Malta (Valletta) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Malta (Valletta) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Boasting an impressive history, Malta has at various points been ruled by the Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Normans, Aragonese, Habsburg Spain, the Knights of St John, France, and England. A city tour is a great way to see the old walled capital of Mdina, center of the oft-disputed isle.
Member Image doxielover47
1 review
Apr 2017
Outstanding! Very fast paced.
Read doxielover47's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Vicki and Clive Malta Tours
Member Image Cindy
15 reviews
Apr 2017
We loved our walking tour with Photograph Malta! The owner/operator took us to many sights we would have missed on our own. She provided us with local knowledge and photography tips! After the tour she recommended a lovely bistro where the four of us from the tour had a fantastic meal outside enjoying the beautiful evening.
Read Cindy's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Photograph Malta
Member Image zuume19
1 review
Feb 2017
Long a crossroads of Mediterranean trade and culture, the island of Malta has been shaped by countless civilizations. It was the Knights of St. John who built Valletta. A stroll around the massive, intact walls and bastions affords a magnificent view of the cityscape and the spectacular Grand Harbor. The former capital was Mdina, a medieval walled city locals call the "Silent City" as cars are not allowed in its streets. Valletta was founded in the 16th Century and has views of 3 cities and Fort Ricasoli. Malta was a strategic island during World War II with its airfields and Grand Harbor port.
Read zuume19's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Italophile
1 review
Feb 2017
Good over view of the city and the history. The Guide was very good. We went into the city earlier on our own to Visit the Archeology Musem, San Giovanni church and to shop.
Read Italophile's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image spitfirepete
1 review
Dec 2016
Interesting city....good shuttle service
Read spitfirepete's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image William.Tellitlikeitis
1 review
Nov 2016
Arriving in Malta by sea is a great experience, superb harbour, fantastic battlements. Really interesting history. Good guide.
Read William.Tellitlikeitis's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Thor17
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We basically walked the city. One of our favourite ports to explore - the waterfront area is beautiful.
Read Thor17's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
I would not advise anyone to take this excursion. Firstly, Carnival was late to the shore, and because of that, our tour guide treated us the entire day like it was our group's fault we were late. She got into altercations with a few of the guests due to very insensitive, smart things she would say. I think she forgot that WE were paying HER for the excursion and we weren't there to do her bidding. She had a lot of pride for her country, and didn't allow anyone to ask her questions. She just talked, talked and talked. For those in the group with walking challenges (Like my mother),she walked way too fast. One couple actually opted to take a cab back to the ship after the first stop because her pace was not enjoyable. She wanted to get through everything on the tour, but most of us were checked out after an hour or two. Additionally, we had an 8.5 hour day and no breaks for bathroom or food! We were told that we were going to have "lunch". We didn't get that until 1pm and it was really only snacks. At least we got unlimited wine (although we had to get up and serve ourselves). Do yourself a favor when you go to Malta and don't take this excursion. Next time, I could say on the ship and be happy.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bigsuze
1 review
Oct 2016
This was another interesting city and a good tour. There was a significant amount of walking -- and at a pace a bit too fast for my liking. Expensive
Read bigsuze's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image computerqwerty
3 reviews
Sep 2016
four cruise ships in harbour most passengers wanting the same busses which kept on breaking down - not a good combination
Read computerqwerty's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: tour excursions
Member Image Billings11
1 review
Sep 2016
crowded - no explanation/guide
Read Billings11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bevdrummond55
1 review
Sep 2016
The palaces were wonderful and our guide was good. Large group wasn't a problem. The national gardens were trees, trees and more trees. Only a few ordinary flowers to look at.
Read Bevdrummond55's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image biltri
1 review
Sep 2016
The trip was very good and the bus driver was excellent. On our way back to the ship he dropped us off in a street very near to the Pietta military cemetery where we visited my great-grandfather's grave from WWI. A very moving and personal experience. The graveyard is very peaceful and extremely well kept. We then enjoyed a pleasant stroll through the town back to the ship
Read biltri's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image palmheights
1 review
Sep 2016
Really loved this place. It was still very evident the mass bombing that went on there.
Read palmheights's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image alpacino123
1 review
Aug 2016
This is a beautiful place, so much history, loads of really old buildings, decided to take the open top bus tour, it is only €10 but was discounted to €7.50' for this you could take in all 3 tours but would probably need more than a day to do so. We chose the red route, which we were advised was leaving in 10 mins but over 30 mins later we were still waiting, be aware that they do NOT run to any timetable. Malta is really historic, it looks quite drab and dusty in places with loads of areas that seem derelict and quite run down. Once away from the main areas you are in countryside, again though not very scenic. The commentary was good if a little out of sync. Including the boat trip we were on the bus for over 4 hours so be careful of timings. The sail away from the harbour was wonderful, stunning views in every direction. You really need more than a day to appreciate Malta.
Read alpacino123's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Did the city tour and harbor cruise-both were real good. Guide was quite disinterested-spent much more time conversing with the bus driver in their native tongue than he did describing spots along the way. First boat had mechanical issues so we all ended up walking a long way to get the second one and were delayed a while. Several older folks who struggled with that but even with those issues it's a great place to see.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vrf1
2 reviews
Jul 2016
It was a good tour but due to traffic it was not as good as it should have been . We got dropped off in the town and it was a lovely city and enjoyed our own exploring. It was 35+ deg on the day
Read vrf1's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image dougie12
1 review
Jul 2016
enjoyed the scenic tour but wish we had done the city tour ourslves
Read dougie12's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image mhedge
4 reviews
Jul 2016
This was a very naturally beautiful place. In a first for the ship, a couple on the ship got engaged here.
Read mhedge's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Vernon William
1 review
Jul 2016
What a gem - its such a modern city with an ancient look. Was my favourite
Read Vernon William's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ce_cruise
1 review
Jun 2016
Hop on Hop off only cost 10 Euros each and you could cover whole island if you wanted.
Read ce_cruise's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Emerald66
1 review
Jun 2016
Knowledgeable interesting guide, comfortable coach, enjoyable trip.
Read Emerald66's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image quartelycruiser
3 reviews
May 2016
Tour of the island by bus, they bring you to the blue grotto, Plenty of free time to walk in the old town.
Read quartelycruiser's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mighty Joe
2 reviews
May 2016
Part of the same tour; Interesting place to visit. Ship was given colour guard in costume and 7 gun salute on leaving port
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bradykenadee
1 review
Apr 2016
This tour gave us NO time at all to even see Valletta, which was a very big disappointment. We couldn't do the grotto tour because of the weather, so went to Mdina instead. It was fine, but didn't have much time, and would rather have seen Valletta.
Read bradykenadee's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?