1,035 Southampton Cruise Reviews

Unfortunately the weather in Southampton was cold and rainy when we were there. We stayed at Premier Inn West Quay-a good location and a terrible hotel.
Unfortunately the weather in Southampton was cold and rainy when we were there. We stayed at Premier Inn West Quay-a good location and a terrible hotel. Read Less
Sail Date June 2016
This city is ok for visiting for cruises but be very careful where you park. It has been ruined by the scum who call themselves Parkingeye. I would never visit this city for leisure because of this dross. Look at reviews of Town Quay in ... Read More
This city is ok for visiting for cruises but be very careful where you park. It has been ruined by the scum who call themselves Parkingeye. I would never visit this city for leisure because of this dross. Look at reviews of Town Quay in Southampton for more information. Shame on the City Council or any business that allows this robbery. Read Less
Sail Date May 2016
Utter Chaos! They were telling passengers to go in one lane, yet later to move to another, There were people waiting hours to be processed, yet people coming in later were being sat at the front, and the staff were processing from the ... Read More
Utter Chaos! They were telling passengers to go in one lane, yet later to move to another, There were people waiting hours to be processed, yet people coming in later were being sat at the front, and the staff were processing from the front, so those who came in later were being processed first! Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
Southhampton is to be avoided. We stayed there last year for one night and I would advise everyone to avoid staying overnight there--mediocre hotels and restaurants. Stay in London instead and come the day of the cruise instead.
Southhampton is to be avoided. We stayed there last year for one night and I would advise everyone to avoid staying overnight there--mediocre hotels and restaurants. Stay in London instead and come the day of the cruise instead. Read Less
Sail Date July 2015
Poor signing to the docks! queue to get parked, queue to embark, not shown to cabin
Poor signing to the docks! queue to get parked, queue to embark, not shown to cabin Read Less
Sail Date July 2015
Extremely disorganized embarkation, but with three Queens departing the same day I imagine we didn't have their "A" team.
Extremely disorganized embarkation, but with three Queens departing the same day I imagine we didn't have their "A" team. Read Less
Sail Date May 2015
On this Transatlantic, Southampton was treated as a port of call even though this was our embarkation point (Rotterdam was port of origin). A nice port town, easy to get from rail station (5 BPS) to the ship but inadequately prepared to ... Read More
On this Transatlantic, Southampton was treated as a port of call even though this was our embarkation point (Rotterdam was port of origin). A nice port town, easy to get from rail station (5 BPS) to the ship but inadequately prepared to board 4000+ passengers. Speaking with others who regularly sail from Southampton, Oasis was an anomaly, so my comments are tempered by this. Read Less
Sail Date October 2014
Southampton itself is a working maritime city. For in-transit passengers there is not much to do unless one takes a ship or independent tour.
Southampton itself is a working maritime city. For in-transit passengers there is not much to do unless one takes a ship or independent tour. Read Less
Sail Date July 2013
The fourth port was in fact Valencia. This was IOTS first call to this port. It is unfortunately docked some way from the town and can only be reached by shuttle bus or taxi, both at quite expense. Therefore did not visit, though other who ... Read More
The fourth port was in fact Valencia. This was IOTS first call to this port. It is unfortunately docked some way from the town and can only be reached by shuttle bus or taxi, both at quite expense. Therefore did not visit, though other who did felt it was like all other big cities. Read Less
Sail Date June 2013
Taxi drop off excellent (need to tip porter).Priority boarding for Queens Grill is restricted to 3 dedicated receptionists but of no consequence as we had to sit and wait while general boarding went through security.
Taxi drop off excellent (need to tip porter).Priority boarding for Queens Grill is restricted to 3 dedicated receptionists but of no consequence as we had to sit and wait while general boarding went through security. Read Less
Sail Date May 2013
Southampton is simply the embarkation port. Nice town, but we really didn't spend any time there. It's two hours from Heathrow Airport and Princess did a real good job shuttling us in. It is not a free service, however.
Southampton is simply the embarkation port. Nice town, but we really didn't spend any time there. It's two hours from Heathrow Airport and Princess did a real good job shuttling us in. It is not a free service, however. Read Less
Sail Date August 2012
They almost took our bags to the wrong ship! Watch your bags get loaded in the right spot.Also think it is terrible that you can no longer walk to the cruise terminal....forcing all passengers to either arrive by car or pay a taxi. A ... Read More
They almost took our bags to the wrong ship! Watch your bags get loaded in the right spot.Also think it is terrible that you can no longer walk to the cruise terminal....forcing all passengers to either arrive by car or pay a taxi. A shuttle from the train station on the hour would be great....but would cost taxi drivers the chance to fleece cruisers. Never pay more than 10 pounds for a taxi from the station to the terminal!!! Read Less
Sail Date July 2012
This was just a disembarcation port and all we did was get our private tour for the day up to London.
This was just a disembarcation port and all we did was get our private tour for the day up to London. Read Less
Sail Date April 2012
The harbour area looks very ugly. Southampton is known as a classic cruiseport, but the harbour area is just an industrial area. Terminals are old-fashioned.
The harbour area looks very ugly. Southampton is known as a classic cruiseport, but the harbour area is just an industrial area. Terminals are old-fashioned. Read Less
Sail Date July 2011
The Cruise Staff onboard the Crown Princess for this 27 day cruise were appalling. Unorganized, uninformed and inexperienced. We paid over $240 to go the the Tulip Fesitval in Rotterdam. When we got there all the tulips had been cut ... Read More
The Cruise Staff onboard the Crown Princess for this 27 day cruise were appalling. Unorganized, uninformed and inexperienced. We paid over $240 to go the the Tulip Fesitval in Rotterdam. When we got there all the tulips had been cut down. Princess offered no explanation or refund. In Dublin, on a trip to Powerscourt Estate including the "Waterfall", when we inquried at the tour desk if the Waterfall was on the Estate Grounds - the tour desk employees - 3 of them - said "I don't know" and when asked if they would find out and call us with the answer, they said sure. They never did call us. This was repeated on almost every trip. It is a testimony as to why so many folks we know book their trips via Cruise Critic, American Express or just on their own. Can't blame them. Read Less
Sail Date May 2011
Not your fault Southampton ! I left passports at home (6 hours drive away) so it was rather traumatic! Port staff were brilliant and assisted us in making onward plans to catch up with ship in Gibraltar - a very expensive detour :(
Not your fault Southampton ! I left passports at home (6 hours drive away) so it was rather traumatic! Port staff were brilliant and assisted us in making onward plans to catch up with ship in Gibraltar - a very expensive detour :( Read Less
Sail Date September 2019

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click