Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
In my opinion this a must see in Alaska, Don't take a cruise that does not offer this option. This was not an excursion but the whole ship goes into the bay (a national park) and spends the day cruising. I found the pea soup on deck ... Read More
In my opinion this a must see in Alaska, Don't take a cruise that does not offer this option. This was not an excursion but the whole ship goes into the bay (a national park) and spends the day cruising. I found the pea soup on deck to be a nice touch (I am dutch and love dutch pea soup) Read Less
Sail Date: June 2019
(Cruising-only port) Rangers from the Glacier Bay National Park boarded the ship and gave lectures (highly recommended) as well as public-address narrations about the glaciers as the ship sailed past the magnificent scenery. The ship spent ... Read More
(Cruising-only port) Rangers from the Glacier Bay National Park boarded the ship and gave lectures (highly recommended) as well as public-address narrations about the glaciers as the ship sailed past the magnificent scenery. The ship spent about an hour near the Margerie and Grand Pacific Glaciers, and about 30 minutes at the Lamplugh Glacier. There's not a single best location for viewing the glacier; best to be on an *outside* deck where you can move from starboard to port and vice versa as the ship turns. One of the highlights of the cruise!! Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Compared to the previous year this time sailing through Glacier bay lacked narrative
Compared to the previous year this time sailing through Glacier bay lacked narrative Read Less
Sail Date: June 2019
We didn't leave the ship but instead had a park ranger go into great detail about the history of glaciers. This was one of our favorite days and we loved learning and taking in the beauty of Alaska!
We didn't leave the ship but instead had a park ranger go into great detail about the history of glaciers. This was one of our favorite days and we loved learning and taking in the beauty of Alaska! Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
Glacier Bay was the reason we chose this itinerary, and the reason we booked a balcony room. We could have watched the Margerie Glacier all day long.
Glacier Bay was the reason we chose this itinerary, and the reason we booked a balcony room. We could have watched the Margerie Glacier all day long. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
We really enjoyed the narration from the ranger who came on board. Rangers were also in the Explorers Lounge but the crowds there stopped us from participating. This was one time we were very happy for a balcony.
We really enjoyed the narration from the ranger who came on board. Rangers were also in the Explorers Lounge but the crowds there stopped us from participating. This was one time we were very happy for a balcony. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Didn't need an excursion, this one came right to your room. The more experience cruisers were up on deck by 6 AM to grab a spot for the show. The Observation Lounge put away most of the big sitting chairs and put out folding card ... Read More
Didn't need an excursion, this one came right to your room. The more experience cruisers were up on deck by 6 AM to grab a spot for the show. The Observation Lounge put away most of the big sitting chairs and put out folding card table chairs and it was a packed house. We stayed on our balcony and watched, filmed and listened until Noon then venture to the Lounge. At 1:00 the Ranger gave a preso in the Theater to tell us about the history and events of the native that still survive today. The 1960 earth quake rearranged most of the area and it continues to recover which is nice to hear. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
Does this need words? Magnificent! Breathtaking! Amazing! WOW! Our Alaska trip was fantastic but this was the highlight. Hearing the loud cracking and then seeing the ice break off and land in the water with a thunderous boom was ... Read More
Does this need words? Magnificent! Breathtaking! Amazing! WOW! Our Alaska trip was fantastic but this was the highlight. Hearing the loud cracking and then seeing the ice break off and land in the water with a thunderous boom was incredible. Our ship spent 4 hours cruising around viewing 4 different glaciers. Margerie glacier was the most spectacular. We could have stayed for 10 hours and still not grown tired of seeing the glaciers. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Excellent views from our Veranda and we could follow the park rangers who gave us information about what we were seeing. Water was calm and we enjoyed the day as the weather was beautiful.
Excellent views from our Veranda and we could follow the park rangers who gave us information about what we were seeing. Water was calm and we enjoyed the day as the weather was beautiful. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Some spectacular images. Was fogged in when we arrived but it slowly lifted and got some good views. Some minor calving of the glacier, but the best was yet to come with the Hubbard glacier.
Some spectacular images. Was fogged in when we arrived but it slowly lifted and got some good views. Some minor calving of the glacier, but the best was yet to come with the Hubbard glacier. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2019
The most breathtaking views you will ever see. We saw so many sea lions and Sea otters. They were playing and swimming and the glacier was just breathtaking. No other way to describe it.
The most breathtaking views you will ever see. We saw so many sea lions and Sea otters. They were playing and swimming and the glacier was just breathtaking. No other way to describe it. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
As mentioned, there is access to the bow on Deck 6 (and possibly some other decks) on the Westerdam, which is very convenient if your cabin happens to be located on the forward part of the ship. This is great for taking photographs, in ... Read More
As mentioned, there is access to the bow on Deck 6 (and possibly some other decks) on the Westerdam, which is very convenient if your cabin happens to be located on the forward part of the ship. This is great for taking photographs, in addition to being able to move back and forth from the cabin to the bow easily, whether it's to get warmed up, have some hot chocolate, take pics from a different view, or whatever. Glacier Bay is a gorgeous place to see - don't miss it! And, the narration by the National Park Ranger onboard, as well as the talk by the Tlingit native, were both informational and inspirational. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise