339 La Spezia (Cinque Terre) Cruise Reviews

A delightful town but we, again did our own thing, visiting Cinque Terre on our own with more freedom to do our own thing and substantially cheaper than an organised tour
A delightful town but we, again did our own thing, visiting Cinque Terre on our own with more freedom to do our own thing and substantially cheaper than an organised tour Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
We went to Florence and Pisa with the ItalyTours company. I found & picked this company after reading many good reviews about it. The website we used was www.ItalyTours.EU. When we were booking the excursion, ItalyTours sent us very ... Read More
We went to Florence and Pisa with the ItalyTours company. I found & picked this company after reading many good reviews about it. The website we used was www.ItalyTours.EU. When we were booking the excursion, ItalyTours sent us very detailed information on what was included, what was extra and how much. Everything was spelled out clearly so there was no guessing at all. We only had to pay a small deposit of e10 to hold our spots, and it was free cancellation until a day before our excursion. The company also guarantees to cover all costs of transportation to the next port if we have missed the cruise departure. Our group only had 7 people, it was cozy and very nice (especially after the bus tour we had the day before) . The driver was very friendly, he spoke good English and he was quite funny. Our tour guide in Florence was very knowledgeable. It was enjoyable to listen to her stories, my husband and I learned a lot about Florence. After Florence, the driver took us to Pisa. It was a 1 hour stop, we took some pictures and walked around the area. We got back to the cruise on time. There was no time that we had to worry about missing the cruise departure. The driver communicates 'timing' with us very clearly. We highly recommend this ItalyTours company. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
We did a Shore Excursion booked on board and visited a Tuscany Farm where we went on a coach and then in a horse drawn carriage and had a fantastic afternoon with great food and loads of wine and even a song from the Italian owner!!!
We did a Shore Excursion booked on board and visited a Tuscany Farm where we went on a coach and then in a horse drawn carriage and had a fantastic afternoon with great food and loads of wine and even a song from the Italian owner!!! Read Less
Sail Date October 2019
We toured by foot, bus and boat on our own, discovering Portovenere and had a delightful afternoon there
We toured by foot, bus and boat on our own, discovering Portovenere and had a delightful afternoon there Read Less
Sail Date October 2019
We did the cine la terre here. the walk to the train station in La Spezia was a bit confusing but after we talked to some people we figured it out. Walk along the water path till you see the sign for the train station. I believe it is ... Read More
We did the cine la terre here. the walk to the train station in La Spezia was a bit confusing but after we talked to some people we figured it out. Walk along the water path till you see the sign for the train station. I believe it is close to 30 minute walk but we were speed walking and did it faster. The train was not regulated when we went on it and was beyond packed and we were there Oct 1st can only imagine how bad it is in the peak season! We walked the Monterosso trail to vernazza in 1.5 hours and it was definitely a hike!! bring lots of water, sunscreen ect. do not do if not active. it was an incredible once in a life time experience but i do not see myself going back because of the train system being that intensely packed and i am not even claustrophobic. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
We took an independent tour to Pisa and Florence. Pisa was nice because it was relatively early in the day. Florence was not so good. Once again, there were too many tourists!
We took an independent tour to Pisa and Florence. Pisa was nice because it was relatively early in the day. Florence was not so good. Once again, there were too many tourists! Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
La Spezia is a port city, we were there on Sunday so nothing was open. We did the Tuscan farmhouse tour and loved it! Nice 1/2 hour bus drive through the countryside to a family run farmhouse. They had tables outside, gave us great ... Read More
La Spezia is a port city, we were there on Sunday so nothing was open. We did the Tuscan farmhouse tour and loved it! Nice 1/2 hour bus drive through the countryside to a family run farmhouse. They had tables outside, gave us great food, and homemade grappa and limoncello! Thoroughly enjoyed the excursion. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
We didn’t choose an excursion but visited Cinque Terre independently. Be prepared for crowds! It is a fabulous place but very very busy with tourists. You have to take the free shuttle from the ship which is also the case for ... Read More
We didn’t choose an excursion but visited Cinque Terre independently. Be prepared for crowds! It is a fabulous place but very very busy with tourists. You have to take the free shuttle from the ship which is also the case for those on excursions not booked through the cruise line. This was total mayhem first thing in the morning and I’d strongly recommend disembarking later on! We walked through La Spezia for 25 mins to the train station. It is a pleasant mainly pedestrianised walk from the harbour. We could have happily spent more time exploring. The Cinque Terre train (get the one to Levanto) is easy but so very busy and was total carnage at 9-10am. You need to get the Train Card (https://www.cinqueterre.eu.com/en/cinque-terre-card) which gives unlimited journeys between all the villages and access to the hiking paths. You CANT buy this from the ticket machines and the queue at the booths were huge in the morning so get it online! We hiked from Monterosso to Vernazza which was challenging but well worth it. There are some steep slopes and precarious paths but wonderful views and interesting going through the cliff side vineyards. It took 1hr 40mins. Cinque Terre is an amazing place but exhausting. We managed to see all 5 villages. If you need to miss one out, note that Corniglia has many steps to climb from the train station. My main advice is to start your day later to avoid the main crowds and try not to see too much! Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Went on an organised tour to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa. We had plenty of time to explore the square and the surrounding shops an cafes. On the whole it was a good tour.
Went on an organised tour to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa. We had plenty of time to explore the square and the surrounding shops an cafes. On the whole it was a good tour. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Cant comment on La Spezia as we went to Florence. Far too busy, polluted and graffiti everywhere. Would recommend Lucca instead as heard good reviews.
Cant comment on La Spezia as we went to Florence. Far too busy, polluted and graffiti everywhere. Would recommend Lucca instead as heard good reviews. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Only port that was new to us, and it proved a really attractive Italian town, not particularly geared up to cruise passsengers, thankfully.
Only port that was new to us, and it proved a really attractive Italian town, not particularly geared up to cruise passsengers, thankfully. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
this is my favorite port, we took the train from La Spezia to Monterosso. Hiked from Monterosso to Vernazza. trained between the other 3 villages. Beautiful views. bring bathing suits!
this is my favorite port, we took the train from La Spezia to Monterosso. Hiked from Monterosso to Vernazza. trained between the other 3 villages. Beautiful views. bring bathing suits! Read Less
Sail Date August 2019
Now the was a surprise. We have already den Pisa and Florence, so decided to head into the town and have a look round. We loved it - don't be fooled to go further a field this is a nice town in its own right. Boat trips are available ... Read More
Now the was a surprise. We have already den Pisa and Florence, so decided to head into the town and have a look round. We loved it - don't be fooled to go further a field this is a nice town in its own right. Boat trips are available we shall do this next time. Read Less
Sail Date August 2019
We have been to Pisa before so decided to stay in La Spezia. Really nice town with good beaches. Free shuttle bus into town
We have been to Pisa before so decided to stay in La Spezia. Really nice town with good beaches. Free shuttle bus into town Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
We did our own thing in La Spezia centre before taking the boat trip to Portovenere and the 3 islands trip - Limoncellos in the shade in Portovenere is to be thoroughly recommended!
We did our own thing in La Spezia centre before taking the boat trip to Portovenere and the 3 islands trip - Limoncellos in the shade in Portovenere is to be thoroughly recommended! Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
We took a bus to Florence and had a walking tour around the many beautiful buildings and statues. We had a break for lunch and did some shopping before returning to the ship.
We took a bus to Florence and had a walking tour around the many beautiful buildings and statues. We had a break for lunch and did some shopping before returning to the ship. Read Less
Sail Date July 2019

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click