Naples Pompeii Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Naples Pompeii Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the winding roads, ruins and architecture of Pompeii, the ancient town within modern day Naples that was lost in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image Mitzyeah
1 review
Jun 2018
The guide was very good and the experience of walking through the ancient ruins was unforgettable. This is a destination that should be on every travel bucket list. There was an unnecessary detour to a jewellery factory that served no purpose except selling some stuff to a captive tourist audience. Most of us on the coach stayed put, with only a few brave souls stepping out to check out the wares on sale.
Read Mitzyeah's full MSC Seaview cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image lorisnowco
1 review
Jun 2018
Car picked us up at the port and drove us to Pompeii. Guide met us at the entrance and gave a full history and perspective of the ruins. Driver took us to Herculaneum where we walked around on our own. Then to Naples for a traditional pizza lunch in a local establishment. It was truly wonderful.
Read lorisnowco's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruising High
1 review
Jun 2018
We did the Pompeii on your own tour, which at $40.00 I thought included entrance to city. On our arrival, our tour guide got tickets for us and then at the end of tour asked us to sign a Royal Carribbean form charging us 22.00 Euros for tour tickets that would be charged to room. The price printed on ticket was only 15.00 Euros? I did get the extra 7.00 Euros credited to my account when I went to guest services but I thought it was a pain to deal with. I think $40.00 for just a round trip taxi is was too expensive and then if tickets are not inclded then we should have been giving a choice of tour type we wanted. We did not get a headset like other tour groups nor were we offered one. Overall this tour was not clearly explained and it was not worth the money. Book the full tour and hopefully experience will be better.
Read Cruising High's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Theo2013
1 review
Jun 2018
Vince made it come to life. Wanted more time but crowds impossible to move around by end of day.
Read Theo2013's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: CBM
Member Image mvd9001
1 review
Jun 2018
Perfect amount of time spent in Pompeii. Our tour guide was v. knowledgeable and spoke excellent english. This is the only tour we took with the ship and it was a good one. Upon returning to the ship, we went to the Naples waterfront and had a pizza and enjoyed the view of the bay. Highly recommend.
Read mvd9001's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DalTexDancer
1 review
Jun 2018
Just a bus ride to Pompeii then had to purchase entry ticket. Glad this is off my list. Done.
Read DalTexDancer's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kdnurs
1 review
Jun 2018
Again, lots of walking but every historical. The size of the archaeological park is more than can be done in one visit. The cost is 15 euro for admittance, but our tour guide charged us 18 for him to purchase our tickets so we didn't have to stand in long line. One family didn't take him up on his offer and as well all entered the park he truly was still in line. The tour is only 2 hrs and there is a lot to see so standing in line wasn't an option for most of us. Guides inside are helpful to point out "must sees" you may miss as we almost did. It is amazing to see the structures so well preserved over time
Read kdnurs's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mitawa
1 review
May 2018
Taste of Sorrento and Pompeii. This tour was conducted by an archeologist. On the way to Pompeii, we made stops to a limoncello factory, a cameo factory, a furniture factory, and a farm where we learned about growing and harvesting lemons, oranges, and olives. They showed us the olive oil mill. And then took us to the restaurant for the demonstration of mozzarella cheese making before giving us samples of the foods and drinks they make on the farm. Then on to Pompeii to see a city that was entirely destroyed by a volcano.
Read Mitawa's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mysugarpie
1 review
May 2018
Very interesting, the pace he walked did not allow for pictures, we had to constantly catch up with the group--which was hard since the gate people made us take off our purple cruise stickers so you couldn't easily identify which group you were in. We tried to keep up with the guy in the Hawaiian shirt.
Read mysugarpie's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cyclamen
1 review
May 2018
A very, very disappointing half day tour. We were a mixed group of English and Spanish speakers. The guide had to explain first in Spanish and then the same in English, then in English and then in Spanish, then in Spanish and then in English!
Read cyclamen's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image Duracell_01
1 review
May 2018
WOW! This was the highlight of our trip, and the tour guide provided by Italy Tours was absolutely phenomenal. Took a two hour walking tour throughout the grounds, and her knowledge and communication of the history and the culture was phenomenal!
Read Duracell_01's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Italy tours
Member Image swsteve92024
1 review
May 2018
Good guide, bluetooth was ok, nice food and wine tasting.
Read swsteve92024's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image karpookie
1 review
May 2018
Pompeii- very interesting, very large (too much walking- esp. rough walking on uneven stones, etc.- very, very hot)
Read karpookie's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image superdog007
1 review
May 2018
We liked our guide Fabio who explained in detail the life in Pompeii! Fabio was fun and informative!
Read superdog007's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image terrydlm
6 reviews
Apr 2018
Very short tour. Only 1 hour long but informative for the time we had. Need to spend a day here at least.
Read terrydlm's full Carnival Horizon cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image coxsparrow
3 reviews
Apr 2018
The guide for this trip was the best I have ever had. He had a good knowledge and was able to communicate well with the diverse group.
Read coxsparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SFCAtraveler
1 review
Apr 2018
Raffaele Vespoli arranged for a guide to meet us a Pompeii. Alessandra spent two hours showing us the highlights. With a two-year-old, you cannot push it. After, Raffaele drove us to a winery on Vesuvius where we had a wine-tasting lunch. The lunch was better the last time I was there, but still OK.
Read SFCAtraveler's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Sorrento Car Tours/Raffaele Vespoli
Member Image CindyCHCS
1 review
Apr 2018
Awesome, guide painted a beautiful vocal picture for us. Very informative!
Read CindyCHCS's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mck0009
2 reviews
Apr 2018
We did "Pompeii on your own". I would not have wanted to try and follow a tour guide around. We had to pay our own way in. We basically paid for bus fare to Pompeii. Pompeii was very interesting. We only saw a small fraction of it. It got super busy as the day went on. I was glad we were there early. We exited before our meeting time and were hungry so headed to a cafe across the street and had phonemanal pizza. It was a touristy place and they charged us a fee just for sitting at the tables (so we did not tip) but it was such fresh, delicious pizza, we were glad we stopped.
Read mck0009's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davidjnowak
1 review
Apr 2018
I really enjoyed it, but the elderly people that were on the tour were not able to walk the streets and steep inclines, which delayed the tour and we missed seeing parts of the city.
Read davidjnowak's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dtwall
1 review
Mar 2018
Jaw dropping! You could easily spen a whole day here!
Read dtwall's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image yvr101food_travel
1 review
Nov 2017
We did the "Pompeii On Your Own" excursion, which was basically a bus transfer service with a guide escorting you to and from Pompeii. The entrance fee to the site was NOT included. The good thing was we had almost 3 hours to explore Pompeii on our own without following a big group of people. A awesome place.
Read yvr101food_travel's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 5674ccam
1 review
Oct 2017
Pompeii was our favorite excursion. It is well preserved and really feels like a step back in time. We also toured a local farm in Sorrento and had the opportunity to taste fresh food. The farm tour was very interesting, the people were warm and welcoming, and the food was amazing. Our tour guide Enzo was also excellent! Highly recommend.
Read 5674ccam's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rhodytraveler67
1 review
Oct 2017
amazing place lots of walking over uneven terrain.
Read Rhodytraveler67's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NancyDeRiso
1 review
Oct 2017
Pompeii was larger than I had imagined and also much better preserved. Our guide was knowledgable and very helpful in understanding what we were looking at. One of our best trips of the week.
Read NancyDeRiso's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises

Sponsored links