Puntarenas (Puerto Caldera) Zip-Lining Excursion Reviews

Zip-lining is a safe and exhilarating way the experience the beautiful jungles of Costa Rica.
Great zipline experience.
Sail Date: March 2019
Great zipline experience. We got there ahead of most of the crowd, so no lines.
Great zipline experience. We got there ahead of most of the crowd, so no lines. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Great day!
Sail Date: March 2019
Great day! Staff was amazing and the zip line was great. We even got to see crocodiles
Great day! Staff was amazing and the zip line was great. We even got to see crocodiles Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
It was great!!
Sail Date: January 2019
It was great!! No better place to Zip-Line than through a Rain Forest in the middle of a Rain Forrest downpour! FYI, the tour description described this activity as a level 2, but in reality it was more like a Level 3 -4. Some rough ... Read More
It was great!! No better place to Zip-Line than through a Rain Forest in the middle of a Rain Forrest downpour! FYI, the tour description described this activity as a level 2, but in reality it was more like a Level 3 -4. Some rough terrain had to be negotiated on foot to get between Zip Line stations. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
I would highly recommend this excursion.
Sail Date: December 2018
I would highly recommend this excursion. There were people ranging from 14-68. So age is not a factor.
I would highly recommend this excursion. There were people ranging from 14-68. So age is not a factor. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Awesome experience for 2 hrs.
Sail Date: November 2018
Awesome experience for 2 hrs. Would definitely recommend.
Awesome experience for 2 hrs. Would definitely recommend. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Good zip line experience.
Sail Date: November 2018
Good zip line experience. 12 zips lines, and a decent view of the crocodiles in the adjoining river.
Good zip line experience. 12 zips lines, and a decent view of the crocodiles in the adjoining river. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
The Original Zip Line Adventure was fantastic.
Sail Date: November 2018
The Original Zip Line Adventure was fantastic. I would highly recommend this. The drive from the pier was short. That was also a big plus.
The Original Zip Line Adventure was fantastic. I would highly recommend this. The drive from the pier was short. That was also a big plus. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Awesome experience.
Sail Date: April 2018
Awesome experience. Always felt very safe with all the safety equipment provided.
Awesome experience. Always felt very safe with all the safety equipment provided. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Joined a private tour to zip line park, 25 lines over 11 waterfalls.
Sail Date: April 2018
Joined a private tour to zip line park, 25 lines over 11 waterfalls. A lot of fun, have done better at Monteverde though. Plenty of activities to do at this port.
Joined a private tour to zip line park, 25 lines over 11 waterfalls. A lot of fun, have done better at Monteverde though. Plenty of activities to do at this port. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Great first time zip line experience for this 72 year old.
Sail Date: April 2018
Great first time zip line experience for this 72 year old. Exciting but also felt very safe. Saved some money booking independent of Norwegian.
Great first time zip line experience for this 72 year old. Exciting but also felt very safe. Saved some money booking independent of Norwegian. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Due to the dry season, the foliage was no where near what we expected to see.
Sail Date: March 2018
Due to the dry season, the foliage was no where near what we expected to see. Good Zip line but we've seen better in other parts of the world. Out expectations may have been too high.
Due to the dry season, the foliage was no where near what we expected to see. Good Zip line but we've seen better in other parts of the world. Out expectations may have been too high. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
We took a private tour from “Thumbs up tours” After looking over what the ship offered we ...
Sail Date: March 2018
We took a private tour from “Thumbs up tours” After looking over what the ship offered we really wanted to do a tour that combined things the ship just did not combine. We chose to go for a zipline tour plus a crocodile boat ride. The ... Read More
We took a private tour from “Thumbs up tours” After looking over what the ship offered we really wanted to do a tour that combined things the ship just did not combine. We chose to go for a zipline tour plus a crocodile boat ride. The tour started with a stop to see the monkeys, where I was ashamed to see people from the ship who had taken fruit off the ship and were giving it to the monkeys this is not only illegal you are not supposed to take food from the ship, but also harmful to the long term health of the monkeys. We then stopped at a little fruit stand and tried the local mango ceviche. A quick stop at the crocodile bridge came next. Then our zipline tour. It was supposed to have been 10 zips, but there were bees at the end of the ninth so our tour ended after eight zips for safety reasons. We then had a delicious lunch at a restaurant high on the hill with a magnificent view. This is where you can usually spot Toucans but they were stubbornly out of sight the day we were there. We then went down to the river for our Crocodile boat tour. We had a bit of a wait before it started but some of the other folks had been waiting for nearly an hour and a half by the time we got on board so our wait was not so bad. We saw a few Crocs and lizards and many interesting birds. We finished up our day with a quick tour around Puntarenas and were back to the ship about an hour before sail time. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Good experience of 25 zip lines
Sail Date: January 2018
Good experience of 25 zip lines
Good experience of 25 zip lines Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
We zip lined down 10 different lines.
Sail Date: January 2018
We zip lined down 10 different lines. Some were fast, some were very long. The views were breathtaking. It was exhilirating and I would do this again in a minute. There were people in their 70's doing this and they were having a good ... Read More
We zip lined down 10 different lines. Some were fast, some were very long. The views were breathtaking. It was exhilirating and I would do this again in a minute. There were people in their 70's doing this and they were having a good time too! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
First up - the tour bus was only for our small group and brand new!
