Naples Pompeii Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Naples Pompeii Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the winding roads, ruins and architecture of Pompeii, the ancient town within modern day Naples that was lost in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image 5674ccam
1 review
Oct 2017
Pompeii was our favorite excursion. It is well preserved and really feels like a step back in time. We also toured a local farm in Sorrento and had the opportunity to taste fresh food. The farm tour was very interesting, the people were warm and welcoming, and the food was amazing. Our tour guide Enzo was also excellent! Highly recommend.
Read 5674ccam's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rhodytraveler67
1 review
Oct 2017
amazing place lots of walking over uneven terrain.
Read Rhodytraveler67's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NancyDeRiso
1 review
Oct 2017
Pompeii was larger than I had imagined and also much better preserved. Our guide was knowledgable and very helpful in understanding what we were looking at. One of our best trips of the week.
Read NancyDeRiso's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Lash123
1 review
Oct 2017
Bus tour of the coast with lunch and Pompeii walking tour. Great guide
Read Lash123's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Willibobs1954
1 review
Oct 2017
Loved Pompeii. The tour we took dropped us at the entrance and picked us up after. Everyone headed for the Forum but we went to the amphitheatre. As a result the first half of our tour was really good with few tourists. I wanted to do it on my own as I had studied the site before hand and this really worked for me. No need for guides if you know what to look for
Read Willibobs1954's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cupcake&Rascal
1 review
Oct 2017
Our guide, Paolo, was very informative about what happened where we were, and pointed out little details that would have been ov relooked without his narrative. Very moving venue, which was a surprise to us.
Read Cupcake&Rascal's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Mortarman
1 review
Oct 2017
We have previously been to Herculaneum and it was interesting to see the difference from Pompeii
Read Mortarman's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image thetravelingscientist
1 review
Oct 2017
As part of the Amalfi coast tour, we also did a 1.5 h walking tour with a guide of Pompeii which was well worth it. Overall, a great day and were back to the ship well before departure.
Read thetravelingscientist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davidw42
1 review
Sep 2017
Guide was excellent but too many stops for "cameo shop", "local pizza" and other money making activities.
Read davidw42's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WEGL81
19 reviews
Sep 2017
Given the size of this city, we did not spend enough time here. We saw the basic areas and the guide did an excellent job showing us the "highlights". It was very crowded and we couldn't always see what the guide was trying to show us.
Read WEGL81's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruisecritic-mn
1 review
Sep 2017
Good tour of Pompeii, group was far too large (47 people). Had to slow down and did not get to see everything we wanted. We did like this tour though.
Read cruisecritic-mn's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Madeleine Colyn
1 review
Sep 2017
Very knowledgeable tour guide Rossanna. Trip was a little short of shopping time at Pompeii. It was also very very busy. Next time we will do Blue Grotto which I had forgotten about!
Read Madeleine Colyn's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Guyvil
1 review
Sep 2017
Picked up at ship and driven to Pompeii where an independant guide was introduced to us. Very informative tour of Pompeii.
Read Guyvil's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.eu
Member Image Breeze12
1 review
Sep 2017
Worth seeing - this place was fascinating unlike Naples itself, it looks a bit run down and not sure if I would feel safe there.
Read Breeze12's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vincenzo85
1 review
Sep 2017
First of all the port should be Capri, but I don't know why we were in Naples. Anyway we took the "Pompei and Amafi coast by land and see". I think it was the best day of the trip - both places are a must see. First we went to Pompei (i think it took us about an hour to get there) and we spend nearly 2 hours walking there with the guide. The place is amazing and because of the volcano it is very well preserved for a 2000 years old city. And it is a whole city, not just one building and not just a bunch of rocks on the ground - most of the walls are 2 meters high, so you can really get the idea how people lived back there, how big were the streets, the shops, the houses. I highly recommend going there and a tour guide is mandatory.
Read vincenzo85's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mofb2000
7 reviews
Sep 2017
Excellent guide and a fascinating place.
Read mofb2000's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nfritz
1 review
Sep 2017
Best historic sightseeing of the trip. The guide was so knowledgeable and interesting.
Read nfritz's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mikeybel
3 reviews
Aug 2017
Expensive, tried to booked independently but nothing available for that day. But on the plus side well looked after informative day.
Read Mikeybel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grooster
1 review
Aug 2017
The guide Vincenzo (I think, sorry) was great. He spoke perfect English and had an unbelievable knowledge on all things Pompeii. The organisation from Cruising Excursions was second to none. Very professional.
Read Grooster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image AnnaC32
1 review
Aug 2017
Very interesting. Bring water in with you!
Read AnnaC32's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image u7jf
2 reviews
Aug 2017
HAL - EXC - 'The Ruins of Pompeii.' We had an absolutely marvellous guide called Italia, who greatly enhanced and enriched our experience of visit to Pompeii. Our Pompeii Walking Tour was better than we anticipated. Our guide 'Italia,' paced and managed our group brilliantly. Because Pompeii is such a crowded tourist attraction, one needs a guide to efficiently prioritise the main attractions and negotiate the mulling masses. Wear sensible shoes. Our visit to the Cameo factory and sales centre as part of this tour was an unwelcome and unnecessary add on.. I wished that we could have spent more time with our wonderful and interesting guide, Italio, at Pompeii.
Read u7jf's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kentman62
1 review
Aug 2017
First thing - Pompeii is so extensive I'm not sure a whole day would cover it let alone a 2 hour tour. What we did get was the benefit of a guide to explain selected parts of the ruins and give greater depth to what we were looking at. I should mention the ticket office though which, for a site of such interest, is tiny and poorly arranged so allow time there. The heat can be a factor too but we seemed to be guided towards the shade when she needed to speak. On the way back we had a brief tour of Naples so realised how close the ship was to town. We then wandered back in the afternoon to look around and do a bit of shopping.
Read Kentman62's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image watsonl
1 review
Aug 2017
excellent guide, would have liked more free time to explore after the tour.
Read watsonl's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sophie.xo
1 review
Aug 2017
Absolutely amazing! Enjoyable and interesting also very family friendly!
Read sophie.xo's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Julian715
1 review
Jul 2017
First of all, the English tour is double the price as the Spanish. We divided and took both. The Spanish tour guide was not too informative, organized (not too much information, no headphones) or attentive to her group (get us in a terrible bottleneck in the heat). Southern Europe was having an awful heat wave, so all ports were hot, Pompeii though was a steambath and more could've been done to alleviate the extreme crowding during touring. I realize this is not within RCI control, but feedback is needed to improve the experience as these tours are third party vendors to RCI.
Read Julian715's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links