Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2018
We went ashore on the transport boat to find only a few tents with very aggressive vendors selling cheap trinkets. There was a beach bar and you could pay for a lounge chair. Most passengers mistakenly thought we would be on the main ... Read More
We went ashore on the transport boat to find only a few tents with very aggressive vendors selling cheap trinkets. There was a beach bar and you could pay for a lounge chair. Most passengers mistakenly thought we would be on the main island of the Domincan Republic and that we could explore an actual town. The only nice, clean area on the little island of Samana was off-limits to us--for guests only. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2017
Nothing but encounters with locals trying to sell tours and souvenirs as you walk along a not too attractive promenade towards town.
Nothing but encounters with locals trying to sell tours and souvenirs as you walk along a not too attractive promenade towards town. Read Less
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get tomorrow's price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email
15 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2016
I liked the dancers as we came onto shore but wasn't pleased how the locals pounced on us as we arrived...it was a bit scary!
I liked the dancers as we came onto shore but wasn't pleased how the locals pounced on us as we arrived...it was a bit scary! Read Less
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2016
We did not go ashore and after hearing other peoples' tender experiences, we knew we had made the right decision. This could be a decent port IF you have an excursion planned and are physically fit.
We did not go ashore and after hearing other peoples' tender experiences, we knew we had made the right decision. This could be a decent port IF you have an excursion planned and are physically fit. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: January 2016
Hammish the Cruise Director stated the night before we arrived that there was not much to see. Plus the Zika virus was in the Dominican Republic. So, we stayed on the ship.
Hammish the Cruise Director stated the night before we arrived that there was not much to see. Plus the Zika virus was in the Dominican Republic. So, we stayed on the ship. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2015
Nice places to see, but the social environment is unplaisant. Dress without blink more than anywhere else if you want get less attention from everyone trying to get "a dollar" for anything.
Nice places to see, but the social environment is unplaisant. Dress without blink more than anywhere else if you want get less attention from everyone trying to get "a dollar" for anything. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2015
There was a lot of problems with the excursion and not all of them were the dive shop's fault. Very rough seas and bad tender service put us way behind schedule. Being very rushed my party (4) opted out of the second dive and took ... Read More
There was a lot of problems with the excursion and not all of them were the dive shop's fault. Very rough seas and bad tender service put us way behind schedule. Being very rushed my party (4) opted out of the second dive and took advantage of the noon meal which was enjoyable. I was disappointed in the dive boat and operation. Read Less
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2015
Don't even get off the ship. Dirty island with people waiting to rip you off. Avoid any excursions at port side because they don't give you what they promised. Dollar is strong here so negotiate everything.
Don't even get off the ship. Dirty island with people waiting to rip you off. Avoid any excursions at port side because they don't give you what they promised. Dollar is strong here so negotiate everything. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2015
We did pay for this tour. At the evening before, the Cruise Director told all attendees at the end of the comedian's performance (Noodles Levine- and he was AWFUL) that what would happen would be that everyone who had a shore ... Read More
We did pay for this tour. At the evening before, the Cruise Director told all attendees at the end of the comedian's performance (Noodles Levine- and he was AWFUL) that what would happen would be that everyone who had a shore excursion planned through the ship would be taken via tender to this little island that had no services, very few trees, and no access to the Resorts. He even said: "I asked the Captain why we were stopping, and the Captain told me that it was just for refueling." Had we known that BEFORE the night prior to arriving, we would have cancelled the shore excursion and gotten our money back. We opted to stay on the boat and read. Interesting that we heard an announcement for the cruisers who were going to the beach in the afternoon: "There are very few trees- take your umbrellas from your staterooms." Oceania should consider working with the Resorts, or just be up front about the valuelessness of this stop to guests on the boat. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Other Cruise Line Cruise Reviews from Samana and Cayo Levantado

Other Cruise Styles from Samana and Cayo Levantado Reviews