103 Puntarenas (Puerto Caldera) Cruise Reviews

We hired a driver from the Thumbs Up tour company and he took us on a leisurely drive to see many places. We enjoy having the freedom to stay longer or skip places that are on other organized tours.
We hired a driver from the Thumbs Up tour company and he took us on a leisurely drive to see many places. We enjoy having the freedom to stay longer or skip places that are on other organized tours. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
Best tour of the entire cruise. Guide was knowledgeable, personable, and informative about her country. Naturalists the same and very enthusiastic about the environment. Lunch was delicious, esp. the plantains.
Best tour of the entire cruise. Guide was knowledgeable, personable, and informative about her country. Naturalists the same and very enthusiastic about the environment. Lunch was delicious, esp. the plantains. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
-Puntarenas Costa Rica- This country is gorgeous and the people were amazing!! you can tell that most people live comfortably, and poverty is not very visible like in other countries. It is also a very safe country to visit. We did a ... Read More
-Puntarenas Costa Rica- This country is gorgeous and the people were amazing!! you can tell that most people live comfortably, and poverty is not very visible like in other countries. It is also a very safe country to visit. We did a private excursion with Chico and he was amazing!!! He has a brand new 14 passenger van, and we were the only 6 with him.. he took us EVERYWHERE!! Went to almost every place the cruise excursions went to, and we had lunch at an amazing restaurant up high in the tropical rain forrest.. it was open air and the views were breathtaking!! He also took us to a private monkey habitat.. and we had the best time.. monkeys everywhere..and they climb right on you and you feed them fruit. it was sooo much fun and only $3 a person... we also bought some arts and craft and water there.. was just the best experience! We also went and saw the crocodiles.. the rain forrest, the volcano, wild life.. beautiful parrots and birds... went shopping.. had great great delicious milkshakes and smoothies... of all the ports, Costa Rica was our favorite country and we hope to return and spend some time there! Read Less
Sail Date March 2019
The shopping directly RIGHT off the ship was wonderful with extremely friendly people! There were two places that I counted to get food or drinks and areas to sit down! Local people very friendly and NOT PUSHY
The shopping directly RIGHT off the ship was wonderful with extremely friendly people! There were two places that I counted to get food or drinks and areas to sit down! Local people very friendly and NOT PUSHY Read Less
Sail Date March 2019
We really enjoyed the train ride and the commentary of our Guide. I would recommend this tour if you are interested in local people and how they really live.
We really enjoyed the train ride and the commentary of our Guide. I would recommend this tour if you are interested in local people and how they really live. Read Less
Sail Date February 2019
We booked a private tour with Gio Tours.We did this because we wanted a small group and only a half day tour Gio tours allowed us to plan this ourselves so we went to a monkey viewing area and a macaw sanctuary with a little tour of the ... Read More
We booked a private tour with Gio Tours.We did this because we wanted a small group and only a half day tour Gio tours allowed us to plan this ourselves so we went to a monkey viewing area and a macaw sanctuary with a little tour of the city an were back on board by 1PM. The other tours were much too long for us and too crowded!! I highly recommend Gio Tours! We didn't pay until we were there and they were very responsive by e mail They were waiting on the dock with a sign with my name and the guide Adonys Cruz was especially helpful and knowleadgeable!! You can reach him directly on g mail at Adonystourguide(I think) He is also on facebook. Read Less
Sail Date December 2018
again this is a part we've been to multiple times so we took private transportation as we knew exactly where we wanted to go. We had a very good experience and turn to the ship very safely. I would not hesitate to pick up a private ... Read More
again this is a part we've been to multiple times so we took private transportation as we knew exactly where we wanted to go. We had a very good experience and turn to the ship very safely. I would not hesitate to pick up a private car and have a private tour in this area. Read Less
Sail Date December 2018
The five stars is for the trip we went on with Odyssey Tours. Just the two of us, taken to see some fantastic wildlife and interesting places. And it was still cheaper than the ship's tour!
The five stars is for the trip we went on with Odyssey Tours. Just the two of us, taken to see some fantastic wildlife and interesting places. And it was still cheaper than the ship's tour! Read Less
Sail Date October 2018

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click