1. Home
  2. Cruise Lines
  3. Regent Seven Seas Cruises
  4. Regent Seven Seas Cruises Cruise Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
Anyone reading my other reviews will know that I am a huge fan of Regent, we have met many lovely people over the years, welcomed them to our hoes and even gone to their weddings. As Cruise Critic makes clear in its own review of the ... Read More
Anyone reading my other reviews will know that I am a huge fan of Regent, we have met many lovely people over the years, welcomed them to our hoes and even gone to their weddings. As Cruise Critic makes clear in its own review of the Voyager, the make up of the guests are generally well educated, well travelled people and they choose Regent because they will meet likeminded people. The ship, staff, officers and entertainment were all exactly as I describe in my review of the first half of our cruise. Thoroughly decent, hard working and friendly people who I would happily sail around the world with forever. Why then, you will be asking, have I rated this cruise 'terrible'. The simple answer is that having broken our 17 day cruise in two without telling us, there was also one other fact that Regent had omitted to mention when we booked - which was that they had booked two groups of 250 each on 'corporate incentive trips'. We can only speculate (and Regent has not denied) that there was always a plan to split the cruise and that these two groups were already booked on the Voyager when we booked 9 months ago - that can be the only explanation for limited availability to us and then lots of availability for the first 10 days. So, 500 passengers got off in Miami on 5 March and two groups got on. One group was no problem, well behaved, beautifully dressed although ultimately they were a group and would wear their corporate T-shirts to remind us we were on a corporate trip and did not join in with things like trivia (which went from standing room only to three teams overnight). However, the second group were something else. As I want to ensure that Cruise Critic print this review I will not go into detail about them, suffice to say there was a virtual mutiny aboard especially with the 73 guests who had booked a 17 day cruise and were now trapped on a ship with 250 people on a 'booze cruise'. Guests were demanding meetings with the captain (what could he do?), the corridors being patrolled every evening to try and enforce the dress code, the pool deck became a no go area. There was no mid cruise survey done... Yes we were on a lovely ship, with lovely food (delayed due to our fellow guests ordering everything off the menu in one sitting) and we got to see some lovely places. But it was that feeling of dread coming back to the ship, the frustration of not being able to go to the pool, the worry that any of them would be on an excursion we were booked on. But most importantly it was that feeling of betrayal that this beloved brand that have looked after us so well and who we have such fond memories of, could have done this to us in such a cold and calculating way. Regent have assured us, in writing, that this was a mistake and will never happen again. However, they seem to believe that because we have had so many lovely trips with Regent we can overlook one bad experience. We work very hard to be able to afford the Regent experience and this was a week of our lives and precious holiday time that we will never get back and for which we paid full price. We have come home more stressed and frustrated than when we went which is getting worse by the day as Regent head office bury their heads further into the sand and refuse to recognise the problem. Mistakes happen but the art of good customer service is how you recover from them and it seems that Regent still have that lesson to learn. As soon as they realised the scale of the problem they should have dispatched a senior executive out to the ship to apologise in person and offer those affected something. This is not about money, it is about recognition of the monumental mistake made (or imposed on them from above) and there are many things that they could have done which would have cost them very little at the time. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
I need to share the absolutely terrible experience my husband and I had on our recent Regent Voyager cruise – Return to Sorrento in October 2018. My husband and I had never take a cruise before so we didn’t quite know what to expect. ... Read More
I need to share the absolutely terrible experience my husband and I had on our recent Regent Voyager cruise – Return to Sorrento in October 2018. My husband and I had never take a cruise before so we didn’t quite know what to expect. We frequently travel and typically stay at 5 star hotels/resorts and have basically traveled the world. Because of our age (my husband turned 80 last year) we decided to try this cruise based on our friend’s recommendation and the fact that it’s becoming more and more difficult for us to travel like we have in the past. Also, we really wanted to visit Israel for my husband’s 80 birthday celebration and I personally wanted to visit the Amalfi Coast – both of which were on this specific itinerary. Our first disappointment was the condition of our penthouse suite. It was outdated, run down, dirty (the furniture was stained) and the bathroom was filed with mildew. The closet door was always opening and after several attempts at asking the crew to fix this, we finally just gave up. The tours were another major problem. They took us to complete tourist traps and to the worst restaurants in the cities. In Tel Aviv they charged us 10 Euros for a bottle of water and wasted time taking us to cheap trinket stores for shopping. The food on the ship was decent but looked nothing like the photos on their website. Every request I had was handled when I was already done eating my meal. The biggest disappointment was not being able to stop in Amalfi because of weather. I understand this was out of anyone’s control; however, the captain did not apologize and worse yet – they never reimbursed us for what we paid for the tour in Amalfi. Instead they gave us the same amount in shipboard credit and forced us to shop on the ship for things we didn’t need. It took 4 days to get our iPads/iPhones somewhat working after visiting IT several times. Lastly, once we arrived to our final port in Rome, we had to pull our own luggage out of storage and pull it all the way to our bus without any assistance from the crew. We literally felt like they threw us off the ship. In summary, we will never cruise with Regent again. The worst $30K vacation experience of our lives. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
I have been a long time Regent cruiser and was concerned about the quality of service after the takeover by Norwegian. In October my wife and I took a 10-day cruise to Canada and then Bermuda. We found the staff as warm and friendly as ... Read More
I have been a long time Regent cruiser and was concerned about the quality of service after the takeover by Norwegian. In October my wife and I took a 10-day cruise to Canada and then Bermuda. We found the staff as warm and friendly as in the past and the food was at least as good. The entertainment was moderate as I expect on a small ship, but the performers were enthusiastic. But… My wife uses a mobility scooter and transport chair which we brought on the cruise. The access to the pool deck and specialty restaurants was made especially difficult. Scooters had to navigate the lip between the corridor and deck and they created an extra barricade with an inclined plane to ease the scooter across the lip. But the plane did not slope to the ground but started with a two-inch vertical rise. To negotiate this the scooter had to be perpendicular to the rise and moving relatively fast. The problem was the stairwell was close to the deck access and there was little room for maneuvering. It was worse leaving the deck since the fast-moving scooter was headed toward the stairwell. A tense experience, to say the least. Leaving the ship in port was an adventure-in-itself. The gangway was set up in much the same way as the as access to the pool deck and disregards the needs of those who need mobility assistance. It took two crew members to move the scooter over the hump. The ship stayed in Bermuda for two days, the longest on the cruise. But none of the excursions were available to the mobility impaired -- even folding wheelchairs. This really did not matter since the gangway was steps rather than an incline. The crew offered to carry my wife and scooter down the steps, but we did not want to be singled out. Finally, the stress was too much and the scooter transmission was damaged. Half way through the cruise we filled out a questionnaire and we expressed these complaints. We were ignored. The changes that would have solved these problems were simple and inexpensive and the failure to implement these changes shows indifference, at best. Read Less
26 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2018
We have been sailing with Regent since the beginning, over 25 years. We can't say enough how disappointed we were with this cruise. We booked a Master Suite, the best cabin on the ship. While the cabin was spacious, the ... Read More
We have been sailing with Regent since the beginning, over 25 years. We can't say enough how disappointed we were with this cruise. We booked a Master Suite, the best cabin on the ship. While the cabin was spacious, the shower stall was so small you couldn't even bend over. Secondly we had leaks in the room for the first 5 days of the cruise. We had wet carpet every single day for the first 5 days. There was also a stain on the carpet in the living area that they never were able to get up. We think that the cabin was full of mold as both my husband's and my allergies were terrible. We did ask that they take the carpet up and put down new carpet, but they never did. We had always enjoyed the food before on Regent but this time. We went to Prime 7 several times and each time the steak (filet) was so tough you could barely chew it. I tried to order the lamb, but each time it was also so tough that you couldn't chew it. We ordered the crab legs and they literally served us a pile of crab meat, most all of it from the body of the crab!! That is not crab legs, just crab meat. They did fix this the next time, but they told us that we had to order "tubes". Not sure why when the menu says crab legs you have to order "tubes". We have never had to do that before. Omelets were horrible as the eggs were never cooked. When you tired to order fried eggs they were either over cooked, or under cooked. The food service in the restaurants was generally good, the food however, was horrible. Now, let's talk about the wine and beverage service. It appeared to us that they have really cut down the beverage staff. More than once, we had to wait over 20 minutes for a person to even take our beverage order! While we have always had to work a little to find a wine that we liked, we never did find a drinkable red wine on board this ship. We did find a few white wines that we could tolerate, ( even though we prefer red wine) but each time once we had the wine and in 2-3 days they ran out of that wine. We found the wines to be extremely cheap and not of the quality that we had come to enjoy on Regent. We also found that the bar staff couldn't make any drink that we ordered. The cosmopolitan's