190 Port Vila Cruise Reviews

We had been to Port Vila previously to see how it had changed - for the better. Grat place for Duty Free Shopping - look for the yellow building in town.
We had been to Port Vila previously to see how it had changed - for the better. Grat place for Duty Free Shopping - look for the yellow building in town. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
i will still rate this port as one of my favourite ( fabulous duty free ) and you can now get a water taxi ( $5.00 ) into the town if that is all you want to do. but venture outside and barter for a cab ( dont pay until you get back - ... Read More
i will still rate this port as one of my favourite ( fabulous duty free ) and you can now get a water taxi ( $5.00 ) into the town if that is all you want to do. but venture outside and barter for a cab ( dont pay until you get back - around 50.00 - 70.00 is all we EVER pay) this does not include any entrance fees remember but much cheaper to do this than buying on board. We have done the waterfalls a couple of times and the driver will usually chat on the way and point out some interest points. This current cruise I was a bit scared (yes scared) on the wharf trying to get out as the drivers who are waiting to grab a deal with you became quite ferocious in their attempts to get your business to the point the security and the police forceably had to push them back to allow access to passengers to get out the wharf gate - I have sent a complaint to the Vila authorities to voice my concerns - hopefully this wont happen again as its such a beautiful place and gorgeous people. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
Didi our own tour here, Blue lagoon was very touristy and wouldnt recommend it. Try and go to a remote part of the Island if you can. Waterfalls are well worth a visit.
Didi our own tour here, Blue lagoon was very touristy and wouldnt recommend it. Try and go to a remote part of the Island if you can. Waterfalls are well worth a visit. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
We did private tour with Vlia Hope Port Vila, we went to a cultural village, the Raru waterfalls, the Blue Lagoon where a nice lunch was provided and the to the Duty free shopping place in Vila before returning. A great day.
We did private tour with Vlia Hope Port Vila, we went to a cultural village, the Raru waterfalls, the Blue Lagoon where a nice lunch was provided and the to the Duty free shopping place in Vila before returning. A great day. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
Apart from the rain and getting through the taxis, it was very nice, even going to turtle cove which wasn't expensive and worth the visit, the blue lagoon and waterfalls were over priced for what was on offer.
Apart from the rain and getting through the taxis, it was very nice, even going to turtle cove which wasn't expensive and worth the visit, the blue lagoon and waterfalls were over priced for what was on offer. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
Very much enjoyed the visit to the village next to a gorgeous beach. Ate fresh fruit, purchased some inexpensive items and enjoyed the warriors' singing, dancing as well as the lecture from the Chief of the village. We rode in 9 ... Read More
Very much enjoyed the visit to the village next to a gorgeous beach. Ate fresh fruit, purchased some inexpensive items and enjoyed the warriors' singing, dancing as well as the lecture from the Chief of the village. We rode in 9 passenger vans. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
Port Vila, Vanuatu is the BEST port of them all in my opinion. Beautiful town surrounded by breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and other islands, clean and fresh air, clear blue-green-aquamarine-colored ocean. When we got ... Read More
Port Vila, Vanuatu is the BEST port of them all in my opinion. Beautiful town surrounded by breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and other islands, clean and fresh air, clear blue-green-aquamarine-colored ocean. When we got off the port my husband and I walked a short distance through a winding path with tents filled with merchandise and souvenirs and their vendors. Very colorful, interesting, lots of beautiful handmade things to buy for souvenirs. Once we exited, we decided to take the water taxi, rather than taking the bus or walking to town. We made the best choice, for the ride on the open water taxi (it was really a medium-sized canoe with a single motor engine) was wonderful and the scenery was breathtakingly beautiful. Camera-worthy all the way. Port Vila is a beautiful, tiny town filled with quaint and colorful little shops overflowing with goods and merchandise. Beautiful souvenirs, reasonable prices. Many places to eat. There is even a Filipino restaurant serving authentic native dishes. Cooked visibly. Cooks and sellers wore gloves. Hygienic. Delicious food. Port Vila is peopled with wonderful, warm, and friendly natives, so relaxed and so Happy (!), even if they have little possessions. The children talk and play well with other