Sail Date: December 2017
First up - the tour bus was only for our small group and brand new! The tour guide filled in the time traveling out to the zipline with local information. The trip back was less enjoyable but then, I was hot and tired, too. The zipline ... Read More
First up - the tour bus was only for our small group and brand new! The tour guide filled in the time traveling out to the zipline with local information. The trip back was less enjoyable but then, I was hot and tired, too. The zipline experience was excellent! The guides were thorough in their instructions, watchful and attentive in their care, and the 10 lines we rode well maintained and a joy to ride. I even bought the photo package because I felt they deserved the added plus. The digital photos were in my email inbox just 2 days later when I checked. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
We decided to take the ship excursion here and we had a great time on the zip line.
Sail Date: April 2017
We decided to take the ship excursion here and we had a great time on the zip line. There was hiking involved so you need to be able to get around on this one.
We decided to take the ship excursion here and we had a great time on the zip line. There was hiking involved so you need to be able to get around on this one. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Very safe and a thrilling experience.
Sail Date: April 2017
Very safe and a thrilling experience. They had water at some of the jump off points, plenty of staff for safety. Just wish they had helmet liners.
Very safe and a thrilling experience. They had water at some of the jump off points, plenty of staff for safety. Just wish they had helmet liners. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Super Fun, the 1230p tour missed all the Disembarkation Photos but we had a blast.
Sail Date: December 2016
Super Fun, the 1230p tour missed all the Disembarkation Photos but we had a blast. The Zip Lines were fun, great views and lots of laughter. Walk through the little market at the Dock before getting back on the ship, very quaint.
Super Fun, the 1230p tour missed all the Disembarkation Photos but we had a blast. The Zip Lines were fun, great views and lots of laughter. Walk through the little market at the Dock before getting back on the ship, very quaint. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Pack quick dry clothing since most of this trip was in the pouring rain, but loved every minute
Sail Date: November 2016
Pack quick dry clothing since most of this trip was in the pouring rain, but loved every minute
Pack quick dry clothing since most of this trip was in the pouring rain, but loved every minute Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Adventure Tours was fantastic - we went zip lining on 25 lines, went swimming at the base of a ...
Sail Date: April 2016
Adventure Tours was fantastic - we went zip lining on 25 lines, went swimming at the base of a waterfall, had a nice lunch and visited a money "house". Jorge was a terrific guide - Highly recommended.
Adventure Tours was fantastic - we went zip lining on 25 lines, went swimming at the base of a waterfall, had a nice lunch and visited a money "house". Jorge was a terrific guide - Highly recommended. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Zip lining was super fun!
Sail Date: April 2016
Zip lining was super fun! It wasn't too hot the day we did it. Only about 95. Did not notice any mosquitoes, and there wasn't much need for sunscreen, as there was mostly shade.There were plenty of long zip lines and lots of ... Read More
Zip lining was super fun! It wasn't too hot the day we did it. Only about 95. Did not notice any mosquitoes, and there wasn't much need for sunscreen, as there was mostly shade.There were plenty of long zip lines and lots of people there to help. I recommend this for anyone wanting to try it. I will say that I barely fit into the harness, but we somehow squeezed me in. I weigh 250. Then there was lunch. Meh. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
We had a great time, there were 17 different runs.
Sail Date: April 2016
We had a great time, there were 17 different runs. It does take some upper body strength and the ability to jump if you are short in order to get hooked onto the line. The staff were safety conscious however, since we are in a foreign ... Read More
We had a great time, there were 17 different runs. It does take some upper body strength and the ability to jump if you are short in order to get hooked onto the line. The staff were safety conscious however, since we are in a foreign country, I am not confident should something go wrong so I cannot comment on that piece of it. There were six of us from the ship who went and we all had a great time. The price is extremely reasonable and they also offered different activities however, we were all exhausted after the zip lining. They pick you up at the ship and take you back. We ended up going because we met some friends on the ship who had signed up. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
The tour did not take place.
Sail Date: February 2016
The tour did not take place. The ship did not make Puntarenas due to bad weather and the port was closed. Shore Excursions were quick to reimburse the cost.
The tour did not take place. The ship did not make Puntarenas due to bad weather and the port was closed. Shore Excursions were quick to reimburse the cost. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
fun times but rushed with too many booked at same time.
Sail Date: April 2015
fun times but rushed with too many booked at same time. great ziplines, enjoyed the guides and the scenery was awesome. Like ziplining through an old western movie. Great times
fun times but rushed with too many booked at same time. great ziplines, enjoyed the guides and the scenery was awesome. Like ziplining through an old western movie. Great times Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Aerial Tram & Zip line Adventure (PASS3411).
Sail Date: February 2015
Aerial Tram & Zip line Adventure (PASS3411). Once we departed the trams high in the canopy of the forest, we were ready to begin the 10 platform zip lining experience. IT SHOULD BE NOTED HERE that from the moment we arrived at the ... Read More
Aerial Tram & Zip line Adventure (PASS3411). Once we departed the trams high in the canopy of the forest, we were ready to begin the 10 platform zip lining experience. IT SHOULD BE NOTED HERE that from the moment we arrived at the part, THE EMPLOYEES TOOK OUR SAFETY AND ENJOYMENT VERY SERIOUSLY. In time we could see in their faces the enjoyment they were receiving from our safe experience and adventure of a lifetime. After the first 7 runs there was a pause for a complementary bottle of water to hydrate as we walked quite a downhill distance before we did the final three runs. (We had worn clothing and sneakers we could discard, having read that everything would be muddy beyond reuse. This being February, and their dry season, we just came back wearing our pride and a lot of sweat.) After completing the 10 run, we were again met by our guide who led us on a 45 minute narrated nature walk. Then it was time for a very tasty Costa Rican buffet lunch and relaxation for close to an hour before our 1 1/2 hour narrated return to Puntarenas. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line