seeing. We toured the Vatican museum and sisteen chapel with a guide that was good but it was Wednesday so we did not get to see the Basillica. Collesium, Trevi fountain, pantheon and St Peters Square. Long day and we barely scratched the surface of the sights of Rome.
Read Aggiemom17's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Italy tours
Member Image DisneyPrincess74
1 review
May 2017
10 hour plus tour. WORTH IT. You get to experience EVERYTHING!!! Great way to take in all the highlights of Rome. Susana & Gabby- FANTASTIC GUIDES. Lots of walking, steps, cobblestones.
Read DisneyPrincess74's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MonasteryGirl
1 review
May 2017
We did the Vatican and Rome tour with ItalyTours EU (our third tour with them). They are an excellent company. Vans of only 8 people, got us very close to sites. Always prompt and returned to the boat ahead of schedule. Would definitely recommend and use again
Read MonasteryGirl's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours EU
Member Image Cindy
15 reviews
Apr 2017
This was a very good "Welcome to Rome" walking tour that included highlights such as the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, and the Spanish Steps. Our guide was very personable and we enjoyed the tour, although we were exhausted by the time we were done since we had arrived that afternoon.
Read Cindy's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Walks of Italy
Member Image HOTCATPM
1 review
Apr 2017
Ultimate Rome included everything we wanted to see and lots of walking. Excellent guides on bus and City portion, Busy city with more than can be seen in a day. But they sure tried. Will need to go back someday and see the rest.
Read HOTCATPM's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gmcduck
1 review
Apr 2017
Again large crowds due to Easter week, Vatican area was interesting despite crowds. Disappointed at number of beggers and pushy junk sellers.
Read gmcduck's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image terry.hickle
1 review
Apr 2017
We were recently on a Viking Ocean Cruise, but could not get a Viking excursion that we wanted. So one of the people in our party found a private tour with DGS Tours, There were ten people in our group. We were divided between two Mercedes Benz vans. Our drivers were Georgio and Pedro. We chose our agenda and were reminded that we could be as flexible as we wished. Basically, they would drop us off near the entrance to a site and pick us up as we exited. There was very little walking. At the Colosseum, one of them walked us to the entrance to make certain that we were in the correct line to avoid the crowds. We visited the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, The Forum, Colosseum, and more. Our driver also gave us history lessons as we drove through the streets. We asked to eat at a local establishment rather that a tourist stop. They took us to Trattoria Pizzeri with owners Dino and Toni. This alone would have made the trip worthwhile. Our waiter, Amadeus, kept bringing course after course, kept the wine flowing. Finally, several desserts appeared along with baglio Baiata Alagna Zibibbo, a dessert wine that I never got to try. Because they also brought out a bottle of limoncello that I couldn't get enough of. We continued our tour with the sites of the Vatican. I would highly recommend DGS Tours.
Read terry.hickle's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: DGS Tours
Member Image ray13255
1 review
Apr 2017
VERY expensive for a walk around the city
Read ray13255's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image gmomholland
1 review
Mar 2017
Will take the walking tour next time...not enough time....So much to see here....loved what we did see, and we walked everywhere...astonishing to believe we were really in Rome
Read gmomholland's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image JaniceTillmans
1 review
Mar 2017
The general tour was okay. Tour guid was great. Expected to see more sights. Believe Viking should include much much more in their inclusive tours. And include going through the sites, not just a drive-by.
Read JaniceTillmans's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image CarolMcE
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Coliseum and Circus Maximus were pretty cool; especially the coliseum. Fountain was way too crowded to throw a coin in. Vatican lines to see museum and chapel were longer than the time allowed.
Read CarolMcE's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image zuume19
1 review
Feb 2017
More than 2500 years of history live in the streets of Rome. Most of our first excursion was strictly sightseeing on a bus with limited amount of time where we actually got off the bus. Many of my pictures were reflected on the glass window or involved people's heads and therefore, are not snapshots of Rome. There will be better pictures in the next album of Rome. 2nd day -- Ancient Rome: Colosseum, Forum, National Roman Museum, and Baths
Read zuume19's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises

Sponsored links