Malta (Valletta) Mdina Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Malta (Valletta) Mdina Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mdina, a bus ride from Malta's port, is an ancient walled and moated city rich with history and architectural wonders. Take a walking tour to discover palaces, churches and stately homes.
Member Image Mmeca
1 review
Jul 2017
We did not book with RCC. We took a hop-on hop-off tour. BEWARE, there are two competing companies with different routes. Also, the lack of cleanliness, lack of air conditioning and lack of audio could be deterrents for some. The heat that day was beyond belief and with more than one cruise ship in town the hop on when you want was not at all easy. We were there approx. 9 am and there were delivery trucks constantly in the small narrow cobble stone roads making it a bit dangerous for pedestrians.
Read Mmeca's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: citysightseeingMalta
Member Image Seapass
1 review
Jul 2017
Toured around the entire island with a private tour operator. It was a wonderful day.
Read Seapass's full MSC Meraviglia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Dowunder
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Excellent tour, very competent guide
Read Dowunder's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image TorontoEh
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Got a great sense of history of Malta and life there in the past and present. Had lunch in a small and delicious cafe off the tourist track.
Read TorontoEh's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Exclusively Malta
Member Image Dancefloor
3 reviews
May 2017
Tour guide provided a useful history on the ride to Mdina. Enjoyed the brief opportunity to walk around with lots of time to walk around Valletta with the guide and on our own. Wish that we had more time in the amazing cathedral as the tour guide rushed us through and left us with more time than needed to look at suits of armour and weapons.
Read Dancefloor's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image doxielover47
1 review
Apr 2017
Wow! A medieval walled city. So beautiful and so much history!
Read doxielover47's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Vicki and Clive Malta Tours
Member Image Larry Laws
1 review
Jan 2017
Informative and included a boat ride around the harbour
Read Larry Laws's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rudy Gunther
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Too short of a visit. We barely had time to shop.
Read Rudy Gunther's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Boyrauch
1 review
Oct 2016
Our tour group was small - about 19 people, so had a nice tour of the city. This is a unique village and would definitely recommend it.
Read Boyrauch's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image boldfish
1 review
Sep 2016
Also got a nice harbor cruise.
Read boldfish's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nauticalnuts
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Full of small but very ornate Cathedrals and chapels.with cloistered convents. Stunning architecture.
Read nauticalnuts's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kirkandmimi
1 review
Sep 2016
Wasn't our favorite excursion or port. Took the Mdina, Rabat and Dinghlee cliffs tour. The cliffs are silly - the cities are impressive but literally 15 minutes was all we had to shop or walk on our own.
Read kirkandmimi's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Springfieldguy
1 review
Aug 2016
Walking tour of Mdina, St. John's Cathedral and various sights. Tour guide Alfred very knowledgeable, hospitable and humorous.
Read Springfieldguy's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UUNetBill
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Nice town, guide was terrible. Had a much better time just walking around Valletta.
Read UUNetBill's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image seabeelarry
1 review
Jun 2016
Took hop on-hop off there.... Good relaxing drive there, nice walk around & lunch at Mdina
Read seabeelarry's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Us again
Member Image Pilot Fish
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Acceptable at best
Read Pilot Fish's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Debfuncruiser
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Interesting little wall city
Read Debfuncruiser's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FlyingSolo73
2 reviews
Dec 2015
I enjoyed this shore excursion as it was in English and I didn't have to guess at what was being said.
Read FlyingSolo73's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Sodicoff
2 reviews
Oct 2015
OK. Bus tour guide had no headset so we got very little info. Had to race through Valletta to keep up with her and she had to move fast to get it all in the 4hour. Then it was on to Mdina for a 45 min walk. Too much too fast.
Read Sodicoff's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Tourisk
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Tour stopped at palace, botanical gardens Mdina and views of city, allowing some time in town center and walk back to nearby dock via public elevator. Again very few options for tours available due to very short port time. Best experience is that of docking in spectacular port. Most of old city is very near and walkable.
Read Tourisk's full Costa Fascinosa cruise review
Provider: Taxi on dock
Member Image travelagain25
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Mdina is an interesting city with its buildings and narrow passageways. Stsy with your guide as many of the passageways are dead-ends and where you think it is a dead-end, it is not. Thoroughly enjoyed Malta and history of the knights of Malta.
Read travelagain25's full Star Breeze cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image efsweeney
1 review
Jul 2015
Just booked out own driver to Mdina and back to Valleta
Read efsweeney's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: don't remember
Member Image hvbaskey
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Mdina is a beautiful village to visit. Very happy we did! Took the “Hop/On/Off” local bus tour for 10 Euros per person. Did the “North Tour” which included the Crafts Village and Mdina. Other stops were available, but we only got off twice due to time constraints. Lovely day despite the intense heat (40+C, feeling like 50C with humidex).
Read hvbaskey's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Igetseasick
1 review
Jun 2015
We stopped briefly at several spots. The cathedral was incredible not to be missed. On a par with what you see at the Vatican. Medina is very charming. Valletta is a lovely place. After our tour we took ourselves back into the town to have a lovely meal before heading back to the ship. A pity we did not have more time there. Would love to go back.
Read Igetseasick's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jackie wibberley
1 review
Mar 2015
Bussed to Mosta - cathedral very impressive, visited glassworks and, although the group was big, managed to view the glassblowing operation. There seemed to be very little time for those wanting to complete their purchasing transactions before the bus had to move on. There was a very quick look at Rabat, but Mdina proved to be a treasure. The guided portion through the town was all too short , followed by an independent fairly leisurely amble back to the bus. The public area outside the walls is quite entrancing with the horse carriages waiting for passengers. The pride of the guide to be Maltese and in the achievements of the islanders in the last half century was noteworthy. A Most enjoyable experience.
Read jackie wibberley's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links