Reykjavik Golden Circle Excursion Reviews

Reykjavik Golden Circle cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This popular route into the heart of Iceland includes among its circuit the beautiful Thingvellir national park, Gullfoss waterfall, and the geysers of Haukadalur, all essential trips for any visitor to Reykjavik.
Member Image Livelaughlove1
1 review
Sep 2017
Again very expensive but totally expected. In hindsight would have gone independently as many trips available at the port. Meal that was part of the trip not really needed as lots of opportunities to get food and when on a cruise you only need to "top up" between meals on the ship. Knowledgeable local guide who kept us fully informed of all the key points about Iceland on route to the places of interest. Geysir part of the trip very spectacular and highly recommended as a must see when in Iceland.
Read Livelaughlove1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Intlxpatr
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Totally loved Thingviller. This tour included a lunch, which turned out to be amazing. The restaurant served 250 cruise travelers, and did it noticeably well. There was a tomato soup which was superior in every way, and a salmon steak which was generous, moist and so delicious that even people who thought they didn't like salmon were gobbling it up. I do like salmon, and it was particularly well prepared. The geysers and the hot springs were awe inspiring.
Read Intlxpatr's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Jay Brown
1 review
Sep 2017
Excellent, but cramped for time and the group had to RUSH through the last stop. Enjoyed the park, geyser, chasm, and power plant.
Read Jay Brown's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image lindasilver
1 review
Sep 2017
Far too much time in the bus going from one place to another
Read lindasilver's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lovetravelgal
1 review
Sep 2017
Sights very pretty. Our specific tour guide was the worst we've ever had. Amount of walking was not adequately explained (with no option but TO walk) for people with canes, walkers, and even wheelchairs.
Read lovetravelgal's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ETSanJose
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Amazing day. So much to see in the all-day tour, especially the National Park and the North American and Asian plates
Read ETSanJose's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Stampingina
1 review
Sep 2017
Tour met all expectations of seeing the falls, geysers and Park Thingvelluir without the stress of touring with the ships many busses.
Read Stampingina's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Midnight Sun Travel
Member Image Arizona Budgies
8 reviews
Aug 2017
20 passenger bus and driver, very thorough, easily understood. Pick up and drop off at the dock - was about $100 USD each and were on tour approx. 8 hrs, driving 125 miles - highly recommend this firm, guide was Andre, a wealth of knowledge and proud of his country of 300,000.
Read Arizona Budgies's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Iceland Guided Tours
Member Image watchmywake
1 review
Aug 2017
Small bus with 20 tourists on board; some had mobility problems and should probably not have booked the tour, but didn't impact the tour. The Golden Circle is a must!
Read watchmywake's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: booked through shoretrips.com
Member Image maryshonkwiler
1 review
Aug 2017
Liked the guiser the best, lunch was ok as well.
Read maryshonkwiler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jfmsr
1 review
Aug 2017
Guide was interesting and offered many stories about Iceland. The two dollars for the restroom use at a restaurant stop was unseemly and improper.
Read jfmsr's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image 2LVCruisers
1 review
Aug 2017
The tour from Reykjavik was GREAT! The tour guide did a great job of making everything we were seeing exciting and interesting.
Read 2LVCruisers's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image taxlady7
1 review
Aug 2017
Golden circle is a long day at over 8 hours but great views of 3 magnificent sites. Lunch was provided but if you are not a fish eater you will have to beg for an alternative meal. One of us asked and got pork which she doesn't eat either. Excursion should have warning about limited menu for lunch.
Read taxlady7's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image craftygran
3 reviews
Aug 2017
It seemed to me that the description on the Shore Excursions papers by Norwegian was not what we received - I think there were 3 places we did not see that were listed on the excursion itinerary provided bt NCL. The soup took approx 30 minutes to arrive at our table and then the main course took another 20 minutes so we were left with a much shorter time to view the rest of the attractions. A packed lunchbox to eat on the way would have been a much better idea!
Read craftygran's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Captain Ricky
3 reviews
Aug 2017
We booked a mini-bus tour so we wouldn't be on a big bus. It was a good move because the mini-bus could go to parking lots that bigger buses cant use. The driver would let us off at the top of a falls, for instance, and pick us up at the bottom The driver/guide Sis was engaging, humorous and well informed. We took the tour on an absolutely terrible day, rain, wind, and far too many people at some of the places, crowded beyond a comfortable carrying capacity. But being on a small bus made it easier to cope. For me the highlight was Thingvellir, the tectonic valley and site of the world's first parliament. We got a chance to take a nice walk during the one break in the rain we got all day. The one problem with the tour itself was the minibus, Which for most people would be fine, but I am big and tall. The seat back headrest fell on m shoulders, which meant no back support, so I needed to hit the spa when I got to the ship to put my back in place. For a normal sized person this would not have been an issue. The advantages of the mini bus outweighed he backache. The company was easy to deal with and the way the booking and tour went was professional.
Read Captain Ricky's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Geoiceland.
Member Image SashaVind
1 review
Jul 2017
The company is good.And the can sell you two tours in Iceland as an offer, it worth it! We have a bad luck with a guide! We were waiting more than an hour for two participants that have not arrived finally. He spoke a lot, but a half of information he gace, was not relevant! He took us to the "excibition" devoted to the last earthquake... All this staff one can find in Google and Youtube. We wasted more than 40 minutes for this place - some lind of shopping centre... Hw didn=t accompany us at the places we went out. (I can compare this with our second excursion of FAB - it was exactly the opposite!) So only the unique beauty of Geysir, the Waterfall and the National Park calmed us. ))
Read SashaVind's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: FAB
Member Image Molliemp
1 review
Jul 2017
Iceland is amazing! Our Golden Circle Tour was on a private van with wifi and included Thingvellir National Park, the Gullfoss waterfall,the volcanic crater Kerið, the Geysir geothermal area with the geyser Strokkur, Icelandic horses and the Bishop's seat at Skalholt. We also stopped at the Fridheimar Greenhouse. I loved this tour and we covered so much ground with a private tour. We also saw two shows at the Harpa as our cruise was in port overnight. The next day we went on a Puffin boat tour and visited the Saga Museum, the Einar Jonnson Sculpture Garden and the Hallgrímskirkja. I'd recommend it all but Iceland is very expensive!
Read Molliemp's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jlajr
4 reviews
Jul 2017
For the first time ever on a cruise, I booked an organized shore excursion. I went on The Golden Circle tour, which included what the cruise line describes as the ‘Big Three’ of Reykjavík – Gullfoss (the Golden Waterfall), the Geysir area, and the Thingvellir National Park. The tour was one of three throughout the cruise line designated Must Do, and it was a popular one, with passengers filling up six buses, I think. My bus drove first to Thingvellir National Park. Unfortunately, we were only provided 30 minutes to walk from one parking lot to another. I would have liked (a lot) more time there. We then drove to Gullfoss. We were given about 35-40 minutes to walk to the waterfall before lunch at the visitors center. Again, I felt it was not enough time to walk both available paths. Breathtaking waterfall, though, and the sit-down lunch was very good, too, with soup and fish (salmon?). After lunch, we drove to the Geysir area. Again, we were given about 30 minutes to walk around before we had to be back on the bus. So, the tour was advertised as lasting 8-8 1/2 hours. The tour started at around 10:00, and we had seen the Big Three by 15:00. The only other item on the tour description was a short comfort stop at the village of Hveragerði. As far as I could tell, the ship was no more than an hour's drive away from where we were at 15:00, the Geysir area. So, besides driving, what would we be doing for the next three hours? Well, the bus took what I think is the long way back to Reykjavik. We saw some nice scenery, with commentary from the tour guide. Not bad, but I still would have traded that time for more time at the Big Three. Then, we actually drove past where the ship was docked and went to the Perlan (Pearl) Museum. The museum is made up of former water tanks, sits on a hill, and has a fourth-floor observatory that provides a 360-degree view of Reykjavik and the surrounding area. Nice. However, the guest elevator/lift was out of service, and I decided not to walk up and down via the stairs. We were only given 20 minutes there, anyway. So, instead, I walked around the building, which I enjoyed. Nonetheless, I again would certainly have been happy if we had not gone to a place that did not appear in the tour description. I would have traded the time there and the time it took to get there and back to the ship in favor of more time at natural phenomena.
