1. Home
  2. Cruise Destinations
  3. Canada & New England Cruises
  4. Canada & New England Cruise Reviews
Cruise Ratings
1,559
1,160
768
362
193
Sail Date: October 2018
This was our 7 time with Oceania.. Anyone planning on taking a cruise with Oceania Cruise line please read this, what I affectionately call my CRUISE FROM HELL. I have never done this before but we have been treated so badly by this ... Read More
This was our 7 time with Oceania.. Anyone planning on taking a cruise with Oceania Cruise line please read this, what I affectionately call my CRUISE FROM HELL. I have never done this before but we have been treated so badly by this cruise line others should know what happened. Please, Please Share, People need to be warned. My husband and I took the Fall Splendor Cruise from New York to Montreal, leaving on Tuesday, October 23rd for 10 nights. It started in NYC and we immediately noticed a drop in temperature. Boarding the ship was easy and our cabin, Vista suite was ready early. Our first night on the ship and our cabin was very cold. By the time we reached Boston it was unbearable, so we called down and a repair person was sent up. The blowers weren't working right was the first of many diagnosis's. The one door to the outside was bleeding air very badly so someone else would come up to fix that. The blowers were adjusted and the doors were sealed better. Once we docked in Boston, our first port of call, we got off the ship for a little while and took the provided shuttle to Quincy Market. We were bundled but it still was very cold. We were notified that our intended stop in Sanguenney was cancelled because the authorities had closed the park there because of cold weather. It was too cold even for Canada. That night our room was again very cold. We called again and this time the thermostat wasn't working right so that was replaced but our door still kept whistling. They would work on that too. While in Newport, RI, we heard that there was a "Nort easter" coming. We became concerned but was told the ship wouldn't put us in danger. We skipped Bar Harbor, the highlight of the cruise for us, as it wasn't safe to dock.The second trip change On the way to Halifax the seas were so rough, too rough for any ship to be out and I spent the night in agony, throwing up all night and moaning. I couldn't pick my head off the pillow without throwing up. I prayed for daylight and hoping to be on Terra firma by 7 Am at the latest, but the announcements kept coming all day long that the port was closed Finally I called the infirmary and spoke to the Nurse. It was Sunday and they were not on duty, so I paid whatever I couldn't take it any more. I received two shots. I couldn't stay in 7005 as the nurse told me that is the worse place to be with the night we just had. There was no promise of the next night being any better. Finally at 8:30 PM we did dock at Halifax as the ship had to refuel. They stopped for 3 hours in Halifax, which was not much of a stop. We were then advised that we’d be skipping the intended stop in Sydney, change number 3. Would be leaving Halifax at 0200 and sail “forever” in whatever seas there were to Quebec City. We decided “enough was enough” and got off by 9:30 PM luggage and all. A taxi driver, Rex, a native of Halifax told us that no ships should have been out on a night like the one that just passed. My husband and I agreed with him. It felt so wonderful to be on solid ground. This was our 7th cruise with Oceania and we trusted the cruise line. You had many films on the TV about their plans to refurbish the Insignia. I think they waited too long. The ship was not in great shape and that door never stopped leaking. The cabin did warm up after they changed the thermostat, and we spent 3 of the 5 nights on the ship freezing. This cruise should either not been scheduled at all or have been cancelled as soon as they saw the temperature dropping and that a storm was coming in, that is why all those ports were cancelled. This was too late in the season for Oceania to have a cruise to Montreal. They did put us in danger so Please do not take a cruise on Oceania, because I care about your safety and comfort, Oceania does not. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
A cruise of a life time as I thought , very disappointed, I saved so hard for this cruise put me off , I have read some reports I totally agree with there comments from other passengers , I feel cruise should have not taken place . ... Read More
A cruise of a life time as I thought , very disappointed, I saved so hard for this cruise put me off , I have read some reports I totally agree with there comments from other passengers , I feel cruise should have not taken place . Enjoyed New York , reason for going was to experience the fall in all its colours did not happen . Lack of information @ times !! Last 2 day before coming to end of cruise they put on drinks 5-30 to 7-00 free of charge ( I feel that was to make up for what had happened on cruise as cruise did not go to plan , they was so many unhappy passengers , It made the atmosphere uncomfortable that's not what I wanted to experience on this cruise . Will not be recommending to any one . As they say you hear more about bad experiences not quick enough to give good reports . Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
