Kusadasi House of the Virgin Mary Excursion Reviews

Believed to be the dwelling in which Mary lived out her last days, The House of the Virgin Mary has long been a popular visitation site for a variety of pilgrims, including several popes.
Beautiful.
Sail Date: August 2017
Beautiful. Small but the experience of just being in the house, even briefly, was worth the visit.
Beautiful. Small but the experience of just being in the house, even briefly, was worth the visit. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Silversea Cruises
Not worth seeing in my opinion.
Sail Date: June 2017
Not worth seeing in my opinion. But it was part of the tour so we went in.
Not worth seeing in my opinion. But it was part of the tour so we went in. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Azamara
Ephesus (Kusadasi), Turkey – Ephesus was one our favorite ports we booked our excursion via Royal ...
Sail Date: October 2016
Ephesus (Kusadasi), Turkey – Ephesus was one our favorite ports we booked our excursion via Royal Caribbean Best of Ephesus and we had an extremely hard time understanding our tour guide but, we made the best of our experience. Our tour ... Read More
Ephesus (Kusadasi), Turkey – Ephesus was one our favorite ports we booked our excursion via Royal Caribbean Best of Ephesus and we had an extremely hard time understanding our tour guide but, we made the best of our experience. Our tour included a visit to the House of the Virgin Mary, and it was a remarkable experience (a must see). We also made a stop to see the Ancient Ruins and that was a site to see! The tour was filled with history. We also stopped to see a carpet demonstration, please do not be alarmed the sales staff were not pushy at all. They served us Turkish wine and snacks. We later went back to town (near the cruise terminal) did a bit of shopping and the shopping was wonderful- jewelry, leather handbags Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Able to see the home and collect Holy Water.
Sail Date: October 2016
Able to see the home and collect Holy Water.
Able to see the home and collect Holy Water. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
House of Virgin Mary was a very nice spot.
Sail Date: October 2016
House of Virgin Mary was a very nice spot. It is either a religious pilgrimage or just an interesting thing to see.
House of Virgin Mary was a very nice spot. It is either a religious pilgrimage or just an interesting thing to see. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Excellent tour.
Sail Date: October 2016
Excellent tour. The guide was both enthusiastic and extremely knowledgable. He was an ex history teacher, and never stopped talking about Roman and later history in Turkey. As always with Turkish tours was the long wasted time in the ... Read More
Excellent tour. The guide was both enthusiastic and extremely knowledgable. He was an ex history teacher, and never stopped talking about Roman and later history in Turkey. As always with Turkish tours was the long wasted time in the carpet factory. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Wow - off the beaten path, could never do it without an excursion.
Sail Date: October 2016
Wow - off the beaten path, could never do it without an excursion. I'm not religious but it was a powerful moment. Only complaint is that they speed you through the house single file and you can't take a moment to take it all in.
Wow - off the beaten path, could never do it without an excursion. I'm not religious but it was a powerful moment. Only complaint is that they speed you through the house single file and you can't take a moment to take it all in. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
It was nice to visit since the crowds had not yet arrived.
Sail Date: October 2016
It was nice to visit since the crowds had not yet arrived. Had it been much more crowded, I would not have waited to tour it.
It was nice to visit since the crowds had not yet arrived. Had it been much more crowded, I would not have waited to tour it. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
We enjoyed the visit to Virgin Mary's house and the holy water which we were able to take home.
Sail Date: October 2016
We enjoyed the visit to Virgin Mary's house and the holy water which we were able to take home. Ephesus was also interesting. The lunch and show component of the tour was not good. The food was terrible and we couldn't wait to ... Read More
We enjoyed the visit to Virgin Mary's house and the holy water which we were able to take home. Ephesus was also interesting. The lunch and show component of the tour was not good. The food was terrible and we couldn't wait to leave. We skipped watching the carpet weaving at the end. The town at port was very dirty and not much to do or see. A tour here is definitely recommended. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
We arrived early to beat the crowds.
Sail Date: September 2016
We arrived early to beat the crowds. Very moving to visit this house where Virgin Mary last lived.
We arrived early to beat the crowds. Very moving to visit this house where Virgin Mary last lived. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
We arrived early prior to the great crowds.
Sail Date: September 2016
We arrived early prior to the great crowds. Is a meaningful stop and we were not rushed.
We arrived early prior to the great crowds. Is a meaningful stop and we were not rushed. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
I don't believe in these superstitions - have you ever heard of dinosaurs?
Sail Date: August 2016
I don't believe in these superstitions - have you ever heard of dinosaurs? - but it was an interesting trip
I don't believe in these superstitions - have you ever heard of dinosaurs? - but it was an interesting trip Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Azamara
We were able to go inside her house.
Sail Date: August 2016
We were able to go inside her house. Extremely moving. We were able to attend Mass in a nearby chapel
We were able to go inside her house. Extremely moving. We were able to attend Mass in a nearby chapel Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
moving
Sail Date: July 2016
moving
moving Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Cunard Line
profound and moving
Sail Date: July 2016
profound and moving
profound and moving Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Scenic drive, well done.
Sail Date: June 2016
Scenic drive, well done. Cafe and a couple of little shops.
Scenic drive, well done. Cafe and a couple of little shops. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Very inspiring to know Mary once lived there.
Sail Date: June 2016
Very inspiring to know Mary once lived there. Get water from spring
Very inspiring to know Mary once lived there. Get water from spring Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Crowded and remote ...
Sail Date: May 2016
Crowded and remote ...
Crowded and remote ... Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider:
Mary's house and Ephesus was one tour.
Sail Date: May 2016
Mary's house and Ephesus was one tour. Our guide did the tour in a kind of unique way which allowed us to get to Mary's house before others and we had no lines and no one in the way of pictures
Mary's house and Ephesus was one tour. Our guide did the tour in a kind of unique way which allowed us to get to Mary's house before others and we had no lines and no one in the way of pictures Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
The guide took us here first in the early morning.
Sail Date: May 2016
The guide took us here first in the early morning. No crowds just a wonderful peaceful experience.
The guide took us here first in the early morning. No crowds just a wonderful peaceful experience. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Van tour with guide and driver of this area and more.
Sail Date: May 2016
Van tour with guide and driver of this area and more.
Van tour with guide and driver of this area and more. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
House of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Ancient Ephesus.
Sail Date: May 2016
House of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Ancient Ephesus. It rained the morning we were on this tour. The house of Mary was a very unique experience. It meant a lot to me personally. Ancient Ephesus was great too. We did the ship tour due ... Read More
House of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Ancient Ephesus. It rained the morning we were on this tour. The house of Mary was a very unique experience. It meant a lot to me personally. Ancient Ephesus was great too. We did the ship tour due to the unrest in the area but in hindsight I would do a private tour. I like to stop for photo ops and you simply can't with a large bus of people. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
An awesome experience.
Sail Date: May 2016
An awesome experience. Don't miss it.
An awesome experience. Don't miss it. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Very special place for Christian.
Sail Date: May 2016
Very special place for Christian. A Chapel now.
Very special place for Christian. A Chapel now. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Very peaceful and lovely place.
Sail Date: May 2016
Very peaceful and lovely place.
Very peaceful and lovely place. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises