101 Mare Cruise Reviews

The only option was a trip to the beach. On arrival, we were told there are stinging jelly fish so do not swim or snorkel. many people stayed on the ship, including myself
The only option was a trip to the beach. On arrival, we were told there are stinging jelly fish so do not swim or snorkel. many people stayed on the ship, including myself Read Less
Sail Date March 2016
Approach is by tender and this can take a while to get everyone on shore. The bus trip costs $19 return. I enjoyed our visit to Yejele Beach, I had my own snorkel gear and enjoyed seeing the coral and coloured fish. It was very ... Read More
Approach is by tender and this can take a while to get everyone on shore. The bus trip costs $19 return. I enjoyed our visit to Yejele Beach, I had my own snorkel gear and enjoyed seeing the coral and coloured fish. It was very accessible. There may be better places but I enjoyed what was there. The water was lovely as was the beach scenery. Coconuts drinks are available for $2 and they will cut them open for you when you are finished. The worst part was the wait for the tender in the hot sun - no shelter. Read Less
Sail Date March 2016
Another gorgeous island, great homemade food by the locals, great snorkelling..
Another gorgeous island, great homemade food by the locals, great snorkelling.. Read Less
Sail Date February 2016
Beautiful, not yet spoiled by tourists (Us) Watch for gouging by cruise line for bus to beech. Price has doubled in a year!
Beautiful, not yet spoiled by tourists (Us) Watch for gouging by cruise line for bus to beech. Price has doubled in a year! Read Less
Sail Date February 2016
Lovely clean island with welcoming locals, snorkeling great on this island and very safe as there is a reef to keep the big fish out.
Lovely clean island with welcoming locals, snorkeling great on this island and very safe as there is a reef to keep the big fish out. Read Less
Sail Date December 2015
Lovely beach and snorkelling, but we paid double the price with P and O and the half price ones where better, faster and more regular
Lovely beach and snorkelling, but we paid double the price with P and O and the half price ones where better, faster and more regular Read Less
Sail Date December 2015
Mere Well what a difference an island makes Not good, dirty with rubbish everywhere. Very small with little to do and see. there is a beach but a beach is a beach Stay on the ship go in the pool have lunch and a cold drink. You will ... Read More
Mere Well what a difference an island makes Not good, dirty with rubbish everywhere. Very small with little to do and see. there is a beach but a beach is a beach Stay on the ship go in the pool have lunch and a cold drink. You will be better off all round Read Less
Sail Date December 2015
We paid the $19 each to go to the beach and yes it's a bit pricey for a bus ride but the swimming was beautiful and we hadn't been to this port before and we really enjoyed it.
We paid the $19 each to go to the beach and yes it's a bit pricey for a bus ride but the swimming was beautiful and we hadn't been to this port before and we really enjoyed it. Read Less
Sail Date December 2015
Our favourite of all the islands visited. Beautiful sand, clear water & good for snorkeling.
Our favourite of all the islands visited. Beautiful sand, clear water & good for snorkeling. Read Less
Sail Date December 2015
This point was a disappointment for me. There is very little where the tender boats dock. The only thing to do on the island is to go to a beach on the other side of the island. On the day I was there, it was raining on and off, so that ... Read More
This point was a disappointment for me. There is very little where the tender boats dock. The only thing to do on the island is to go to a beach on the other side of the island. On the day I was there, it was raining on and off, so that didn't help. Read Less
Sail Date November 2015
The only excursion on Mare is a bus trip to the beach, there are a couple of market stalls and a small shop at the port along with the school and some other buildings. The beach has market type stalls selling food drinks etc.
The only excursion on Mare is a bus trip to the beach, there are a couple of market stalls and a small shop at the port along with the school and some other buildings. The beach has market type stalls selling food drinks etc. Read Less
Sail Date November 2015
Pleasant day, not entertainment has often been the case with the islanders singing etc. Small market, some food stalls.
Pleasant day, not entertainment has often been the case with the islanders singing etc. Small market, some food stalls. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
The Island of Mare is very small and the only activity is really a trip across the island to the beautiful beach for a swim. The weather wasn't the best however the beach and the beautiful blue waters were simply spectacular and worth ... Read More
The Island of Mare is very small and the only activity is really a trip across the island to the beautiful beach for a swim. The weather wasn't the best however the beach and the beautiful blue waters were simply spectacular and worth a visit. My only comment would be that the locals don't really seem to make the most of the visitors and of the opportunity to earn much needed cash from them. I'm sure if they put their minds to it they could increase the tourism contribution significantly without spoiling the beautiful environs of Mare. Read Less
Sail Date August 2015
We took a shuttle for $18 return from the port to an area where people can swim - it is basically just a beach swimming hole protected by the outer reef. Lots of people brought the pool towels from the ship, so just by looking around you ... Read More
We took a shuttle for $18 return from the port to an area where people can swim - it is basically just a beach swimming hole protected by the outer reef. Lots of people brought the pool towels from the ship, so just by looking around you could see who was from the Jewel with blue and white striped towels. Palm trees line the road, with huts and music playing at the beach. The toilets weren't very clean. There was food available to purchase. Read Less
Sail Date June 2015
We paid on the boat to catch the bus to the main beach $20 return. It's so beautiful and a bonus is they now have plumbing and toilets. Lots of cold beer (no 1) soft drinks and food to purchase.
We paid on the boat to catch the bus to the main beach $20 return. It's so beautiful and a bonus is they now have plumbing and toilets. Lots of cold beer (no 1) soft drinks and food to purchase. Read Less
Sail Date March 2015
Had to pay $20 US for the shuttle to the beach. This place was not originally on our itinerary but our trip to "Mystery Island" was changed to this because of cyclone Pam the week before. Can't say I'm too sad about ... Read More
Had to pay $20 US for the shuttle to the beach. This place was not originally on our itinerary but our trip to "Mystery Island" was changed to this because of cyclone Pam the week before. Can't say I'm too sad about the change. Mare is a beautiful island and the locals are very friendly. All the signs are in English which makes it much easier. Great place. Gorgeous beach. Once again take reef shoes as its a volcanic island and the beach is covered in pumice stone Read Less
Sail Date March 2015
Cannot reasonably review this port but was nothing there really except a beach about half hour away. Tenders were often and waiting time for them not long.
Cannot reasonably review this port but was nothing there really except a beach about half hour away. Tenders were often and waiting time for them not long. Read Less
Sail Date March 2015

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click