7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Looking at previous reviews this port should not be used by Marella as it cannot cope with the numbers - the fault may be the incompetence of Marella
Looking at previous reviews this port should not be used by Marella as it cannot cope with the numbers - the fault may be the incompetence of Marella Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Embarkation and disembarkation took minutes. Very easy. We had to take a shuttle the 100m from the terminal to the ship but on our return we found we were allowed to walk it (which made things even quicker!)
Embarkation and disembarkation took minutes. Very easy. We had to take a shuttle the 100m from the terminal to the ship but on our return we found we were allowed to walk it (which made things even quicker!) Read Less
12 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2018
Tyne, UK: Many took tours to Newcastle but we decided to stay in Tyne. We decided to take the free port shuttle into town and look around. We headed towards the Tynmouth priory and Castle for a look see. Just when you think you’ve had ... Read More
Tyne, UK: Many took tours to Newcastle but we decided to stay in Tyne. We decided to take the free port shuttle into town and look around. We headed towards the Tynmouth priory and Castle for a look see. Just when you think you’ve had your fill of castles and cathedrals we stumble upon the remains of a castle, priory, and cemetery at such a spectacular setting. Paid $6gbp and spent a few hours on the site. The views were spectacular. We wandered through town and headed back to the shuttle pickup spot. On the way back to the ship, we got dropped off at an outlet mall 10 minutes from the ship. DW did some shopping while I got caught up with the free WIFI available. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
Took a cab into downtown Newcastle (which is cheaper and faster than using the ship's shuttle). Newcastle was bigger and had more going on than we realized.
Took a cab into downtown Newcastle (which is cheaper and faster than using the ship's shuttle). Newcastle was bigger and had more going on than we realized. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2018
We checked out Wallsend to see Hadrian's wall and South Shields where there is also the remains of a Roman fort. We had time to take the subway to Newcastle-upon-Tyne, as well. It was fine, but really nothing very exciting.
We checked out Wallsend to see Hadrian's wall and South Shields where there is also the remains of a Roman fort. We had time to take the subway to Newcastle-upon-Tyne, as well. It was fine, but really nothing very exciting. Read Less
14 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2018
The Port of Tyne was absolutely brilliant both at the beginning and end of our holiday. It was just so easy getting on board. We didn’t even have any passport checks at the end of the holiday, just got the coach to the car park and ... Read More
The Port of Tyne was absolutely brilliant both at the beginning and end of our holiday. It was just so easy getting on board. We didn’t even have any passport checks at the end of the holiday, just got the coach to the car park and picked up our cases and off we went home. Read Less
Sail Date: May 2018
The town itself was ordinary . What made our time on shore exceptional was taking a tour of the tunnel. Excellent!!!!!! A real must. So much history and interesting facts/trivia.
The town itself was ordinary . What made our time on shore exceptional was taking a tour of the tunnel. Excellent!!!!!! A real must. So much history and interesting facts/trivia. Read Less
21 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
It was to far to go into Newcastle,been there several times before,so opted for the bus to the metro centre which was ok
It was to far to go into Newcastle,been there several times before,so opted for the bus to the metro centre which was ok Read Less
18 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
The bus was laid on to take us from the port back to Dundee. We collected our cases quickly and were on our way very quickly.
The bus was laid on to take us from the port back to Dundee. We collected our cases quickly and were on our way very quickly. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
Trip here was very informative, Durham is great place to visit.
Trip here was very informative, Durham is great place to visit. Read Less
9 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
We loved Newcastle. Took the shuttle to a Metro station and travelled to the city. After exploring the shops, we went on the Metro to South Shields a journey of about thirty minutes. Unfortunately when we got there the heavens opened ... Read More
We loved Newcastle. Took the shuttle to a Metro station and travelled to the city. After exploring the shops, we went on the Metro to South Shields a journey of about thirty minutes. Unfortunately when we got there the heavens opened and we were unable to go by ferry to North Shields where our ship was birthed and had to return on the Metro. Had a nice day there. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
Great city, would like to return. Public transportation is easy to use. We were able to visit the castle easily since we bought our tickets in advance online, this allowing us time to visit the yatch located outside the city center. Did ... Read More
Great city, would like to return. Public transportation is easy to use. We were able to visit the castle easily since we bought our tickets in advance online, this allowing us time to visit the yatch located outside the city center. Did not make the palace since the queen was there. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
Walked around the Port area of Tynemouth and did not choose to go to Newcastle. It was lovely. The priory and ruins were fabulous and not crowded at all when we went late morning. One of my favorite spots!
Walked around the Port area of Tynemouth and did not choose to go to Newcastle. It was lovely. The priory and ruins were fabulous and not crowded at all when we went late morning. One of my favorite spots! Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
This was the embarkation and disembarkation port. I was surprised that Fred Olsen publicity advised that as a "Regional" Port, facilities at Newcastle may compare unfavourably with other Ports. In our opinion, facilities at the ... Read More
This was the embarkation and disembarkation port. I was surprised that Fred Olsen publicity advised that as a "Regional" Port, facilities at Newcastle may compare unfavourably with other Ports. In our opinion, facilities at the Port of Tyne, Northumbrian Quay Cruise Terminal are perfectly adequate for the short period spent in the terminal. Car parking is good, and passengers are taken by bus quite close to the ship. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
Since this was our last day, we really wanted to do something special and relaxed because we knew we'd be "over" all the touring by then. If you enjoy finer restaurants and want to truly taste the UK's countryside and ... Read More
Since this was our last day, we really wanted to do something special and relaxed because we knew we'd be "over" all the touring by then. If you enjoy finer restaurants and want to truly taste the UK's countryside and waters, the Three Michelin Star rated House of Tides is the perfect venue for a lovely lunch, right on the river. We had local oysters, Shetland mussels, beautiful English produce and lamb... They have a regular and a vegetarian price-fixed tasting menu with optional wine pairings that usually books up at least a month in advance. They also accommodate allergies and food preferences. If you'll be there on a Saturday, there will be a bazaar in the metro station with some neat finds. You simply take the metro into Newcastle like everyone else and then walk down the hill half a mile to House of Tides. On the way, you'll pass all sorts of historical buildings including one that proudly proclaims the historical Earl Grey (and his namesake tea). Our recommendation is to see sights before lunch, walk down the hill to the restaurant, and then take a taxi back to the ship from the restaurant because it's quicker than she shuttle and less of a hassle than walking back up the hill. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2016
Cute town with lots of outdoor vendors. Very hilly. Riverside is very nice.
Cute town with lots of outdoor vendors. Very hilly. Riverside is very nice. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2016
We did our own touring via the train and local buses. Saw the Angel of the North, the Baltic centre and the Millenium Bridge.
We did our own touring via the train and local buses. Saw the Angel of the North, the Baltic centre and the Millenium Bridge. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise