359 Sitka Cruise Reviews

We might move here. (lol) there is so much to see. We lucked out and found the community center and watched a local tribal dance and show.
We might move here. (lol) there is so much to see. We lucked out and found the community center and watched a local tribal dance and show. Read Less
Sail Date June 2016
Everything was close to the ship. They took you from the ship and dropped you off in town. a lot of historical stuff; and the national park had a nice tour of the Totem poles. also visit the Raptor Center.
Everything was close to the ship. They took you from the ship and dropped you off in town. a lot of historical stuff; and the national park had a nice tour of the Totem poles. also visit the Raptor Center. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
The National Historic Park has a visitor's center with totem carving and leather tanning demonstrations, and Alaska Raptor Center was excellent, including a rain forest hike.
The National Historic Park has a visitor's center with totem carving and leather tanning demonstrations, and Alaska Raptor Center was excellent, including a rain forest hike. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
As we were leaving Sitka an american eagle landed on the dock.
As we were leaving Sitka an american eagle landed on the dock. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
We went to the Sitka Sound and Science Center and had a great time. Small but educational, they had areas that you could view and touch the sea life. Check out the gift shop for the best sourdough bread and chowder around.
We went to the Sitka Sound and Science Center and had a great time. Small but educational, they had areas that you could view and touch the sea life. Check out the gift shop for the best sourdough bread and chowder around. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
We had a wonderful time exploring Sitka on foot. It was a mild, sunny day and we walked through the Totem Trail and then visited an old cemetery that made for beautiful hiking.
We had a wonderful time exploring Sitka on foot. It was a mild, sunny day and we walked through the Totem Trail and then visited an old cemetery that made for beautiful hiking. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
We toured on our own by using the native hop on/hop off bus. We saw the totem poles at the Sitka National History Park, then went to the Raptor Rescue Center, followed by a tour of the Russian Orthodox Church and finally took a cab to the ... Read More
We toured on our own by using the native hop on/hop off bus. We saw the totem poles at the Sitka National History Park, then went to the Raptor Rescue Center, followed by a tour of the Russian Orthodox Church and finally took a cab to the Fortress of the Bear which rescues orphaned bears. It was a fantastic day and we did it for less than $50 a person. That included 3 entrance fees and 2 different forms of transportation. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
Probably the biggest reason why I took this cruise and it did not disappoint. Mind you I lucked out with the weather. The clear blue sky made for the snow-capped mountains and clear lake some spectacular scenery. There is a free shuttle ... Read More
Probably the biggest reason why I took this cruise and it did not disappoint. Mind you I lucked out with the weather. The clear blue sky made for the snow-capped mountains and clear lake some spectacular scenery. There is a free shuttle ride into town & you are dropped off at a parking lot area which with luck not far is the public library where I went in for a half an hour to use their free WIFI. I sat in the lounge looking out the window at the spectacular scenery. Since the ship docked from 1pm to 9pm, the last shuttle leaving for the ship is 8 pm. I did my own thing and just walked around this lovely town. Lots to see from St. Michaels Church to Baranof Castle State Historic Site to get a spectacular view of Sitka. Went inside the Russian Museum (closes at 5) but had 15 minutes to quickly look around (the ground level is free). Further down the street is Peter by the Sea Church. Just get yourself a good map (I printed one off online) and enjoy Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
I can't walk very far but was able to take the bus to town and then walk past the onion dome church to get a good view of the Russian blockhouse. Pretty little town.
I can't walk very far but was able to take the bus to town and then walk past the onion dome church to get a good view of the Russian blockhouse. Pretty little town. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
Another interesting town with a strong Russian influence. Some beautiful buildings and a very interesting and unconventional cemetery.
Another interesting town with a strong Russian influence. Some beautiful buildings and a very interesting and unconventional cemetery. Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
We went into town and walked the downtown area. There is a nice old church here and it was the running of them boots the day we were there so that was fun. Weather not good today, rained so cut walking around short.
We went into town and walked the downtown area. There is a nice old church here and it was the running of them boots the day we were there so that was fun. Weather not good today, rained so cut walking around short. Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
Sitka probably would have gotten 5 stars if it hadn't been absolutely pouring. There was a free shuttle from the ship to the town (5 miles away) and then another free shuttle in the downtown area. We walked alongside the waterfront ... Read More
Sitka probably would have gotten 5 stars if it hadn't been absolutely pouring. There was a free shuttle from the ship to the town (5 miles away) and then another free shuttle in the downtown area. We walked alongside the waterfront and visited the Park Service Cultural Center. They had a free movie, totem carving demonstrations and beautiful woodland paths to walk around. On our way back it began to really pour so we ducked into the library. We waited out the worst of the rain and checked our email for free. By the time we made it back to the shuttle, we were sopping wet. It was a disappointment that we couldn't see the surrounding mountains due to the weather but it was still a beautiful town. Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
The ship normally tenders here but due to rough seas, the captain got permission to dock at a loading dock (appeared to be). We were bussed into town and from there we purchased a $5 shuttle to Fortress of the Bears and paid a $10 ... Read More
The ship normally tenders here but due to rough seas, the captain got permission to dock at a loading dock (appeared to be). We were bussed into town and from there we purchased a $5 shuttle to Fortress of the Bears and paid a $10 entrance fee. This was an awesome stop and we loved seeing the bears. They seemed to enjoy their habitat and it is better than the alternative for these orphans. Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
Not many cruise lines go here - it is a great city! Great Russian/American history with Native American culture. Get out to the Totem park for all kinds of free tours and demonstrations. Walk through the forest.
Not many cruise lines go here - it is a great city! Great Russian/American history with Native American culture. Get out to the Totem park for all kinds of free tours and demonstrations. Walk through the forest. Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
We just went downtown and did some shopping. It was fun and we love Sitka. May travel back there for a few days as there's far more to see and do that we had time or energy for.
We just went downtown and did some shopping. It was fun and we love Sitka. May travel back there for a few days as there's far more to see and do that we had time or energy for. Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
We visited the Raptor Center and it was one of the highlights of the cruise. The staff and volunteers at the Center are very dedicated and provided us with lots of information about their birds. So enthusiastic about their work. Also ... Read More
We visited the Raptor Center and it was one of the highlights of the cruise. The staff and volunteers at the Center are very dedicated and provided us with lots of information about their birds. So enthusiastic about their work. Also highly recommend watching a Russian folkloric performance by the New Archangel Dancers. Read Less
Sail Date August 2015
This is a delightful port. Our first time to visit and so glad we did. The highlights are the Russian heritage and influence on building construction. The Orthodox Cathedral was beautiful. The museum was also a worthwhile visit. The ... Read More
This is a delightful port. Our first time to visit and so glad we did. The highlights are the Russian heritage and influence on building construction. The Orthodox Cathedral was beautiful. The museum was also a worthwhile visit. The harbor is really pretty and there is an awesome view from the hill which requires a short hike. Free shuttle was offered from dock to harbor. Lots of tours to choose from there, as well as a shuttle to other parts of the town for $1. The Raptor Center is highly recommended, but book a tour for this, as the bus will take you there, but the lines are so long to enter the center and the bus back, that we were afraid to miss our departure time, so didn't go in. Read Less
Sail Date August 2015

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click