children and are respectful towards adults. Every one of the natives that we met is warm, friendly and wore an easy and sincere smile to us tourists. When we got back to the ship later that day, we were out in our balcony located in the forward section (10500) of the ship. From the distance, on the dock where the water taxis were and have since left and now empty with people because our ship was soon to depart, I saw a funny but heartwarming scene: a lone male islander (one of the water taxi "drivers", was stretched supinely, asleep on top of the staircase wall that leads down to the water taxis. The wall looked quite uncomfortable for it was made of stone, yet the man was clearly deep in slumber on his back with his hands clasped over his chest and a hat over his face. Then came along two young boys--about 7 or 8 years in age. Clearly with mischief in their minds, one picked up a long stick and gently tapped the sleeping man's hat, while the other was dropping leaves taken from the bushes nearby onto the man's bare lower legs. At first the sleeping man twitched one leg, then the other. Still asleep. The boys continued their mischief for a few minutes. Finally, the man was awakened, took off his hat, and still lying on his back admonished the two boys with his finger. He did not yell, nor did he look angry. He went back and continued his nap. The young boys remained as they were, but were more well-behaved, talking nicely to each other. A few minutes later, the man finally got up and walked along with the two boys who took each of his hand, to a waiting van with a woman (perhaps his wife) in the driver seat. The woman lovingly looked at the man, the man leaned over and kissed her. The boys smiled and got inside the van as well and they drove off, happy. Port Vila, Vanuatu is an underdeveloped country. However, its people are Happy and content, despite 75% living in rural areas and living off the land and with little possessions. The Vanuatu natives are considered the happiest in the world, according to a TV documentary shown in the ship. We who live in affluence and developed countries can learn from their example of simple style of living. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
Cheap grog shop being cleaned up but still prices low. Been may times but found a good alley with nice cafe good coffee and cheap cold beer.
Cheap grog shop being cleaned up but still prices low. Been may times but found a good alley with nice cafe good coffee and cheap cold beer. Read Less
Sail Date October 2019
Excellent port for Duty Free alcohol and Nike merchandise, food and shoes etc. In Yellow building. Fantastic water taxi ride into town past the Irrarikki Resort. Cheap and safe, pay as you go. Nice markets in town and other small ... Read More
Excellent port for Duty Free alcohol and Nike merchandise, food and shoes etc. In Yellow building. Fantastic water taxi ride into town past the Irrarikki Resort. Cheap and safe, pay as you go. Nice markets in town and other small shops. Good port and many markets next to the ship as well as you exit out of port secure area. Read Less
Sail Date October 2019
Transfers were fast and easy, and the tour was great. It was not cheap, but my children loved it.
Transfers were fast and easy, and the tour was great. It was not cheap, but my children loved it. Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
Took the water taxi rise to the end of town did a little duty free shopping had a drink and used wifi while waiting for the taxi back to the ship 2 hours later
Took the water taxi rise to the end of town did a little duty free shopping had a drink and used wifi while waiting for the taxi back to the ship 2 hours later Read Less
Sail Date April 2019
So much fun! Pool noodle, flippers and snorkel/mask provided. Loved it!
So much fun! Pool noodle, flippers and snorkel/mask provided. Loved it! Read Less
Sail Date April 2019
Made our own arrangements here and had a great day touring the Islands iconic hot spots. Blue Lagoon etc
Made our own arrangements here and had a great day touring the Islands iconic hot spots. Blue Lagoon etc Read Less
Sail Date April 2019
Unfortunately it was torrential rain while we were there. We didn't book anything because the main place we were excited about was Mystery Island - for a nice relaxing beach day. It was the first time this ship had ever been to ... Read More
Unfortunately it was torrential rain while we were there. We didn't book anything because the main place we were excited about was Mystery Island - for a nice relaxing beach day. It was the first time this ship had ever been to Port Vila so they closed down the main street and had markets set up - it was nice to have a bit of a walk around but unfortunate about the very heavy rain. Note - it was a VERY long line to get a tender! Read Less
Sail Date March 2019
Went to The Reef Vanuatu Zoological and blue lagoon. Long ride on bumpy roads.
Went to The Reef Vanuatu Zoological and blue lagoon. Long ride on bumpy roads. Read Less
Sail Date February 2019

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click