Naples Mt. Vesuvius Excursion Reviews

Naples Mt. Vesuvius cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore Naples' legendary Mt. Vesuvius, the only active volcano left in Europe. A bus ride up the side offers a chance to hike a slippery cinder track.
Member Image deeter256
1 review
Jun 2017
No one told us how much we'd like this excursion. We were completely unprepared for the amazing views of Naples. Mt. Vesuvius is very impressive. But be ware, most people were not ready for the hike, it was more intense than most people were ready for. Even athletic folks had a hard time with it.
Read deeter256's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Strawberrymajic
1 review
Jun 2017
We booked a private car because we wanted to go to Herulaneum and Vesuvius and there wasn't an excursion for both options. APTours was very helpful and our driver was excellent
Read Strawberrymajic's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WallabyGal
2 reviews
May 2017
Walking up Vesuvius was a highlight of the cruise! It's a very steep climb, so be prepared. In addition, it's a bit like walking on sand, as the path is gravel from lava. But seeing the inside of the volcano, with some steam seeping out is extraordinary, as are the views!
Read WallabyGal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LindaKlomps
1 review
May 2017
It was a great trip, unfortunately when we got back in the bus and were supposed to go back to port, he dropped us off at Pompeii and we were stuck there! Other than that, the mount was definitely worth it. Also wandering in Naples was just awesome!
Read LindaKlomps's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marthanb
1 review
Mar 2017
Very expensive but we had an excellent guide. The stop at the jewelry store was interesting but the slopes of Mt Vesuvius are really really steep. The teens made it all the way up. I enjoyed the scenery. Pompeii guide was great.
Read marthanb's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vanilla1207
3 reviews
Oct 2016
What an adventure! Riding up the mountain on bumpy roads that made my teeth rattle, hiking to the top with views of the valley below, staring into the caldera . . . what an wonderful way to spend a day!
Read vanilla1207's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image gwmort@comcast.net
1 review
Aug 2016
Strenuous hike to the crater of Mt. Vesuvius. Glad we did it, views were amazing, wouldn't do it again.
Read gwmort@comcast.net's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Took the Vesuvius followed by Pompeii tour. Brilliant. Up the volcano in the morning - great views, not too hot - quiet strenuous though... take water. Pompeii was really hot but we had a brilliant guide who took us to some great spots we wouldn't have found on our own.
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image scowat
1 review
Jul 2016
Expensive for what it was. Misinformation on ship about distance to climb. 1,000ft and 1,000m are two very different distances. Felt all we payed for was the coach up to the top of Vesuvius
Read scowat's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Traveling redhead
1 review
Jul 2016
Worth the Climb
Read Traveling redhead's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Bienvenutodriver
Member Image Jackglobaltraveler
1 review
Jul 2016
Fun tour-must do. Some walking (about 30-45 min each way). Folks wearing flipflops suffer,
Read Jackglobaltraveler's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image YumPo
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Marco, our guide was very informative. We hiked up but once at the top, a terrible thunder and lightning storm hit. We had to wait a 1/2 hour in the little store at the top before heading back down in the driving rain. the guys who ran the store were fun. Being drenched coming down the trail was not pleasant.
Read YumPo's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Fontanman2016
1 review
Jul 2016
pretty cool going up Mt Vesuvius. Some unnecessary stop at a cameo store along the way to buy stuff- a set up I am sure. Pompei was a bit too long and hot. a very good guide though.
Read Fontanman2016's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a great tour. We climbed Mt. Vesuvius which took us about an hour. Great views of the area and inside the volcano. Coming down took about 20 minutes. Some didn't go all the way up, and some didn't have good time management which held us up a bit to leave for Pompeii. Our tour guide was excellent. Would recommend.
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image netrodini
2 reviews
May 2016
!!!
Read netrodini's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Private Day Tours
Member Image DeMarco1948
1 review
Apr 2016
Enjoyed but wish we had more free time on the top. Had to hustle back down in time to leave. Very exhausting and would not recommend unless you are in good shape. No lunch included and did the walking tour of Pompeii and didn't finish until around 2 pm and we were starving. Should have had free time for lunch in between Vesuvius and Pompeii.
Read DeMarco1948's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image welsh89
1 review
Oct 2015
We walked to the top of mt vesuvius,although it was a bit of a hike when we got to the top the views around the volcano where breath taking and the view inside the volcano was even more impressive.
Read welsh89's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
I felt that if I was going to see Pompeii, I should see Mt. Vesuvius. Mistake. The mountain isn't really much and I would have preferred to skip it to have more time in Pompeii.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cetera
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Would have been perfect if 20 min longer.
Read Cetera's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cinasoraya
1 review
Jul 2015
Climbing up on loose, sandy volvanic gravel under the blazing sun with time constraints did not spell F-U-N.
Read cinasoraya's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CNJMILTZ
2 reviews
Jun 2015
a bit hit and miss on the collection location but the trip up to the volcano and subsequent view over the bay of Naples was excellent.
Read CNJMILTZ's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image drytoastfan
1 review
Jun 2015
Must be very physically fit to complete the hike to the top. Bring a euro coin to "rent" a hiking stick. The toilette options were unacceptable. The cafe owner was rude, telling passengers that the facilities were for paying customers only. Toilette had no running water and no toilet paper. Tour guide was not helpful at helping those who had just downed bottles of water in the scorching heat seeking a toilette.
Read drytoastfan's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Michael Dodd
1 review
Jun 2015
Be prepared for a strenuous walk up Mt Vesuvius!
Read Michael Dodd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
Booked all day Mt.Vesuvius where we hiked up the mountain (hard work) and got to see the crater at the top and take amazing photos of the sea in the back drop then we went to Pompeii and spent the afternoon so much to see there which was fabulous.
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PuggleLover
2 reviews
May 2015
Be sure to wear comfortable hiking or tennis shoes. The walk is a bit challenging for those with breathing conditions such as asthma. Good hike but be prepared for a couple of 30 percent grades. The views are nice though.
Read PuggleLover's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links