359 Sitka Cruise Reviews

Now, Sitka... beautiful. Stunning... wonderful walking town. I totally enjoyed our time there, even though it included tendering, which I sort of enjoy for the novelty of it.
Now, Sitka... beautiful. Stunning... wonderful walking town. I totally enjoyed our time there, even though it included tendering, which I sort of enjoy for the novelty of it. Read Less
Sail Date July 2015
We have been to Sitka many times before. We enjoy walking the trails taking in the beauty of Alaska.
We have been to Sitka many times before. We enjoy walking the trails taking in the beauty of Alaska. Read Less
Sail Date July 2015
Spent 2.5 days in Sitka prior to the cruise. Because the big boats do not dock, much less commercial than Juneau, for example. A lot to see and do besides shopping. Do not need a car but it does get you to some outlying areas
Spent 2.5 days in Sitka prior to the cruise. Because the big boats do not dock, much less commercial than Juneau, for example. A lot to see and do besides shopping. Do not need a car but it does get you to some outlying areas Read Less
Sail Date June 2015
Beautiful town, good for walking, many sites to see. Enjoyed rocky beach, museum, totem park, dinner at Homeport Deli. great sandwich. St. Michael's church was interesting.
Beautiful town, good for walking, many sites to see. Enjoyed rocky beach, museum, totem park, dinner at Homeport Deli. great sandwich. St. Michael's church was interesting. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
Cute little town. walked around alot. Especially interesting is the nature/science center there.
Cute little town. walked around alot. Especially interesting is the nature/science center there. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
Sitka hasn't changed as much as the other towns. Still one of my favorites. I liked the totem park and the Raptor Rehabilitation Center. The Russian architecture is also interesting.
Sitka hasn't changed as much as the other towns. Still one of my favorites. I liked the totem park and the Raptor Rehabilitation Center. The Russian architecture is also interesting. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
This time, the ship docked way out in the boonies, and we had to wait and wait for shuttle buses to take us into town. Not pleasant. Easier to tender in, but another ship was already in that space. Sitka is magical sailing in among the ... Read More
This time, the ship docked way out in the boonies, and we had to wait and wait for shuttle buses to take us into town. Not pleasant. Easier to tender in, but another ship was already in that space. Sitka is magical sailing in among the little islands in the mist. It's fun to just walk around there. Sample the local fare, take some scenic pictures. This was our second time to Sitka so we didn't take any excursions. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
There is no reason to bother getting off the ship in this port. Not enough to see and do. Maybe it's worthwhile if you take an excursion to take you out of town.
There is no reason to bother getting off the ship in this port. Not enough to see and do. Maybe it's worthwhile if you take an excursion to take you out of town. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
Great little town, a bit chaotic at the port with ground crew telling passengers 1 thing and then another the next minute
Great little town, a bit chaotic at the port with ground crew telling passengers 1 thing and then another the next minute Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
Got a coffee and Internet at Highliner Coffee (local place with great pastries). We did Fortress of the Bear on our own, which was very cool. It’s essentially a rescue center for the Black and Brown bears, and a GREAT way to see them up ... Read More
Got a coffee and Internet at Highliner Coffee (local place with great pastries). We did Fortress of the Bear on our own, which was very cool. It’s essentially a rescue center for the Black and Brown bears, and a GREAT way to see them up close (think rustic Zoo). If you’re not planning an excursion where you may see them in the wild, go. It’s highly worth it. We also got Black Cod tips from a street vendor on the way back to the ship (absolutely delicious if you like Chilean Seabass), took a long walk to Totem Pole Park which was lovely, and ate at the Westmark, which was ok, but we could have snacked on the Black Cod more! Also went to the Raptor rescue center, which was defintiely worth the visit (especially the walk in the woods surrounding the center). Good day. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
We planned or own excursions....went to St, Michael's Russian Orthodox Cathedral...Really some beautiful art and of course history. One place we went was the National Cemetery which a lot of folks didn't know about it. From ... Read More
We planned or own excursions....went to St, Michael's Russian Orthodox Cathedral...Really some beautiful art and of course history. One place we went was the National Cemetery which a lot of folks didn't know about it. From there went to the Totem Park.....a walk through the forest. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
Visited St. Michaels Russian Orthodox Church. Had great chowdah at Ludwigs Chowder on the way to Totem Park. I need 150 characters to finish this portion of the review and why I don't know.
Visited St. Michaels Russian Orthodox Church. Had great chowdah at Ludwigs Chowder on the way to Totem Park. I need 150 characters to finish this portion of the review and why I don't know. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
It is interesting to visit some ports where there is such a mixed history such as Sitka. The Russian origins give it some unique heritage and it mixes with the Indian culture. We mainly walked around and enjoyed the serenity of the place
It is interesting to visit some ports where there is such a mixed history such as Sitka. The Russian origins give it some unique heritage and it mixes with the Indian culture. We mainly walked around and enjoyed the serenity of the place Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
We enjoyed walking around Sitka. We saw the Archangel Dancers at the visitor's center and liked their show. A very nice town for walking. Next time I will head straight to Totem Park.
We enjoyed walking around Sitka. We saw the Archangel Dancers at the visitor's center and liked their show. A very nice town for walking. Next time I will head straight to Totem Park. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
We enjoyed walking about Sitka. We enjoyed the cathedral, and learning about the Russian history of this delightful little town. Found a wonderful art gallery, with locals painted into paintings...very cool.
We enjoyed walking about Sitka. We enjoyed the cathedral, and learning about the Russian history of this delightful little town. Found a wonderful art gallery, with locals painted into paintings...very cool. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
This was my personal favorite port, perhaps because when we got to the center of town we met a little girl selling homemade cookies, 2 for $3. Also found a great shop, the Fisherman's Eye, I think, across the street from the Lutheran ... Read More
This was my personal favorite port, perhaps because when we got to the center of town we met a little girl selling homemade cookies, 2 for $3. Also found a great shop, the Fisherman's Eye, I think, across the street from the Lutheran church. There I bought one of my all-time fave travel souvenirs--a sterling silver sardine can, lid wound back & with 4 articulated sardines inside. I bought the last 1 of 3 the low-pressure shopowner had, but I'm sure he'll have more. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
Nice little town, lots of walking. The information provided by bus drivers was interesting even though we were not on an excursion, just a ride into town
Nice little town, lots of walking. The information provided by bus drivers was interesting even though we were not on an excursion, just a ride into town Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
The. ship docked instead of tenders. The town provides free shuttles into town. Walked around viewing the historic buildings and attended the Native dancing.
The. ship docked instead of tenders. The town provides free shuttles into town. Walked around viewing the historic buildings and attended the Native dancing. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
We thought Sitka was beautiful, and apparently we were lucky with the weather. Some of the locals said it was usually cold and wet. Even they couldn't believe how nice it was.
We thought Sitka was beautiful, and apparently we were lucky with the weather. Some of the locals said it was usually cold and wet. Even they couldn't believe how nice it was. Read Less
Sail Date April 2015
Beautiful landscape a nice and clean little village ,very well maintained and organiced, beautiful little forest with impressive trees. The tab water is of a much hight quality, than the drinking(?)water of the ship. Alaskas nature must ... Read More
Beautiful landscape a nice and clean little village ,very well maintained and organiced, beautiful little forest with impressive trees. The tab water is of a much hight quality, than the drinking(?)water of the ship. Alaskas nature must be very beautiful, but nothing much to see from the ship. The straight between Victoria Island and the mainland must bebeautiful, but the ship was cruising there mostly during the (dark) night. Read Less
Sail Date March 2015
This is a lovely, small historic town.We decided to follow a walking tour that I had found on the Sitka town website. It started us downtown, which is where our ship shuttle had dropped us off and we decided to visit the furthest areas ... Read More
This is a lovely, small historic town.We decided to follow a walking tour that I had found on the Sitka town website. It started us downtown, which is where our ship shuttle had dropped us off and we decided to visit the furthest areas first. We went to the National Historic Park and followed one of the two possible trails. It's a fairly easy walk with spots to rest.We came across a bridge that looked over many spanning salmon - very interesting to see. From here we went to the Alaska Raptor Center. This is an interesting spot to visit and they talk to you about the injured birds. Some birds are rehabilitated and can be released back to the wild, others become permanent residents of the Center.On the advice of one of one of the employees we went back through the forest as it was shorter. We based several Russian historical sites and did a bit of shopping in the Ben Franklin store before going back to the ship. Read Less
Sail Date September 2014
We hired a private cab (split with other cruisers) and this was a great way to see the sights. I knew what "tendering" was, but did not understand how we would get from the ship to the dock. There were 3 boats which looked just ... Read More
We hired a private cab (split with other cruisers) and this was a great way to see the sights. I knew what "tendering" was, but did not understand how we would get from the ship to the dock. There were 3 boats which looked just like the lifeboats, which were on the ship and which were lowered to the water -- then passengers were ferried back and forth in small groups the entire time, as they wanted. Read Less
Sail Date September 2014

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click