Puerto Limon Sloth Sanctuary Excursion Reviews

Puerto Limon Sloth Sanctuary cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a tour through Puerto Limon's Sloth Sanctuary, which encompasses more than 200 acres of rainforest and is home to Costa Rican wildlife, most notably the star of the reserve: the sloth.
Member Image ctbednar
4 reviews
Feb 2017
We liked the Sloth Sanctuary a lot but... was hoping to get a little more up close with a Sloth. Only seen a handful behind cages, except for one. The canoe ride is a huge waste of time, thinking they should remove that part.
Read ctbednar's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lwall8
1 review
Dec 2016
In Costa Rica, we took the Animal Planet recommended tour of the sloth sanctuary. It did not disappoint. The bus ride was not long and we got to see the animals right away. The tour was given in rooms where the sloths were. The guides were informative and passionate about their work. The boat ride in the canal behind the sanctuary was not explained so we just got in the small aluminum boat and paddled away. Our boatman did not speak English so we just drifted along in silence until we encountered wildlife. Fortunately I speak enough Spanish to translate for the others. He pointed out iguanas and then we arrived where the howler monkeys lived. He positioned our boat where we could watch them for a substantial time. We also saw sloths in the wild. It was a great look at the rainforest. Our regular tour guide taught us a great deal about his country and also showed us how banana plantations worked which was a bonus. I found the craft market at the dock the best opportunity for shopping on the trip with genuine crafts, nice vendors and reasonable prices.
Read lwall8's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tricia1234
2 reviews
Mar 2016
We visited the sloth sanctuary where we took a boat ride on a river looking for wildlife. We then got to see the sloths up close and personal, including the babies that were rescued from the jungle when their mothers could not take care of them.
Read tricia1234's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Road Scholar
Member Image Andy200
5 reviews
Jan 2016
Very nice.
Read Andy200's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Podie
10 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

The sloth sanctuary was the highlight of the tour. The first stops, at the fruit stand and banana plantation, were boring. The ride on the canals was only a little better. But the sloths and the volunteers at the sanctuary were just amazing!

Read Podie's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Your Lucky Tour
Member Image shamrockace
5 reviews
Oct 2012
Very hot day so be sure to bring water. We visited the nursery, the adults, did a canoe ride and a jungle walk and then enjoyed fresh fruit and the gift shop. Very strange animals, but completely docile and adorable. We got to see exotic birds as well as frogs.
Read shamrockace's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hypercafe
8 reviews
Apr 2012
There is nothing where the ship stops expect a straw market so if you want to get off take a tour. I seemed very unsafe to walk around on your own. Tour was OK, went to a zoo like place and saw a few animals native to there. This port should be skipped and instead go to Key West.
Read hypercafe's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tiller02
2 reviews
Mar 2012

Went to Animal Recovery Center and saw Sloths, monkeys, and many different animals from jungle. Very impressive.

Read tiller02's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: OkeyDokey Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?