Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
Sail Date: August 2019
If you are into hiking, it was fabulous. There is a trail out of Quidi Vidi (from the port, follow the trail by the lake which is pretty and well paved) that goes up the side of the mountain past North Head Trail Lookout and over to Signal ... Read More
If you are into hiking, it was fabulous. There is a trail out of Quidi Vidi (from the port, follow the trail by the lake which is pretty and well paved) that goes up the side of the mountain past North Head Trail Lookout and over to Signal Hill. From there, follow the North Head trail down - but be aware that there were portions that were tricky - down along the coast. The views are spectacular. If you don't want to hike all of that, there is a metro bus called Link which costs $10 for several tourist stops (it's not like a hop-on/hop-off bus but it will get you there). But definitely go to the top of Signal Hill. I also liked the Geo museum. It's not large but it's very educational for young and old and explains things well in everyday language. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
Walked the trail to Signal Hill which clings to the harbor side entrance like I did 10 years ago. Why was it so much harder? Ten years is why. Went to the Rooms Museum as well as walking the central city. I like St John's
Walked the trail to Signal Hill which clings to the harbor side entrance like I did 10 years ago. Why was it so much harder? Ten years is why. Went to the Rooms Museum as well as walking the central city. I like St John's Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: September 2018
Had great weather so hiked up to Cabot’s tower and then onto Qidi Vidi where we had a beer from the brewery. We hiked back. Hikers paradise. Town super cute with colourful buildings. Loads of volunteers met the ship which was awesome.
Had great weather so hiked up to Cabot’s tower and then onto Qidi Vidi where we had a beer from the brewery. We hiked back. Hikers paradise. Town super cute with colourful buildings. Loads of volunteers met the ship which was awesome. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
Got off the ship and walked through the town. Found a great pub and had some fantastic fish and chips.....not your standard fish, but fresh and a huge portion!
Got off the ship and walked through the town. Found a great pub and had some fantastic fish and chips.....not your standard fish, but fresh and a huge portion! Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2016
Lots of history to see. Reversing river and Revolutionary War sites are interesting. 4 of us rented a cab for 90 minutes=$60 and saw all we wanted.
Lots of history to see. Reversing river and Revolutionary War sites are interesting. 4 of us rented a cab for 90 minutes=$60 and saw all we wanted. Read Less
19 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2016
We berthed in the heart of the City and walked out to Signal Hill and Cabots Tower, stopping off for some refreshment ( and wifi) at the Chocolate Cafe on the way back, before walking around the Central Districts.
We berthed in the heart of the City and walked out to Signal Hill and Cabots Tower, stopping off for some refreshment ( and wifi) at the Chocolate Cafe on the way back, before walking around the Central Districts. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2016
Walked ALL around town with Canadian friends we met on ship. They were our tour guides. Used taxi to get from GeoMuseum to ship. Saw all the sites. Beautiful cruising out of the harbor that night, great view of lighthouse which we did ... Read More
Walked ALL around town with Canadian friends we met on ship. They were our tour guides. Used taxi to get from GeoMuseum to ship. Saw all the sites. Beautiful cruising out of the harbor that night, great view of lighthouse which we did not tour. Read Less
Sail Date: September 2015
We took the Hop-on/Hop-off bus. Excellent! We saw the entire city and the reversing rapids. We actually took the "B" tour twice and walked back along the path ~2 1/2 miles.
We took the Hop-on/Hop-off bus. Excellent! We saw the entire city and the reversing rapids. We actually took the "B" tour twice and walked back along the path ~2 1/2 miles. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2015
Stop at the Rocket bakery good food, good local beer, and on Tuesday local Keltic music played by locals who come in to play
Stop at the Rocket bakery good food, good local beer, and on Tuesday local Keltic music played by locals who come in to play Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2015
We were on deck for both the sail in and out of St John's and were very glad we were as ‘The Narrows’ really were narrow with good views to both sides. My brother and his wife live here so we had a tailor made day which was ... Read More
We were on deck for both the sail in and out of St John's and were very glad we were as ‘The Narrows’ really were narrow with good views to both sides. My brother and his wife live here so we had a tailor made day which was interesting as it was our first visit. We were taken to Cape Spear first which is the most westerly point of North America. Unfortunately the old lighthouse was not open, but we could see inside though the windows. We then went on a drive around the area and a stroll through an old fishing village. We were able to return to their house for lunch and later went up Signal Hill, unfortunately there were no views as the mist had drawn in. We went into the visitor centre on the way down, which had a video showing and a museum area. There was not much time left for the town, but it was a mix of old and new with a number of older wooden buildings in the historic area. We were told we must return to experience the nightlife area. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2015
Beautiful city. Took taxi to signal hill and Anglican Cathedral. Dropped off on main street about a block from ship. Great shopping. We were only there for about six hours. Should have been a full day.