were undrinkable. The Lemon Drop's were undrinkable. A Vodka tonic was horrible. Finally our butler explained to us what was happening. If you didn't call a vodka name, they were pouring a super cheap polish vodka. WHAT? This is a cruise that cost us well over $2,000 a night!!! The advertising claims fine wines and spirits, not so!! We sent a bag of laundry to have it be laundered. It came back smelling worse than when we sent it in. We should have sent it back, but we just washed it ourselves. Now, let's talk about shore excursions. We booked all of our shore excursions the first day or two that they were available to book. By the time that we sailed 4 of them had been cancelled and we had to put them back on wait list. Three of them never did come through!! Now, I have no idea which passengers they decided to cancel off of a prearranged shore excursion, but you would think that the people who booked first and who were in the BEST cabin onboard the ship might have had some precedence. When I asked the shore excursion people, they claimed that they had no idea. So, the included shore excursions aren't worth much, when you can't even book them!! And, they never made any accommodations for shore excursions that they canceled. Entertainment isn't the most important item to us, but we did find that the crew shows were a disappointment. In the past we have always found the crew cast to be amazing dancers and singers. This time we found them to be very lacking. Let's talk about the Navigator a bit. Obviously it is time to retire this ship. Can't think of one thing to like about this ship, besides it's size. We will never ever go on this ship again! We had 3 additional cruises booked on Regent. We did cancel one of them and tried to cancel the one coming up in December but the cancellation penalty was $36,000. So, we are going, but not by choice. It would seem that Norwegian has finally ruined Regent. Read Less
35 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2018
The Regent Seven Seas Explorer is beautiful ship and this was our second voyage on it. But Regent's customer service is so poor it makes your local cable company look stellar. Three days into the cruise my wife developed a medical ... Read More
The Regent Seven Seas Explorer is beautiful ship and this was our second voyage on it. But Regent's customer service is so poor it makes your local cable company look stellar. Three days into the cruise my wife developed a medical issue and we had to return home. Regent rearranged our flight arrangements, but charged us an exorbitant rate to do so. Then, after returning home, we were essentially dead to them. Even though they filled our cabin on the second leg of our 14 day cruise, they refused to give us any sort of credit for our trip or a future voyage. The company is more interested in making its quarterly earnings than treating customers right. We did not have travel insurance, and that was a mistake on our part, but it was disappointing to find that Regent was so tone deaf to a customer's unfortunate situation. Suffice to say, we won't be sailing on Regent again. Other issues - we first sailed on the Explorer last summer. The big evening shows (Paradis and My Revolution) were repeated from last year. Good shows, but is it too much to ask to refresh your entertainment every year? Does not encourage repeat customers. On the plus side, having five options for dinner each night (albeit 3 requiring reservations) is a great way to end the day. Our favorite was Setti Mari, which offered a great selection of Italian dishes and wines; while main courses are served, we also enjoyed being able to get our own salads and desert at the buffet. Have to come early however - folks arriving by 7:30 pm were often turned away due to the limited seating. We also liked the fact that excursions are included in the overall price and that there are several very good options from which to choose from each day. The main pool is a salt water pool (which is great to swim in) and rather large given the size of the ship. And unlike other cruises we have been on, the pool area is typically uncrowded - could always find an empty chaise lounge to relax in. Read Less
57 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2018
This was hands down the worse cruise out of 10 I’ve been on. They lie the second you make your first payment. If I can help out anyone from making an awful decision please choose somewhere else to cruise with. Don’t let the ALL an ... Read More
This was hands down the worse cruise out of 10 I’ve been on. They lie the second you make your first payment. If I can help out anyone from making an awful decision please choose somewhere else to cruise with. Don’t let the ALL an inclusive trick you. I would of much rather paid for better quality than what you get for free. The staff is rude the food is horrible and you have few options to eat at. Everyday you are at a port and ran from morning until night and then they MAKE you get dressed up just to walk around the boat not just to go to dinner. It was the worse trip of my life!! Everyday we docked or took off my room was up front I heard everything I got little sleep and was NOT even allowed to use my veranda because it distracted the bridge so why get a veranda then?!?!? I asked to move and they would down grade me 4 levels but would NOT refund the difference I paid for the suite versus down below they said it wasn’t the ships fault. I could go on and on BUT bottom line is this is a lying, horrible cruise company and steer clear enjoy your hard earned money somewhere else rather than paying them for abuse and bad food! And the entertainment is awful or should I say the lack of. Read Less
55 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2018
We thought Regent Seven Seas was a "premium" cruise line. It's not. From the first day there were problems. In our cabin, we tried to turn on the tv to see the safety information. The tv didn't work, so we tried to ... Read More
We thought Regent Seven Seas was a "premium" cruise line. It's not. From the first day there were problems. In our cabin, we tried to turn on the tv to see the safety information. The tv didn't work, so we tried to call someone to fix the tv. The phone didn't work either. One night we turned on the bathroom faucet and muddy, dirty water came out and didn't clear up until the next day or so. Another night the toilet didn't work. Our bathroom door wouldn't shut. After workmen came to fix it, when they left we tried to open it and the handle fell off. The food was mediocre. The waitstaff in the restaurants kept getting the orders wrong, or forgot to bring orders at all. The reception clerks were perfunctory and didn't seem to know what they were doing. The "unlimited" wi-fi either didn't work at all on some days or on other days it was intermittent and slow. There was a big leak in our bathroom. Our shower didn't drain, so we showered in pools of water. The women's public rest rooms had broken toilet seats and doors. The wallpaper on one of the walls in our cabin was peeling off, so workmen had to come in and replace it. We had hoped for a relaxing and pleasant cruise, but with the constant stream of workmen coming in and out of our cabin to fix things, it was one interruption after another. By the end of the cruise, I had a serious eye infection and both my wife and I had severe allergy problems, probably from exposure to all the work dust and fumes. Maybe things changed when Regent was taken over by Norwegian Cruise Lines and Apollo Mgt. That's what other passengers told us. They are obviously trying to cut back and have turned what may have once been an upscale cruise line into a mediocre one, certainly not worth the money they charge. Read Less
70 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
We just returned from our cruise on the Regent Seven Seas Mariner to Alaska, from Vancouver - Seward, sailing May 21-31, 2017. This was our first Regent Cruise and our last. We are experienced travelers, we dine out 3 - 4 times per ... Read More
We just returned from our cruise on the Regent Seven Seas Mariner to Alaska, from Vancouver - Seward, sailing May 21-31, 2017. This was our first Regent Cruise and our last. We are experienced travelers, we dine out 3 - 4 times per week, and I am a trained chef. We most recently cruised with Crystal in October 2016. The ship was beautifully appointed and our suite was wonderful. The crew in general was friendly, but they seemed unorganized and not well trained. Our room was generally not made up until mid-afternoon. While we took advantage of many excursions, this only became an issue on the days spent at sea. The primary reason I would not sail again with Regent is the poor dining room experience. We managed to try most of the dining options, including the Compass Rose, for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the Coffee Connection throughout the day, the Veranda for breakfast and lunch, the pool side buffet for Lunch, Sette Maria ,Signatures and Prime 7 for dinner. In general the quality of the food was only fair to good, and the selection about the same. Most disappointing was the cut of steaks being so thin, that it was impossible to receive anything but a medium well temperature. Rare was not an option. The second most disappointing issue with the food was the fact that on an Alaska Cruise, one could order Alaskan King Crab legs only once in seven days, and only at Prime 7. Big disappointment. And no Baked Alaska either. My friends who travel the other spectrum on Celebrity were scoffing at this. Even the selection and quality of breads and pastries at breakfast were meager. The service in the dining room was worse than the food. At breakfast buffet, juice was not offered at the tables. A coffee refill required one to be lucky enough to gain the attention of a server. The omlette station cook would touch his face and hair with the same hands (with glove on) that he used to cook and serve. I was served pancakes that were not cooked through. At a pool side Indian Buffet I was served cold food from the chafing dishes, and raw chicken from the grill. At dinner, I requested a Riesling White Wine, but when the sommelier would refill the glass, he would pour in the evening’s selection of a Chardonnay. I guess they are both white, so close enough. Likewise with the water. I would order Pelligrino, and get refills of ice water. I would request lemon and lime wedges with the water, and always had to ask twice. If a baked potato was ordered, I was not offered accoutrements. I would have to ask for butter or sour cream. The same when lobster tails or scallops were ordered. Where was the clarified butter? Coffee refills with dessert required the same looking for the server. As was a replacement for a dropped piece of silverware. By observation, most of the staff was untrained, did not learn how to work as a team, there was no Captain or Floor manager keeping eyes on the operation, and in general no one seemed to care. I did request to speak with the Restaurant Manager, who finally made an effort to talk to me, but only after our farewell dinner. His excuse was that this was early in the season, and the crew needed time to work together. This is not the Maiden Voyage of the Mariner, and I did not get a discounted rate for being on a training cruise for the staff. My last complaint was that my suitcase was damaged in the transfer to the ship from the pre-night in Vancouver at the Four Seasons Hotel. I reported this to reception before we set sail. I was told they would make an attempt to repair it for me in the carpentry shop. On the sixth night, I was told it could not be repaired. If made aware sooner, I could have purchased a replacement in a port, or had one shipped ahead of time to meet me in the next port. Instead, I was told I would receive a ship board credit to my account. At disembarkation, my final statement was not ready, and the credit was not applied. I did manage to get a $200 credit before I left the ship. Again, this is an indication of poor training and lack of supervision. I honestly must say, that passenger experiences on discount cruise ships have an overall more enjoyable experience than we did on Regent. PS: I had contacted the cruise line after this vacation. I received the usual corporate line, we are sorry you had some complaints, and we will strive to do better on your next cruise with us. They did not even offer a discount if we would sail again with them and give them a second chance. Read Less
30 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2017
this was not my expectation, and not my first cruise. It was a nightmare. never again. never ..they are awful. not according to their brochure. they have breached the contract with me, since i did pay and did not deliver what they had ... Read More
this was not my expectation, and not my first cruise. It was a nightmare. never again. never ..they are awful. not according to their brochure. they have breached the contract with me, since i did pay and did not deliver what they had promised. they should be reported to the health authorities. ship was 3 hours late, Bed bugs,was itching and my arm got bloody and then infected, and the ship doctor would no help me and said: what do you want me to do? dirty linen, bed vibrating, noises, my room under the pool, restaurant, under the chaises, chairs, no chairs for the pool, no one would help, i had to lay on the floor, no clean towels by the pool, from 6:00 am to 2:00 AM had not one moment peace because of my bed vibrating..my bed was vibrating for the entire trip, pillows smelled body odor, room service never came with the orders , missing always food, and the then food was served with fowl smell, horrifying service, fatty food, gym had al broken bikes, and equipment, spa? what spa. all leftovers, from the night before or no service at all. always ham or pork, never a decent meal. had to wait almost 2 hours for to be served. they would not add me to the big table to meet and sit with other, since i was traveling solo. awful entertainment, hardly anyone in the big theater. ship was flying, and i was wobbling for 10 days. hit my ring and i lost my emerald, the ship was going to fast but then found it. i had no sleep for 10 days, and then the staff, under the captain, called me in to ask me to sign a paper so i would not complain ever. they are a disgusting company and i am never going on another cruise as long as i live. i spend a fortune and now AMX is not even helping to withhold the funds and help me with this aggravated expense that i did not need to spend. Read Less
103 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2017
Our travel agent recommended this line. We have traveled extensively...more than 140 countries....and cruised on many cruise lines. We booked because of the itinerary. I have to say it was a horrible experience. There were multiple ... Read More
Our travel agent recommended this line. We have traveled extensively...more than 140 countries....and cruised on many cruise lines. We booked because of the itinerary. I have to say it was a horrible experience. There were multiple changes to the itinerary with little explanation which was very disappointing. My husband along with a number of other passengers became ill. The doctor on board was both incompetent and dishonest. My husband and I are both physicians. We were alarmed at his lack of knowledge. Our doc at home wanted to talk to him but he refused to talk/ email her. He lied about other ill passengers. He didn't understand his equipment or lab results. We were planning to go home and had told him that. He pushed us to go to local hospital and lied about his intent. Ultimately they put us off the ship one day before we had planned to leave! Our complaint to the president of the line, Jason M. Montague, went unanswered. I would never recommend this line to anyone! The food was poor, particularly on the deck at lunch. None of the restaurants were above average in our view. We were very disappointed in the excursions......we had liked the idea that all excursions were included but very disappointed to see it was virtually impossible to go on more than one tour per day.....all seemed to be scheduled at the same time. We found the cabin was very comfortable. We particularly liked the walk-in closet. The negative was that it seemed a bit shop worn. I wondered when it had last been refurbished. I will say the embarkation was well handled and the general staff was very pleasant and helpful. There were aspects of the ship we liked......the walking track, fitness etc. Much of our cruising in the past has included many lectures specifically geared to what we were seeing that day, that was not so on this trip. That was very disappointing to us. Perhaps that was because of the itinerary changed so frequently. We were particularly disappointed that Myanmar was eliminated. I suspect it was because of unrest but we were told it was because of water depth. There was a great deal of discussion about this, also upset. I believe the overall impression of the cruise for many seemed to be tarnished by the perceived dishonesty. Read Less
Already Booked?

Get to know who you’ll be sailing with

Find a Cruise

Email me when prices drop