Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
I have booked my own excursions with local companies for years without problem (until this trip). The cruise lines keep 70% of the fees they charge, and I would rather my money go to local companies. Icy Strait Point - Here is where I ... Read More
I have booked my own excursions with local companies for years without problem (until this trip). The cruise lines keep 70% of the fees they charge, and I would rather my money go to local companies. Icy Strait Point - Here is where I have to agree with the critical reviews. This is a Norwegian only port owned and run by the Icy Strait Point Corporation. I had booked a whale watching trip through Trip Adviser. The company was owned by a member of the ISP Corp. Their boat broke down several days earlier, but they did not leave us a message on our phone, so we sat there for an hour before another local guide helped us figure out what was going on. Now, this is not Norwegian's fault. However, in any other port there are plenty of booths offering tours. Because this is a privately owned stop, there are NO other options to book a tour. Everything was sold out. We spent an hour walking through the museum and gift shops and went back to the ship. It is billed as a native village, with native crafts. Only one store had some actual local wood crafts, everything else was over priced typical tourist ware. There is a nature walk and beach walk, but my husband has a bad knee, so that was not an option. Overall, I agree that this stop is a disappointment, and way too long. This is one stop I would say book a tour through the ship, and book it early. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
Always enjoy this stop. A bear had been sighted earlier that day along the beach.
Always enjoy this stop. A bear had been sighted earlier that day along the beach. Read Less
Sail Date: July 2019
Basically a city/port created by the cruise line. Recommend going into Koonah and experiencing true Alaska. Do your homework and you'll be surprised
Basically a city/port created by the cruise line. Recommend going into Koonah and experiencing true Alaska. Do your homework and you'll be surprised Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
Out tour guide was excellent, but the actual excursion was somewhat disappointing, But it was nice to get out in the wilds of Alaska.
Out tour guide was excellent, but the actual excursion was somewhat disappointing, But it was nice to get out in the wilds of Alaska. Read Less
Sail Date: July 2019
We took a walk through the woods and along the nature trail after exploring the shops etc. at Cannery point and then walked into Hoonah and back - it was nice to get on land and take a good walk and it was a nice flat walk with lots to ... Read More
We took a walk through the woods and along the nature trail after exploring the shops etc. at Cannery point and then walked into Hoonah and back - it was nice to get on land and take a good walk and it was a nice flat walk with lots to look at. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
This, by definition, is a Tourist Attraption. It is a largely manufactured experience; with a zipline, restaurants, huge souvenir store, admittedly with some very nice stuff; and cannery machinery relics interspersed. We liked seeing the ... Read More
This, by definition, is a Tourist Attraption. It is a largely manufactured experience; with a zipline, restaurants, huge souvenir store, admittedly with some very nice stuff; and cannery machinery relics interspersed. We liked seeing the few pieces of machinery and explanation signs of how the old cannery worked. We walked the mile and a bit into the town of Hoonah, although there is a shuttle available. It was a Sunday, and to say not much was open is a bit of an understatement. We did have a nice visit with JJ Pate, the lady in whose yard the eagle nest is. She was very nice and told us some interesting stories about the 9 year old nest. There is not much else to see in Hoonah, but a good walk followed by a nice Alaskan beer on the deck of the restaurant back in Icy Strait Point still made for an enjoyable outing. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
We weren’t impressed with this port. Icy Strait Point is a young port made up mostly of shops. There’s one show put on by the school children that was nice to see. You can walk or take a shuttle to Hoonah from Icy Strait Point. If you ... Read More
We weren’t impressed with this port. Icy Strait Point is a young port made up mostly of shops. There’s one show put on by the school children that was nice to see. You can walk or take a shuttle to Hoonah from Icy Strait Point. If you aren’t on an excursion, walk to Hoonah. It’s a little less commercial. There were a couple of totem carvers working on a large totem pole. We went back to the ship to eat and then went back to town to buy some last-minute items. Easy-peasy. Read Less
16 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
It's a dump, and the nature trail is a loop around the zipline course. Town is run down, and there is no hiking anywhere. Even went to the ranger station to try and find a trail, she informed us it's 14 miles down the road.
It's a dump, and the nature trail is a loop around the zipline course. Town is run down, and there is no hiking anywhere. Even went to the ranger station to try and find a trail, she informed us it's 14 miles down the road. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
Spent a lot of time just riding around. Saw one bear from a distance and two cubs were spotted in the woods but very hard to see them. Not worth the money spent.
Spent a lot of time just riding around. Saw one bear from a distance and two cubs were spotted in the woods but very hard to see them. Not worth the money spent. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2019
Boring very run down town. We enjoyed the walk into town but nothing to do once we got there. The ship was there way too long!!!!
Boring very run down town. We enjoyed the walk into town but nothing to do once we got there. The ship was there way too long!!!! Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Very small port and not a great deal to see other than fabulous scenery
Very small port and not a great deal to see other than fabulous scenery Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
We didn't get to do the excursion we wanted to because it sold out until we wanted to book it. If you want to do the Zip Rider book it early it fills up fast. There isn't much of anything else to do in the port except shop if you ... Read More
We didn't get to do the excursion we wanted to because it sold out until we wanted to book it. If you want to do the Zip Rider book it early it fills up fast. There isn't much of anything else to do in the port except shop if you don't do an excision. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Hoonah Village and Tribal Dance Show. We were there for our excusrion, but were at the wrong door and it left without us. They offered to put us on the next one, but we didn't want to wait 2 hours, so we just came back to the ship.
Hoonah Village and Tribal Dance Show. We were there for our excusrion, but were at the wrong door and it left without us. They offered to put us on the next one, but we didn't want to wait 2 hours, so we just came back to the ship. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise