Naples Pompeii Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Naples Pompeii Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the winding roads, ruins and architecture of Pompeii, the ancient town within modern day Naples that was lost in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image Mikeybel
3 reviews
Aug 2017
Expensive, tried to booked independently but nothing available for that day. But on the plus side well looked after informative day.
Read Mikeybel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grooster
1 review
Aug 2017
The guide Vincenzo (I think, sorry) was great. He spoke perfect English and had an unbelievable knowledge on all things Pompeii. The organisation from Cruising Excursions was second to none. Very professional.
Read Grooster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image AnnaC32
1 review
Aug 2017
Very interesting. Bring water in with you!
Read AnnaC32's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kentman62
1 review
Aug 2017
First thing - Pompeii is so extensive I'm not sure a whole day would cover it let alone a 2 hour tour. What we did get was the benefit of a guide to explain selected parts of the ruins and give greater depth to what we were looking at. I should mention the ticket office though which, for a site of such interest, is tiny and poorly arranged so allow time there. The heat can be a factor too but we seemed to be guided towards the shade when she needed to speak. On the way back we had a brief tour of Naples so realised how close the ship was to town. We then wandered back in the afternoon to look around and do a bit of shopping.
Read Kentman62's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image watsonl
1 review
Aug 2017
excellent guide, would have liked more free time to explore after the tour.
Read watsonl's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Julian715
1 review
Jul 2017
First of all, the English tour is double the price as the Spanish. We divided and took both. The Spanish tour guide was not too informative, organized (not too much information, no headphones) or attentive to her group (get us in a terrible bottleneck in the heat). Southern Europe was having an awful heat wave, so all ports were hot, Pompeii though was a steambath and more could've been done to alleviate the extreme crowding during touring. I realize this is not within RCI control, but feedback is needed to improve the experience as these tours are third party vendors to RCI.
Read Julian715's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wicker Panda
1 review
Jul 2017
Pompeii was absolutely fascinating and the tour, which was about 2 hours, was excellent. The site is so large and sprawling that it really is best to go with a guide who can keep you from getting lost and tell you what you are seeing, as there don't seem to be many maps or placards around the site.
Read Wicker Panda's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dmkeith61
1 review
Jul 2017
Great place to visit. Beware of queues for entry tickets whic took almost an hour.
Read Dmkeith61's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Acw
1 review
Jul 2017
The group had way to many people (50ish) but we loved the location.
Read Acw's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image slkaye2
reviews
Jul 2017
Skip the line and live commentary was well worth it for us for all these excursions
Read slkaye2's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image LOUISM27
1 review
Jul 2017
Amazing and it looks very nice a lot to see.
Read LOUISM27's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image Kari Loving the Sun
1 review
Jul 2017
Excellent trip and great guide who showed us all the highlights. Definitely recommend a visit to this amazing place.
Read Kari Loving the Sun's full MSC Meraviglia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image je_gigote
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Amazing site! I'm so glad I got to visit it after having read about Pompeii so much when I was a kid. Another site that has limited shade on hot days--wear a hat and bring water. It can be extremely busy, so be patient if you go during tourist season.
Read je_gigote's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Rose Noakes
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Walking tour of Pompeii was absolutely amazing. It had been on ,my bucket list and I enjoyed it enormously. Amazing how well preserved building over 2000 years old are.
Read Rose Noakes's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AK Dreaming
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Amazing and moving. A mus see.
Read AK Dreaming's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Nils20
1 review
Jun 2017
Got to see the highlights of Pompeij wich was perfect in the very hot weather. The guide was very good at speaking English.
Read Nils20's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image deeter256
1 review
Jun 2017
This part was made by our tour guide who was a local. She was so happy, friendly and passionate. Love explaining and showing us Pompei, super knowledgeable. Take the warnings that Pompei is hot seriously. It was the only time we all thought it was almost too hot the entire trip.
Read deeter256's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kababbles
1 review
Jun 2017
Bad headsets and poor English of guide. Learned very little as a result.
Read Kababbles's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Huesca
1 review
Jun 2017
description indicates you will have 4 hours in Pompeii but in reality they don't mention that includes travel and the huge long line to pay for entry. In reality you have very little time to see Pompeii and we ended up doing the Pompeii mile to get back to the bus on time. Didn't book anymore shore excursions with NCL!
Read Huesca's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image edtennis
4 reviews
Jun 2017
Short bus ride, could do without the Cameo factory. Again, an excellent guide and Pompeii is a really great place to get an idea of a Roman city as the eruption allowed many parts of the city to be in better condition than any most other Roman ruins.
Read edtennis's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TorontoEh
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Third time at Pompeii. Booked Gaetano Manfredi, recommended by Rick Steves, whom we have used before and cannot recommend highly enough. Saw only new things, and still spent three hours. Unbelievably well preserved sites where you can see the frescoes, the mosaics, and other decorations, and get a real sense of how people's lives in Roman times are not so diffferent from our own, and how advanced they were compared to the next 2000 years.
Read TorontoEh's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Gaetano Manfredi
Member Image DazzaO
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We enjoyed an afternoon in Pompeii, with our tour guide taking us to see some of the most significant sights in the time we had available. It was very informative and we were able to get a feel for how life would have been in Pompeii all those years ago.
Read DazzaO's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image misslou_97
1 review
May 2017
The specialized guide Valeria was very good. She was interesting and passionnate about Pompeï. She knew her subject very well and answered all questions. She also took on her to ask the driver to stay half an hour more and everyone appreciated this extra time. The tour would have been excellent have we had more time to visit the whole site.
Read misslou_97's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Italytours.eu
Member Image WallabyGal
2 reviews
May 2017
Pompeii is amazing, it goes without saying. We also had a Neopolitan pizza (guide pointed out a great small old restaurant at the entrance to Pompeii), fabulous! Nothing like it. Excellent tour.
Read WallabyGal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bj_blue
1 review
May 2017
This was excellent. Hakim, our guide, was fun to be with and so knowledgeable. We were given virtual reality viewers and that made the experience come alive!
Read Bj_blue's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links