Beautiful city. Took taxi to signal hill and Anglican Cathedral. Dropped off on main street about a block from ship. Great shopping. We were only there for about six hours. Should have been a full day. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2014
St John's is beautiful. Clean , friendly, and many different shops, markets and parks to walk about. Sadly we arrived here on Columbus day / Canadian Thanksgiving so many shops were closed. However it was such a nice place made me ... Read More
St John's is beautiful. Clean , friendly, and many different shops, markets and parks to walk about. Sadly we arrived here on Columbus day / Canadian Thanksgiving so many shops were closed. However it was such a nice place made me never want to leave. I would definitely recommend NOT taking a shore excursion because the town is within walking distance and is sadly overlooked by the excursions. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2012
We rented a cab for two hours and he took us to Signal Hill, Quidi Vidi, the Battery and to various sites around St. Johns. The view from Signal Hill is magnificent. We thoroughly enjoyed this stop and were glad that we took a cab to the ... Read More
We rented a cab for two hours and he took us to Signal Hill, Quidi Vidi, the Battery and to various sites around St. Johns. The view from Signal Hill is magnificent. We thoroughly enjoyed this stop and were glad that we took a cab to the places that we wanted to see. The cab driver was a great tour guide and we had the flexibility to go wherever we wanted. Read Less
Sail Date: August 2012
Very friendly and walkable city, hired a taxi for 1hr for $ 50 and went to Signal Hill, fishing village of Quidi Vidi, "Rooms" the Provincial Museums and Chruchs
Very friendly and walkable city, hired a taxi for 1hr for $ 50 and went to Signal Hill, fishing village of Quidi Vidi, "Rooms" the Provincial Museums and Chruchs Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: April 2012
Excellent port - greeted by an absolutely amazing Newfoundland Dog. Took taxi tour around the city and just loved going up Signal Hill where Marconi sent his first wireless message from England. Also saw the reanactment army.
Excellent port - greeted by an absolutely amazing Newfoundland Dog. Took taxi tour around the city and just loved going up Signal Hill where Marconi sent his first wireless message from England. Also saw the reanactment army. Read Less
Sail Date: September 2011
Best 10 was good with a little bit of everything. It did not leave much time to shop so if you want to do that pick a shorter trip. We got some great pictures. Tour guide did a nice job. Getting off the ship could be done a bit better as ... Read More
Best 10 was good with a little bit of everything. It did not leave much time to shop so if you want to do that pick a shorter trip. We got some great pictures. Tour guide did a nice job. Getting off the ship could be done a bit better as it is one mass exodus. Other cruise lines have you meet in certain areas and the tours that leave earliest are exited first. Our tour got a late start due to this factor. Read Less
Sail Date: September 2011
Although misty on arrival this soon burnt off. Although not big it was enjoyable just to walk around.
Although misty on arrival this soon burnt off. Although not big it was enjoyable just to walk around. Read Less
Sail Date: August 2011
Here we took a private tour from a cab company - sorry I don't remember who. This was great as our party of 4 had full control of our itenary. We got out of town and spent over an hour walking a beach with no other people on it. And ... Read More
Here we took a private tour from a cab company - sorry I don't remember who. This was great as our party of 4 had full control of our itenary. We got out of town and spent over an hour walking a beach with no other people on it. And saw all the sights while avoiding the tour buses - beautiful, unspoiled landscape Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2011
A very warm and friendly place, sadness at it being the last port but it was memorable for the very friendly people and for the spectacular harbour entrance/exit. I did not have space to review St John New Brunswick our other port, again ... Read More
A very warm and friendly place, sadness at it being the last port but it was memorable for the very friendly people and for the spectacular harbour entrance/exit. I did not have space to review St John New Brunswick our other port, again the people were nice but we caught it on a bad day it was very foggy and as a consequence looked rather drab and grey, which, I am sure it is not. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise