Naples Herculaneum Excursion Reviews

Naples Herculaneum cruise excursion
Overall Rating 72 Reviews
Discover the ancient lifestyles and the ongoing explorations of Herculaneum. The town was lost, along with Pompeii, in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Details & Booking
Member Image Darliwife
Sep 2018
Not a knowledgeable or entertaining guide, forced into a cameo factory & shop. Would have been better off with an audio guide.
Read Darliwife's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ruthie G
Aug 2018
The Herculaneum trip we did through Royal Caribbean was excellent. The tour guide was fantastic. Would have preferred not to have stopped at the Cameo factory - but the actual visit to Herculaneum was brilliant - very interesting indeed.
Read Ruthie G's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lorisnowco
Jun 2018
Car picked us up at the port and drove us to Pompeii. Guide met us at the entrance and gave a full history and perspective of the ruins. Driver took us to Herculaneum where we walked around on our own. Then to Naples for a traditional pizza lunch in a local establishment. It was truly wonderful.
Read lorisnowco's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Momager89
Jun 2018
The tour site itself is good. The guide was great and funny. Herculaeum is a must see. Its smaller than Pompeii and better preserved and closer to Naples. BUT this tour is overpriced for what it is. We also stopped at a cameo jewelry factory first only briefly. Like 20-30 minutes. You can stay on the bus if you want.
Read Momager89's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 7fttalllaura
May 2018
Our tour guide for this tour was brilliantly funny and provided a lot of historic detail on the Herculem city. It was extremely interesting and i would definitely recommend this tour to anyone going to Naples via RCCL.
Read 7fttalllaura's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pirasea
Jan 2018
The tour to Herculaneum was excellent. This site is much different from Pompeii, so I recommend that you see them both. Very interesting place, and we had a good guide.
Read pirasea's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image David Wheeler
Nov 2017
If you have a bit of courage you can reach Herculaneum by your own means, and thus save the expensive P & O excursion. On the other hand it is all done for you, and a guide is handy, so all in all we found it worth it.
Read David Wheeler's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image 57Kroozers
Nov 2017
Amazing archaeological site. Great tour guide. The vision of the skeletons is till with me.
Read 57Kroozers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JeannieK
Oct 2017
Our tour guide was a college professor. Amazing tour and information
Read JeannieK's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image netherton4
Sep 2017
Good trip and guide could have done without the cameo factory tour and more time in Herculaneum.
Read netherton4's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ccr2000
Jul 2017
Herculaneum is really one of my favorite ancient ruins. Far better than Pompeii. Mostly because it is less crowded, but also because it is better preserved fresco's and organic materials. At port, there is a long shopping street inside the building build under the ruling of Mussolini. So be aware that it takes about 5 minutes to walk to the place where the buses are. There were a lot of noise, so when the coordinators were announcing which tour should go their bus, we could hardly hear anything. The guide we had was friendly, good sense of humor, and good English. The bus had A/C, which we were greatful for, as there was little wind in Herculaneum. Bring a fan or umbrella or something to give you either/and shade/wind on a sunny day in July.
Read ccr2000's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image OuiselG
Jun 2017
We found this tour more interesting than Pompeii. The town of Herculaneum was buried under 20 metres of lava when Versuvius erupted in 79AD (compared to Pompeii that was covered in rocks and ash). We found it to be very well preserved and the tour was fascinating.
Read OuiselG's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Strawberrymajic
Jun 2017
We booked a private car because we wanted to go to Herulaneum and Vesuvius and there wasn't an excursion for both options. APTours was very helpful and our driver was excellent.
Read Strawberrymajic's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Barefoot&Brit
Apr 2017
Level 3, 3.5 hours I talked my husband into this tour, thinking Pompeii would be crowded. I had been here about 25 years ago and was quite impressed. Either my memory is embellishing the past (hush, you) or things have changed. Many areas were roped off where they hadn’t been years ago, and I got the impression some mosaics had been moved to the museum. It’s a nice quick tour but perhaps Pompeii would have been better. We had the obligatory stop at a cameo factory. One woman was demonstrating the technique which was amazing because of the detail and steady hand required. Since they called it a factory and not studio I had this mental image of hundreds of people at small desks in another building, carving away and waiting for the whistle to blow so they could go home. Lots of shopping at port.
Read Barefoot&Brit's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rlh.kak@verizon.net
Mar 2017
Great view of the city buried along with Pompeii.
Read rlh.kak@verizon.net's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Back on Land Bill
Feb 2017
My personal trip high point. Great guide (we were decidely,but politely, escorted out for staying past the 5pm closing time.) Much smaller area than Pompeii (we visited there 30 years ago when we could take long walks easier). I really wanted to see Herculaneum and I will remember this visit fondly.
Read Back on Land Bill's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image BabaSue2
Nov 2016
Fantastic tour. Tour descriptions need to better represent the amount of wlaking and the difficulty of the surfaces. There were many seniors on this tour and some with physical limitations. Very rough and uneven walking surfaces. Lots of stairs.
Read BabaSue2's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image wandwall
Nov 2016
The tour was informative and everyone was surprised at how well preserved much of the town was. Many details had been left untouched due to the mud flow which engulfed Herculaneum when Vesuvius erupted. The town had been a resort on the shore of the Mediterranean and many residents tried to flee by boat. When there were no more boats, they took shelter in the arched brick warehouse spaces of the harbor and many skeletons attest to their horrific end. The walls and even roofs, in several cases even the second stories, remain with mosaic floors and painted walls, food stalls and sidewalks still in existence. In November, it was sunny when we got off the bus here and everyone left their umbrellas in the bus. Unfortunately, it poured halfway through the tour and many got wet trying to find shelter.
Read wandwall's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image mgounaris
Nov 2016
afternoon after morning tour to Pompeii. Had to return to ship instead between tours. Viking should coordinate this better so you don't waste time like that. Actual tour was fine.
Read mgounaris's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image dianezw
Nov 2016
Liked Herculaneum. Hard to hear and understand the guide. Wished we could have visited the bones.
Read dianezw's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Shewie403
Oct 2016
We were unable to walk to Mt. Vesuvius crater, as there was heavy fog. Our driver took us to this site instead. It was interesting but so far from the port. It was unguided and I feel that I missed a lot of the information.
Read Shewie403's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Angel Tour
Member Image Waterfronteye
Oct 2016
Good visit to site and Cameo factory
Read Waterfronteye's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image liam.dasey
Sep 2016
Just 8 or us with a Driver. Although it was a good day and the driver was knowledgeable and entertaining, I think we all wished we had a guide in Herculaneum.
Read liam.dasey's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: AP Tours
Member Image Tac Aviator
Sep 2016
Very interesting. Not as vast as Pompeii but well worth a visit. The tour itself was expensive
Read Tac Aviator's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Tac Aviator
Sep 2016
Very interesting. Not as vast as Pompeii but well worth a visit. The tour itself was expensive
Read Tac Aviator's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links