405 Istanbul Cruise Reviews

Istanbul is an amazing city. Highly recommend either a guided tour or independent research before going. It isn't marked well from the cruise dock as to how to get to the various sites. They are redoing the port now so that may change ... Read More
Istanbul is an amazing city. Highly recommend either a guided tour or independent research before going. It isn't marked well from the cruise dock as to how to get to the various sites. They are redoing the port now so that may change in the future. We had advice from a friend who lived there are several years, so we had a great idea of where to go and how to get there, but I could see someone not familiar having issues getting around without a plan of where to go. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
Istanbul is truly magical - we decided to book a private tour with VIATOR - and it was flawless - all tickets were pre purchased for us and we were escorted to all of the main attractions in the city - fabulous!
Istanbul is truly magical - we decided to book a private tour with VIATOR - and it was flawless - all tickets were pre purchased for us and we were escorted to all of the main attractions in the city - fabulous! Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
Part of a day long excursion. Only complaint is that we were left far from our meeting point with no map and little direction from guide making for a harrowing return to our hotel.
Part of a day long excursion. Only complaint is that we were left far from our meeting point with no map and little direction from guide making for a harrowing return to our hotel. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
I loved it no shore excursion was needed. We ventured by ourself...we took the tram and went to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar and stayed there all day and it was the best day ever. We haggled for prices and we had to convert our ... Read More
I loved it no shore excursion was needed. We ventured by ourself...we took the tram and went to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar and stayed there all day and it was the best day ever. We haggled for prices and we had to convert our dollars/ euros to liras but it was great because 1 dollar was worth 3 liras. So we had a great deal of things and please try apple tea. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
Safe clean and pretty. This is a great place. We will be back. The American hotels are not in the best locations and the Turks know a lot of English.
Safe clean and pretty. This is a great place. We will be back. The American hotels are not in the best locations and the Turks know a lot of English. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
We love Istanbul, but concerns security led us to go straight to the ship. Great views from there.
We love Istanbul, but concerns security led us to go straight to the ship. Great views from there. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
I flagged a taxi outside the port which took us right to the blue mosque 10 euro bargain with the taxi driver they may start at 15-20 euro.. Istanbul is a mega maze again a vast and wide city, the blue mosque is iconic shoes off please ... Read More
I flagged a taxi outside the port which took us right to the blue mosque 10 euro bargain with the taxi driver they may start at 15-20 euro.. Istanbul is a mega maze again a vast and wide city, the blue mosque is iconic shoes off please well worth a visit you may have to Q go early in the morning if possible before the call for prayers otherwise you will have to wait a long time to get in... I have seen alot of Istanbul the last time I was here 20 years ago so just boarded the hop on bus which has a red line and a blue line which crosses into asia the one ticket does both buses good value for money. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
We were in the airport for 2 hours. Our luggage was not well cared for & my case was being crushed under the weight of many others I was afraid it would buckle. We had to walk a long distance across a car park to reach the coach [ my ... Read More
We were in the airport for 2 hours. Our luggage was not well cared for & my case was being crushed under the weight of many others I was afraid it would buckle. We had to walk a long distance across a car park to reach the coach [ my husband didn't have wheels on his hand luggage & had dragged it through passport control etc. now this! Then stuck in dreadful traffic in Istanbul. We then had to walk a long distance from the coach to the ship after waiting ages to go through the embarkation procedures. We were given a bottle of water but there was nowhere to sit. I was shattered by the time we got to ship it took us almost as long to get from airport to ship as it had to fly from Heathrow to Istanbul - was not impressed with transfer in any way shape or form! Think Viking could have done a lot better for their customers. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
How often can you ply the waves separating two continents, Europe on one side, Asia the other. Pricey real estate bumps up against fortifications built as the ottomans closed the noose around Constantinople.
How often can you ply the waves separating two continents, Europe on one side, Asia the other. Pricey real estate bumps up against fortifications built as the ottomans closed the noose around Constantinople. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
I liked this better than the Blue Mosque. It once was an Orthodox church and there are dueling icons of Christianity and Islam inside. Here too the centuries and several earthquakes have left their marks.
I liked this better than the Blue Mosque. It once was an Orthodox church and there are dueling icons of Christianity and Islam inside. Here too the centuries and several earthquakes have left their marks. Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
We took the HOHO bus which stops right outside the port, though the tram would have been just as easy and cheaper! In a day we managed to do the blue mosque, Aya Sofia (we took a guide there, which enabled us to skip the lines, and gave ... Read More
We took the HOHO bus which stops right outside the port, though the tram would have been just as easy and cheaper! In a day we managed to do the blue mosque, Aya Sofia (we took a guide there, which enabled us to skip the lines, and gave us some good information) and Topkapi Palace. Would love to go back Read Less
Sail Date October 2015
It poured most of the time in Istanbul so did not get to enjoy it much. There are so many wonderful sites to see I wish we could have enjoyed them
It poured most of the time in Istanbul so did not get to enjoy it much. There are so many wonderful sites to see I wish we could have enjoyed them Read Less
Sail Date September 2015

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click