Read jlajr's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image birthdaycruising
1 review
Jul 2017
Tour was lovely, but your returned the same way you went to the destinations. .
Read birthdaycruising's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Reykjavik Tours
Member Image cumba68
2 reviews
Jun 2017
REYKJAVIK Overnight here. Tourist visitor centre at pier - maps of city available. Good selection of souvenirs available and post box , last opportunity to send postcards. Phone internet and toilet facilities here. We weren't sure until week before that we were able to go on cruise so had not tours booked and by the time we got to book many were gone. Had thought about the Golden Circle and Blue Lagoon combined tour but that was booked out - we did manage to book the Golden Circle tour for the second day - our last day. So our first day we had a late start. It is tiring after all the ports of call. We got the hop on hop off bus from the pier. €35 can use it for 2 days. We gave ours away to tow people that we met on the ship. Takes one hour to do full circle. We got off at Hallgirmskirkja Church. €8 to go in the elevator to top of tower and we thought worth it for the views. timing is everything we had visited the church first but it was then closed for an hour or two as there was a concert. Downhill to centre of town there is a nice cafe - Kaffitar on Bankastraeti which offers coffee refills among other drinks and nice sandwiches and cakes. For those interested there is I know !! a Christmas Shop on Laugavegur street the main shopping street - some beautiful ornaments - again a nice souvenir. Some more expensive than others. In the evening we actually walked into Reykjavik from Skarfabakki cruise quay were we were berthed - a 4.3 mile walk ( 50 minutes with stops along the way. ) along the shoreline path passing through Laugarnes - a quarter that contains a historic site probably where the first settlement was situated. Continue along until you come to Harpa the concert hall - worth a look inside. The local buses no 16 runs to the cruise terminal op to 19.99hrs and the no16 runs some of the way with a short walk - the bus driver would tell you where to get off. I think it worked out about € 3 to 4 for the bus one way. Bus station quite central Last day we took The golden Circle tour with the ship. An early start meeting point outside the visitor centre. Comfortable buses. Excellent tour guide. busy schedule - over 8 hour day. A little walking involved. The main stops - Hervagerdi ( where earthquake hit ) Geyser, Thingvellir and Gulfoss and Perlan on return.. Lunch included at Hotel Geyser which was lovely and catered for those of us that had dietary issues of didn't eat fish!! Amazing scenery - again weather not the best and cold. But that is what you can expect when you travel here so be prepared. A long day. I can see why those who had combined tour with Blue Lagoon were shattered as they had another 2 - 3 hours. Recommend splitting and doing on different days. Speaking with other passengers who had booked tours at each port of call especially the local area tours - they were disappointed and regretted not going independently. We were glad that we had booked the tour on the last day as it was followed by two days at sea so we could recover.
Read cumba68's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image GeeAee
1 review
May 2017
Got off the ship. On the Dockside is a shop with some tourist information. Inside at a desk booked a Golden Circle tour with Bus Travel Iceland 8,890 ISK which is 69.00 GBP at the time of writing this. The ship excursion wanted at least twice that amount. We waited in the shop for 1 hour as the coach was not due to leave until 12:30 lunchtime. The tour was 6.5 hours. It was about 45 mins drive in between each stop. The tour guide was Icelandic and spoke good interest. He filled in the journey with comments. Everything you would want from a good tour.
Read GeeAee's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Bus Travel Iceland
Member Image Chilledwelsh
1 review
May 2017
Another good taster tour to get a feel of what you might like to see more of next time. Great tour guide.
Read Chilledwelsh's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sierra28546
4 reviews
Sep 2016
We used a private tour company and only had 17 per van. Everyone could see and tour made several stops including a stop for lunch. Definitely highlight of our trip!
Read sierra28546's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Iceland Horizon
Member Image Susan1948
1 review
Sep 2016
Saw a show with small horses. Saw lots of greenery on a long day. Was curious to find out why Iceland is a hot destination now. I have no idea .1 day was enough for us.
Read Susan1948's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Woobstr112G
11 reviews
Sep 2016
Outstanding with great sights seen.
Read Woobstr112G's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links