329 La Spezia (Cinque Terre) Cruise Reviews

We took an independent tour to Pisa and Florence. Pisa was nice because it was relatively early in the day. Florence was not so good. Once again, there were too many tourists!
We took an independent tour to Pisa and Florence. Pisa was nice because it was relatively early in the day. Florence was not so good. Once again, there were too many tourists! Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
We didn’t choose an excursion but visited Cinque Terre independently. Be prepared for crowds! It is a fabulous place but very very busy with tourists. You have to take the free shuttle from the ship which is also the case for ... Read More
We didn’t choose an excursion but visited Cinque Terre independently. Be prepared for crowds! It is a fabulous place but very very busy with tourists. You have to take the free shuttle from the ship which is also the case for those on excursions not booked through the cruise line. This was total mayhem first thing in the morning and I’d strongly recommend disembarking later on! We walked through La Spezia for 25 mins to the train station. It is a pleasant mainly pedestrianised walk from the harbour. We could have happily spent more time exploring. The Cinque Terre train (get the one to Levanto) is easy but so very busy and was total carnage at 9-10am. You need to get the Train Card (https://www.cinqueterre.eu.com/en/cinque-terre-card) which gives unlimited journeys between all the villages and access to the hiking paths. You CANT buy this from the ticket machines and the queue at the booths were huge in the morning so get it online! We hiked from Monterosso to Vernazza which was challenging but well worth it. There are some steep slopes and precarious paths but wonderful views and interesting going through the cliff side vineyards. It took 1hr 40mins. Cinque Terre is an amazing place but exhausting. We managed to see all 5 villages. If you need to miss one out, note that Corniglia has many steps to climb from the train station. My main advice is to start your day later to avoid the main crowds and try not to see too much! Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Went on an organised tour to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa. We had plenty of time to explore the square and the surrounding shops an cafes. On the whole it was a good tour.
Went on an organised tour to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa. We had plenty of time to explore the square and the surrounding shops an cafes. On the whole it was a good tour. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Cant comment on La Spezia as we went to Florence. Far too busy, polluted and graffiti everywhere. Would recommend Lucca instead as heard good reviews.
Cant comment on La Spezia as we went to Florence. Far too busy, polluted and graffiti everywhere. Would recommend Lucca instead as heard good reviews. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Only port that was new to us, and it proved a really attractive Italian town, not particularly geared up to cruise passsengers, thankfully.
Only port that was new to us, and it proved a really attractive Italian town, not particularly geared up to cruise passsengers, thankfully. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
this is my favorite port, we took the train from La Spezia to Monterosso. Hiked from Monterosso to Vernazza. trained between the other 3 villages. Beautiful views. bring bathing suits!
this is my favorite port, we took the train from La Spezia to Monterosso. Hiked from Monterosso to Vernazza. trained between the other 3 villages. Beautiful views. bring bathing suits! Read Less
Sail Date August 2019
Now the was a surprise. We have already den Pisa and Florence, so decided to head into the town and have a look round. We loved it - don't be fooled to go further a field this is a nice town in its own right. Boat trips are available ... Read More
Now the was a surprise. We have already den Pisa and Florence, so decided to head into the town and have a look round. We loved it - don't be fooled to go further a field this is a nice town in its own right. Boat trips are available we shall do this next time. Read Less
Sail Date August 2019
We have been to Pisa before so decided to stay in La Spezia. Really nice town with good beaches. Free shuttle bus into town
We have been to Pisa before so decided to stay in La Spezia. Really nice town with good beaches. Free shuttle bus into town Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
We did our own thing in La Spezia centre before taking the boat trip to Portovenere and the 3 islands trip - Limoncellos in the shade in Portovenere is to be thoroughly recommended!
We did our own thing in La Spezia centre before taking the boat trip to Portovenere and the 3 islands trip - Limoncellos in the shade in Portovenere is to be thoroughly recommended! Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
We took a bus to Florence and had a walking tour around the many beautiful buildings and statues. We had a break for lunch and did some shopping before returning to the ship.
We took a bus to Florence and had a walking tour around the many beautiful buildings and statues. We had a break for lunch and did some shopping before returning to the ship. Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
Travelled by local ferry and saw all five towns by water. Well worth it.
Travelled by local ferry and saw all five towns by water. Well worth it. Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
Booked a private tour for all 3 ports in Italy with All Around Italy. Provided exceptional service and very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. They are very accommodating. Their tours are unforgettable and will book with them again. ... Read More
Booked a private tour for all 3 ports in Italy with All Around Italy. Provided exceptional service and very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. They are very accommodating. Their tours are unforgettable and will book with them again. Fabrizio is an amazing tour guide. Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
Blue Boat Cinque Terre and Captain Simone put on the very best day out. He'll collect you from the port and whisk you off on a fabulous day of food, music, wine, Lemoncello and the sights. It is the very best way to see the Cinque ... Read More
Blue Boat Cinque Terre and Captain Simone put on the very best day out. He'll collect you from the port and whisk you off on a fabulous day of food, music, wine, Lemoncello and the sights. It is the very best way to see the Cinque Terre and swim in the Med. If you have older children - do this - they will be talking about if for weeks as mine has. Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
Ship docked too far. the bus long, the boat ride long. Guide had nothing to day excpet that house were on steep hills and they grow grapes. Nothing to see. You get 1 hour 20 minute there and they dont even give you any lunch. no time to ... Read More
Ship docked too far. the bus long, the boat ride long. Guide had nothing to day excpet that house were on steep hills and they grow grapes. Nothing to see. You get 1 hour 20 minute there and they dont even give you any lunch. no time to sight see. then back on a crowded train, Waste of time and money Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
Went to train station for ride and walk to Pisa. Then took a train to Florence and enjoyed walking around. Came back to port (long Florence train ride - be prepared).
Went to train station for ride and walk to Pisa. Then took a train to Florence and enjoyed walking around. Came back to port (long Florence train ride - be prepared). Read Less
Sail Date July 2019

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click