When I made the reservation for my friend and I and our husbands, I mentioned to NCL agent that we are celebrating my 44 year anniversary. Big year right? Who can say that these days! The agent told me they will send us a cake with a card ... Read More
When I made the reservation for my friend and I and our husbands, I mentioned to NCL agent that we are celebrating my 44 year anniversary. Big year right? Who can say that these days! The agent told me they will send us a cake with a card to celebrate our special occasion..We were left empty!! Our mattress was so uncomfortable that my husband and I received back pain. One week later, we are still experiencing pain..... We tried the food at different restaurants and everything we were served was very cold. Also, the menu was same every night. Overall quality of the food within the Buffet was unacceptable. The ship had over 2000 passengers and all of us could not be accommodated in the dining halls. There were not enough tables to sit and this left us all wandering around to find a table to sit. It was a very uncomfortable experience for all of us. All PA announcements were not clear and we could not understand the anything said. This is worrying in times of emergency. WIFI was part of my package at the time of reservation and I was not able to use it. I personally went to the front desk asking for help but no one knew how to do it. Let’s just say I’m a veteran. I’ve been on 20 cruises in my life and overall this was the worst experience I’ve had to date. Both my husband and I along with our friends were disappointed in taking Norwegian. I chose this cruise to celebrate an important anniversary and it did not meet any of our expectations. I will not recommend this to anyone especially those who want to celebrate an important occasion. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2018
For anyone relying on a wheelchair, beware. There were steps to navigate during initial boarding; the day trips were unavailable to us because 5 of the stops we anchored in the harbor and the small boat used to get us to the mainland had ... Read More
For anyone relying on a wheelchair, beware. There were steps to navigate during initial boarding; the day trips were unavailable to us because 5 of the stops we anchored in the harbor and the small boat used to get us to the mainland had steps; and if we were able to get to land, the tour busses were not wheelchair accessible. There were layers of problems getting off and on the boat so even if we had successfully navigated one hurdle, another one existed. For instance, if we had been able to get onto tgevtender boat, on shore the ramp used to get up to the pier had slats across it which the wheelchair couldn’t bump over. The “handicapped” room we were given was a slightly modified able bodied room. The bathroom was the biggest problem. I have tried calling, emailing, post mailing Pearl Seas and they will not return my call. Horrendous trip. Even worse customer service. Caveat emptor. Find another cruise line. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: October 2018
It was rated the Best New England Cruise Land combination. Or so the advertisement said. Best for them because they have cut quality of food, shows, room size, Just over all, poorly run. We will never cruise with princess again!! ... Read More
It was rated the Best New England Cruise Land combination. Or so the advertisement said. Best for them because they have cut quality of food, shows, room size, Just over all, poorly run. We will never cruise with princess again!! Best thing the Cruise Director Matt O'. Matt did his best to keep up morale, tall order for someone trying to save a sinking ship. Food was not up to par and timing was very poor. Missed 3 out of 10 dinners due to "Any Time Dining". What they don't tell you is that it is "Any Time They Want You To Dine". Also, schedule your dinning rooms, so that one can eat early, due to GERD issues, and still find a seat in the Auditorium.We missed 2 shows due to "Standing Room Only" at the first Show. Service as good as could be expected, as they had 140 new crew members, who were using passengers to learn the ropes. NOT the Crews fault - - MANAGEMENT is using the cheapest labor to get the most money. We were informed that they were training for the "HOLIDAY SEASON". Princess needs to help their staff by providing the best training. We booked our flight through Princess. When it was too late to book our own, they moved us to a "RED EYE" to their $$$ advantage. Also, took 2 days to catch up on sleep.Due to a freeway accident, we stood with our luggage from 7:45 A.M. till 1:30 P.M. because they had no back up plan. For all the trouble, we were offered nothing. Read Less
PrincessCruises3, Social Team, Princess Cruises has responded
Hi ConnieZimp, we are truly sorry if you had an unsatisfactory experience onboard Royal Princess. We definitely intend for all guests to have a wonderful time during our cruises and wish you had a better experience.
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
We chose this cruise to be with our aging parents. The good news: nobody died. The bad news: we had to live through a week of noisy nights, cheap over cooked or processed food, missed excursions, and cheap accommodations. We arrived at ... Read More
We chose this cruise to be with our aging parents. The good news: nobody died. The bad news: we had to live through a week of noisy nights, cheap over cooked or processed food, missed excursions, and cheap accommodations. We arrived at ports only to be told we could not disembark because of weather. Our itinerary changed with no notice as the staff made poor decisions about excursions. It was obvious from the forecast, for example, that we would not be able to take a tender off the ship to nearby Campobello Island, but we left the safe docking at delightful Eastport, Maine anyway and spent the day anchored two hundred yards away from shore. This happened again two days later when the decision was made to change course to avoid heavy winds while knowing we couldn’t get into the next port. We backtracked to St John’s the next day on a Sunday when there was nothing to do. The food would make Denny’s look like five stars No exercise facility, unless you want to risk falling overboard in a gale Spent an hour waiting in freezing temps for a tender with no explanation as to why none was coming as we were 7 minutes from the ship. The lounges were cramped and did not afford views creating a very claustrophobic environment especially since we spent so much time on board. The entertainers were lovey people; however, their style was not our style but they seemed to be appreciated by many of the guests. If they were only a few of several choices for entertainment, they would have been fine (for others). Since this was a very expensive cruise, per capita per day, we expected the same quality service and amenities that we have enjoyed on other luxury cruise lines. We were sorely disappointed from the moment of check in to our disembarkation. If the cost of this cruise had been significantly lower, our expectations would not have been so high. I have no desire or intention of taking another Pearl of the Seas or American Cruise line cruise again. Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
We choose this cruise for the itinerary and only one sea day. The food and service in the main dining room and the speciality restaurants was the worst we have ever had on any of the 49 cruises we have done. In the Toscana restaurant I had ... Read More
We choose this cruise for the itinerary and only one sea day. The food and service in the main dining room and the speciality restaurants was the worst we have ever had on any of the 49 cruises we have done. In the Toscana restaurant I had pasta which was tasteless we waited a good ½ hour between courses. In the Polo restaurant they had on the menu Kobe steak, when I ordered it I was informed that it was a Burger which means it could be any type of meat. I chose the Rack of lamb which i could not chew it was so tough. In the main restaurant i had a stir fry which consisted of a watery curry base with slices of carrot and cabbage which i did not eat.This was the first cruise where my wife and I came home the same weight as we left. The entertainment consisted of singers and dancers and a singing ventriloquist who performed twice he was very average . There were two stops which were cancelled due to sea as it was too rough for the tenders to take us in. We were told that we would have to see the US customs on board at 8am before we got off the ship so everyone was up early when the Captain announced at 8am that we would not be stopping. This wasn't a cheap cruise so we expected a lot more for the amount we paid. Never again will we cruise with this company. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
We selected this cruise line because of its purported luxury features, the ports of call and the timing to see the fall colors. To start this is a very dated ship and the accommodations were anything but grand. The air conditioning did ... Read More
We selected this cruise line because of its purported luxury features, the ports of call and the timing to see the fall colors. To start this is a very dated ship and the accommodations were anything but grand. The air conditioning did not work for the first two days, the live TV programming never worked, the door to our veranda was next to impossible to close and once the ship did get moving the door would pop open on its own (that got repaired), but we still had a whistling noise caused by the wind blowing past the door seals, the cabin floor got flooded one night during rough seas, our bathroom floor had to be repaired because of damaged (chipped) floor marble, we did had to climb into a bath tub to take a shower (kind of hard for old folks in bouncy seas), and a very indifferent customer relations desk. Our cabin was in forward part of the ship and ever time the side thrusters were employed our cabin vibrated and shook with a equal commensurate noise, kind of annoying when you are trying to sleep. But worse of all was a 4 day delay in our departure out of