64 La Paz Cruise Reviews

Not much to see. Mexican towns seem to be either incredibly touristy with lost of huge hotels and a beach, or pretty much dead with a mission, museum, and one street of souvenir shops. La Paz was the latter, as was Loreto.
Not much to see. Mexican towns seem to be either incredibly touristy with lost of huge hotels and a beach, or pretty much dead with a mission, museum, and one street of souvenir shops. La Paz was the latter, as was Loreto. Read Less
Sail Date April 2009
Good guide. Lives in La Paz. had a lot of history of Baja to share. The ceramic factory is great. The malecon stop allowed some shopping or margarita sampling
Good guide. Lives in La Paz. had a lot of history of Baja to share. The ceramic factory is great. The malecon stop allowed some shopping or margarita sampling Read Less
Sail Date February 2019
The ship's excursion to the Serpentario cost $140 for two, a ridiculous price. We saved $104 by doing it on our own, taking the "free" shuttle 35 minutes into the city, hiring a cab with English-speaking driver who waited ... Read More
The ship's excursion to the Serpentario cost $140 for two, a ridiculous price. We saved $104 by doing it on our own, taking the "free" shuttle 35 minutes into the city, hiring a cab with English-speaking driver who waited for us while we gazed at the snakes, lizards and turtles. Enrique the cabbie had spent 11 years working (illegally) in the USA. "Trump," said he, "don't like Mexicans." The Serpentario (admission $8 per person) is a small exhibit space, quite charming, run mostly by volunteers and worth a donation. We oohed and aahed over the cute little chicks and baby rabbits until we realized their purpose in life: to provide food for the reptiles. Well worth a visit, but not at $140 or anything close to it. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017
Having a shuttle from the ship to downtown was appreciated. Little town with nice beach across from the main drag.
Having a shuttle from the ship to downtown was appreciated. Little town with nice beach across from the main drag. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
We took the shuttle us to town and walked the malecon. Then we walked up to the old town and visited the cathedral. It was a very quiet charming town.
We took the shuttle us to town and walked the malecon. Then we walked up to the old town and visited the cathedral. It was a very quiet charming town. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
We used the free shuttle provided by La Paz. It was an enjoyable ride into the city with guide provide to tell us about the area. The city was very clean and had a large market place.
We used the free shuttle provided by La Paz. It was an enjoyable ride into the city with guide provide to tell us about the area. The city was very clean and had a large market place. Read Less
Sail Date January 2017
I have always wanted to see La Paz as I know someone who owns a home here and they speak very highly of it.
I have always wanted to see La Paz as I know someone who owns a home here and they speak very highly of it. Read Less
Sail Date November 2016
Our first time here and a very nice town to explore. Nice people, good food.
Our first time here and a very nice town to explore. Nice people, good food. Read Less
Sail Date March 2016
Less mass tourist than Cabo. Nice little market area near where the tenders dock. Good street tacos! City is the capital of the state, so it's a commercial and government center in addition to a tourist stop. Walk around the town ... Read More
Less mass tourist than Cabo. Nice little market area near where the tenders dock. Good street tacos! City is the capital of the state, so it's a commercial and government center in addition to a tourist stop. Walk around the town to get a feel for the area. Very safe. The Cathedral is pretty. Have lunch along the Malecon. Read Less
Sail Date January 2016
IT WAS Loretto BUT THERE WAS NO DROP DOWN FOR LORETTO! Great port, small tender port with a wonderful shopping area only 5 blocks walk from the pier. If you get off the ship, go directly to the church / plaza area in town as they do ... Read More
IT WAS Loretto BUT THERE WAS NO DROP DOWN FOR LORETTO! Great port, small tender port with a wonderful shopping area only 5 blocks walk from the pier. If you get off the ship, go directly to the church / plaza area in town as they do a great show.. Lots of dancers and good shopping. We had beer and snacks in town, small bar close to the main shopping area. We went back to the ship early as it was getting really cold and windy, which was good as they stopped tendering operations for a while as the seas were too rough. It then turned really nasty so they had to postpone the ultimate deck party to the 3 sea day. Read Less
Sail Date January 2015
The last time I'd been to La Paz, there was hardly anything between the pier at Pichelingue and old La Paz. Now there are hotels, condo developments and a Gary Player-designed golf course. Very nicely done, but also very isolated from ... Read More
The last time I'd been to La Paz, there was hardly anything between the pier at Pichelingue and old La Paz. Now there are hotels, condo developments and a Gary Player-designed golf course. Very nicely done, but also very isolated from the city.Despite it being a Sunday, downtown La Paz was holiday hustle and bustle. The street fair, with a blocks-long stretch of shopping booths, was full of people. A very real city, with real people. The guy on board who said La Paz was a "nothing" town could not have been farther from the truth.We had booked (and been waitlisted for) a shore excursion tour to the artisan colony of Todos Santos. The tour was inexplicably cancelled. The explanation from the Shore Excursion staffer was that, since we were calling at La Paz on a Sunday, nothing in Todos Santos would be open. I disagree with her statement. Given the state of tourism in western Mexico, which is lousy at the moment, the galleries and shops in Todos Santos would have been happy to throw open their doors for a busload of cruise passengers, even on Sunday. Read Less
Sail Date December 2011
I liked La Paz. However, it is not a good cruise destination. This was an unscheduled stop due to weather (Puerto Vallerta sadly got nixed). The ship docks at such a remote out of way place that it takes at least 20-30 minutes to get to ... Read More
I liked La Paz. However, it is not a good cruise destination. This was an unscheduled stop due to weather (Puerto Vallerta sadly got nixed). The ship docks at such a remote out of way place that it takes at least 20-30 minutes to get to town. The cruise line bused everyone to town. Of course the lines were long so we skipped and got a cab. Food in La Paz is excellent. We ate lobster at the Bismark. Other then that - there is not a whole lot else to do there. The shops are all full of the typical tourist crap. Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
We hit the first free bus to tecolote beach with son in tow. Beach was nice. Had to rent chairs from local vendor, no problem. Bought some cokes and enjoyed the water. Son enjoyed the water and built sand castles. We left at noon as most ... Read More
We hit the first free bus to tecolote beach with son in tow. Beach was nice. Had to rent chairs from local vendor, no problem. Bought some cokes and enjoyed the water. Son enjoyed the water and built sand castles. We left at noon as most people were arriving and the wind started picking up and battering everyone trying to get into the water. Go early. We then went into town for some shopping and tacos. This time we ate some great fish tacos. Had Marlin, shark, and lobster tacos. It was open air across from the malecon. I wish I could remember the name. It was very shady and and about three blocks south of the bus drop off. I would go back here. This place was rated number two for our taco experience. Rated a four because our son enjoyed it so much, it is not a huge tourist mecca yet, and we had fun, not necessarily for the services available. although they did look to have some nice places to stay. Very quiet town for relaxation not party. Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
We chose free shuttle to beach rather than town.Beautiful stretch of sand and to my wife's complete delite, it was covered in beautiful sea shells.Had some local food and a couple beers and back to the ship.Overall not much here.
We chose free shuttle to beach rather than town.Beautiful stretch of sand and to my wife's complete delite, it was covered in beautiful sea shells.Had some local food and a couple beers and back to the ship.Overall not much here. Read Less
Sail Date December 2010
I am rating here both La Paz and Loreto. Both were charming and in many ways beautiful.Loreto is a lovely place in an unhurried atmosphere. A pleasant surprise. I also like La Paz and would like to return
I am rating here both La Paz and Loreto. Both were charming and in many ways beautiful.Loreto is a lovely place in an unhurried atmosphere. A pleasant surprise. I also like La Paz and would like to return Read Less
Sail Date April 2009
We took the free bus into town and walked around the town, eventually having food and a beverage at one of the local sidewalk cafes. We are familiar with the town and enjoy it.
We took the free bus into town and walked around the town, eventually having food and a beverage at one of the local sidewalk cafes. We are familiar with the town and enjoy it. Read Less
Sail Date February 2019

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click