Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image R McLeod
1 review
Jun 2018
Disappointed that a city of this stature has allowed itself to become such a mess. Time for a dramatic clean-up. Graffiti everywhere, the smell of urine, homelessness, beggars, pick-pockets - a shithole of a city!
Read R McLeod's full Viking Orion cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image biglux
2 reviews
Jun 2018
Awesome tour just 2 persons in total through SmartCruiseTours.com Saw so much driven in Mercedes van right up to most attractions.
Read biglux's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: SmartCruiseTours.com
Member Image Michael JPB
1 review
Jun 2018
Realy Realy enjoyed this trip, guid was very good knew his stuff and made the walking part of the trip very enjoyable, will return to spend more time in this city
Read Michael JPB's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image bfamily9
4 reviews
May 2018
Lot's to see with little time to see it. The excursion offered a brief overview of Rome. The city is more than one hour away from port. Taking a shore excursion offers a bus ride to Rome with a tour also included.
Read bfamily9's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Illerrep
2 reviews
May 2018
So much to see. You really need more days to see everything. We did get in the highlights. The colosseum, the Roman forum, the Trevi fountain and St. Peter’s basilica.
Read Illerrep's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image howag93
2 reviews
May 2018
We stopped off in Civitaveccia port which is just under an hour's drive from Rome. Opting for the Rome in a day excursion, we packed quite a bit into the day so it did feel quite rushed. First stop, the Coliseum, however, we were told not to go in as we wouldn't have time to queue up, so we just walked around. We hit the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain next, followed by Vatican city. One thing is that whilst Rome itself may not be too busy, as soon as you get anywhere near these landmarks, it's full of tourists, keep that in mind if you plan on visiting near Summer as it was already pretty crowded in May. We did feel that we were quite rushed as we were some of the last people to get back on the coach and some people even had to meet us at the next destination.
Read howag93's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sfrancis4949
1 review
May 2018
Ape Calessino-Poor audio quality of guide’s talking, strong diesel fumes, very bumpy
Read Sfrancis4949's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GroveBen
2 reviews
May 2018
Tour was all day 7am - 5pm so you have to have stamina, but it was excellent and fast paced. Vatican city was stunning, Trevi Fountain beautiful, Collesseum was hetic, busy and did not allow for us to go in. Beware of the gypsy's and beggars - constantly demanding attention and one gypsy tried to get my handbag but my husband spotted her eyeing up my bag, so beware! We stopped for food at Casanova's restaurant - I have an onion allergy and gluten free diet is required - the guide rang ahead to organise this for me, I was presented with a plate of gluten free pasta with nothing on it, it was foul and the other passengers shocked, only when we had finished and my food was left and cold did they offer some vegetables with it. Stay clear of this restaurant if you have any dietary needs.
Read GroveBen's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Happy Northern Cruiser!
1 review
May 2018
Guide on the coach was entertaining and knowledgeable. One of the best guides on our holiday. Driver was great, took us to all the highlights and slowed the coach so we could all get good photos. Great excursion.
Read Happy Northern Cruiser!'s full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image davidjnowak
1 review
Apr 2018
The tour started great, but was derailed when we arrived at the Vatican. The tour guide was denied entrance while other tours without an appointment were allowed to go ahead of us. We arrived at the boat over an hour after "anchors away".
Read davidjnowak's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jbkellen
1 review
Apr 2018
Full day tour, a lot of walking but well worth it!
Read jbkellen's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wallacejain
1 review
Apr 2018
Just a city tour from the Bus, except for St. Peter's Basilica, nothing much could be seen
Read wallacejain's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image feljen
3 reviews
Apr 2018
Very good tour with plenty of free time to explore the back streets and get away from the huge crowds around the vatican
Read feljen's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Grandma Google
1 review
Apr 2018
Great guide. We saw St Peter's Square and the outside of the basilica, but couldn't go in because it was Sunday. On the other hand, since it was Sunday, we "saw" and heard the Pope when he addressed the public from a window and received his blessing. It was a magical location, even though the single entrance and body-to-body crowd-pushing security checkpoint were challenging. Wonderful excursion!
Read Grandma Google's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image Cdurkee
1 review
Mar 2018
Enjoyed seeing the colosseum and St Peter's Basilica it was just busy. I really didn't have a chance to really enjoy and appreciate the Vatican museum or the Sistine Chapel due to the insane amount of people in there. We were walking though as one big crowd, shoulder to shoulder, with no circulating air any any time you would want to pause to just look or take a picture, there was always security there to yell "Avanti, Keep Moving"
Read Cdurkee's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jfoote
2 reviews
Mar 2018
The bus tour of Rome was very comprehensive and the transfer to the airport was included. Highly recommended!
Read jfoote's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Denval23
1 review
Mar 2018
From the moment we were on the coach the guide was very informative! She showed us the main sights and was very pleasant! The weather was a bit of a let down but overall it was very good!
Read Denval23's full Azura cruise review
Provider: Cruising experts
Member Image zephyr77
3 reviews
Mar 2018
There's too much to see in just one day, so we took a "slice off the top" tour to see as many historical sites as possible.
Read zephyr77's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image MaryAnn Pollock
1 review
Jan 2018
Good overview, but not for someone who has never been to Rome before. A lot of history included.
Read MaryAnn Pollock's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image joepeggy
2 reviews
Dec 2017
Overall tour by bus of the city. Stopped at Vatican City for a visit. Security checks slowed things down. We left at noon and the Pope was going to come out to the balcony at 1230 that day. Disappointed the tour operators didn't seem to know this so we could have stayed another hour.
Read joepeggy's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image NPare
1 review
Dec 2017
Included city tour was well organized with knowledgeable guide.
Read NPare's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Photogal2
1 review
Dec 2017
The tour was called Snapshots of Rome and it was included. Average and ok except that just by chance we did get to see the Pope which of course was exciting.
Read Photogal2's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Captain Camera
4 reviews
Nov 2017
Bought the MSC grand tour which includes lunch, highly recommended this tour
Read Captain Camera's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image jmarsh184
2 reviews
Nov 2017
We had been to Rome before but this tour added a lot we had not seen. Hard to take pictures unless they stopped.
Read jmarsh184's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image robinhood1
3 reviews
Nov 2017
Included - long drive , congested streets, short walk - would have preferred just to be dropped off in St Peter’s for the afternoon!
Read robinhood1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises

Sponsored links