Montreal, which the captain insisted was because of the local port authorities, and kept promising false start times that never occurred and each day there were barges or maintenance devices attached to the ship. On the fourth day we were allowed to leave port with a tug boat shadowing us all the down the St. Lawrence River to Quebec. Due to all the mechanical problems/delays, that were never admitted to us, we lost three ports of call that we were really looking forward visiting plus some day time scenic viewing. Silver Seas did make an adjustment of 30% of our base cruse cost to make up for this loss but - - - -. We had two days of rough seas, that happens when you cruise, but in addition to the bouncing we had a loud metal on metal banging that seemed to come from the hull of the ship which kept us awake a couple of nights. The ship was late arriving in New York at the end of the cruise which was good and not so good. By arriving late we got to see the Port of New York in the early morning light, the bad news they then tried to rush to disembark us which resulted in un-necessary chaos. A verying disappointing cruise, but all of the servicee personnel were very attentive and friendly. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
We chose this cruise to enjoy the fall scenery of Canada, view the whales and other sea life of the St Laurence Seaway and visit Quebec City. When we embarked in Montreal on Tuesday we were not informed of a mechanical failure that ... Read More
We chose this cruise to enjoy the fall scenery of Canada, view the whales and other sea life of the St Laurence Seaway and visit Quebec City. When we embarked in Montreal on Tuesday we were not informed of a mechanical failure that occurred when the boat was arriving. Only after awakening Wednesday to the same view did we realize we were still in Montreal and then we were informed of a "small" "technical" "problem" and repairs would allow for a prompt departure. The staff did not go out of their way to develop more excursions. They just provided a $50 credit for us to buy "hop on, hop off" bus tickets. We awoke Thursday to the same view, but the ship had been relocated to a filthy industrial pier filled with containers, among other unattractive items and a splended view of large, rusting grain elevators. They then advised that the Canadian authorities now required an ocean tug to accompany the ship up the St Laurence. So, our departure was now further delayed by "forces beyond the control of the ship" in the ill chosen words of Silversea management, because we had to await the arrival of the tug. This generated concern among the passengers. What was the nature of the "technical problems" and had they been completely addressed and repaired? Why was a tug escort required? We received no answers, but Silversea gave a 30% cash refund. Then they altered the itinerary to canceling stops at the naturalists attractions ports of Saguenay, Baie Comeau , Gaspe, and Charlottetown. Instead, we will be hightailing it to the coal mining town of Sydney and then on to the large city of Halifax. Silversea does not care to try to make amends for their mistakes of not properly maintaining this older vessel. Instead they punish the customers on top of our 3 days in Montreal by canceling the most attractive portion of the cruise. I think they want to get the boat back to a large city for repairs. I will never set foot on a Silversea ship again. As an aside, on our previous Silversea cruise , our stateroom flooded and we were moved to an inferior room Read Less
Sail Date: October 2018
As a frequent cruiser, I have maintained that Royal was my favorite line. Not so after this trip.The balcony room that I had, had a thermostat that did not work, toilet that never would flush without manual assistance, and mattress and ... Read More
As a frequent cruiser, I have maintained that Royal was my favorite line. Not so after this trip.The balcony room that I had, had a thermostat that did not work, toilet that never would flush without manual assistance, and mattress and pillows that were so hard that some cruisers purchased "egg crates" is Quebec City to improve the condition . I repeatedly had to request tissues and toilet paper. Also, there was an adjoining room that made it impossible to block out light and conversations and wake up calls were audible. Also, two of the main elevators were inoperable for the entire trip. The entire ship was without limes, raisins, Pino Grigio, Jack Daniels and paper bar napkins for the last eight days of the cruise even though we had harbored in Portland and Boston. Exiting the ship in Saint John and Bar Harbor was very poorly organized and time consuming. On board I expresssed my concerns to front desk personnel and was told that it was as it was and there was nothing to be done. Upon return, I sent a letter defining my concerns to Mr. Bayley, CEO of Royal, and in a response from a member of the Executive staff, again, none of my concerns were discussed.I was offerred a $50.00 OBC on a future cruise within the next year. With such a dismissal, do they really expect I would cruise with Royal again when there are so many options. Read Less

Find a Cruise