29 Fuerte Amador (Balboa) Cruise Reviews

We have never stopped at this port on previous canal transits, so we did enjoy seeing the visitors center and museum with a lot of the history of the canal on display. We also walked around the old colonial city and enjoyed a very ... Read More
We have never stopped at this port on previous canal transits, so we did enjoy seeing the visitors center and museum with a lot of the history of the canal on display. We also walked around the old colonial city and enjoyed a very refreshing local beer. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
We chose to do The Gamboa aerial tram here and it was a little disappointing as we saw no wildlife other then one Toucan. The visit to the sloth sanctuary however was very good.
We chose to do The Gamboa aerial tram here and it was a little disappointing as we saw no wildlife other then one Toucan. The visit to the sloth sanctuary however was very good. Read Less
Sail Date December 2019
We visited Casco Viego. This place Is very similar to Cartagena old town. We took princess complimentary shuttle bus to Albrook mall then from there I called Uber to Casco Viego $3.6 to explore on our own. Do your research know the area ... Read More
We visited Casco Viego. This place Is very similar to Cartagena old town. We took princess complimentary shuttle bus to Albrook mall then from there I called Uber to Casco Viego $3.6 to explore on our own. Do your research know the area before you come. On the way back to Fuerte Amador port I ordered Uber to port cost $5.3. My phone is T mobile with simple choice plan and I have free international data. Data speed is 2G not fast but enough to check email WhatsApp message or use Uber ... Uber works out well and cheap in Panama City. It use the same Uber apps like in US. You will able to see the ride cost, driver name, make of car and license plate #. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
The ship is far away from everything, but there are lots of things to do if you can find transport.
The ship is far away from everything, but there are lots of things to do if you can find transport. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
We took the New Locks & Former Panama Canal Zone excursion. Our tour guide was super knowledgeable and we got to see a lot on this excursion. Very interesting. This was a tender port. Getting to the port was fine. Getting back was not ... Read More
We took the New Locks & Former Panama Canal Zone excursion. Our tour guide was super knowledgeable and we got to see a lot on this excursion. Very interesting. This was a tender port. Getting to the port was fine. Getting back was not so great. We had to wait in line for well over an hour in the brutal sun and the ride was a little rough, but that was due to mother nature. It was fun. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Tour to the rain forest was nice. Bring your passport if you want to shop in the duty free at the pier.
Tour to the rain forest was nice. Bring your passport if you want to shop in the duty free at the pier. Read Less
Sail Date April 2019
We went through the Miraflores locks again. The cruise was a bit disorganised at the start with the captain, Canal pilot and food for lunch all arriving an hour late. The guide was nice but very difficult to understand. Food was poor.
We went through the Miraflores locks again. The cruise was a bit disorganised at the start with the captain, Canal pilot and food for lunch all arriving an hour late. The guide was nice but very difficult to understand. Food was poor. Read Less
Sail Date March 2019
To see the entrance of the Panama Canal was a thrill. Our fast paced tour of Panama City was difficult in the heat. Walking was difficult on uneven pavement.
To see the entrance of the Panama Canal was a thrill. Our fast paced tour of Panama City was difficult in the heat. Walking was difficult on uneven pavement. Read Less
Sail Date February 2019
This tour gave us a good feel of the city. We also visited Old Town Panama and made some stops. Our tour guide was excellent and gave us lots of knowledge about the city.
This tour gave us a good feel of the city. We also visited Old Town Panama and made some stops. Our tour guide was excellent and gave us lots of knowledge about the city. Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
You definitely can tell that Panama has a lot more money that Cartagena has, as this tender port was beautiful and very clean. The landscapiing and new parks, family picnicing and walking areas were so nice. Our tour consisted of a visit ... Read More
You definitely can tell that Panama has a lot more money that Cartagena has, as this tender port was beautiful and very clean. The landscapiing and new parks, family picnicing and walking areas were so nice. Our tour consisted of a visit to the Mira Flores Locks Visitor Center which is really well done. We enjoyed the Museum part of this tour very much. We then continued on to the second portion of the tour which was a visit to the Old City of Panama. The buildings in this walled city have been beautifully restored. If you go, notice all of the varied styles of Wrought Iron. Reminds me so much of New Orleans, LA or Savannah, GA. Read Less
Sail Date April 2018
The tour description changed after we were on the ship (we were notified by a paper left in the cabin), so the tour ended up with a lot less walking and a lot more time on the bus, but I enjoyed the trip. We had a 1.5 hour walking tour of ... Read More
The tour description changed after we were on the ship (we were notified by a paper left in the cabin), so the tour ended up with a lot less walking and a lot more time on the bus, but I enjoyed the trip. We had a 1.5 hour walking tour of the colonial area. The guide walked fast and the sidewalks aren't great so this isn't a good tour for those with walking difficulties. Then we had a nice drive past the fish market, the ruins of the pre-colonial city, the new city skyscrapers, the fenced edge of the canal zone, and the outside of the Gehri museum. The bus was completely full, so people traveling alone had to share seats. Good tour but would be nicer with fewer people on the bus. The only bathroom possibility that I noticed was at the church. Read Less
Sail Date March 2018
Independent tour with Van and driver. Saw highlights of Old and new Panama incl. lunch at the local fish market.
Independent tour with Van and driver. Saw highlights of Old and new Panama incl. lunch at the local fish market. Read Less
Sail Date January 2018
We took the tour to see the new locks and found it very interesting. We got to watch the full locking process of a huge LNG carrier. Afterward we went to the Frank Ghery Biomuseum which was well worth the stop.
We took the tour to see the new locks and found it very interesting. We got to watch the full locking process of a huge LNG carrier. Afterward we went to the Frank Ghery Biomuseum which was well worth the stop. Read Less
Sail Date January 2018
Great port. Did a Hop on/off bus tour which was good for the value $20 to stay on bus, $25 to hop off. Downtown very congested and not worth seeing except for the other areas.
Great port. Did a Hop on/off bus tour which was good for the value $20 to stay on bus, $25 to hop off. Downtown very congested and not worth seeing except for the other areas. Read Less
Sail Date November 2017
Panamataxi send Oscar and Felix to guide us 6 though the museum at the locks and the old and new city. We wanted some stops along the way and they made it possible without any complaints. The restaurant in the old town was nice and we had ... Read More
Panamataxi send Oscar and Felix to guide us 6 though the museum at the locks and the old and new city. We wanted some stops along the way and they made it possible without any complaints. The restaurant in the old town was nice and we had great day. Read Less
Sail Date April 2017
We did our own thing here, taking a taxi from the cruise ship tender dock to the Casco Viejo, the old colonial town. It has undergone significant amounts of renovation & re-building, but there is more to do. We really enjoyed ... Read More
We did our own thing here, taking a taxi from the cruise ship tender dock to the Casco Viejo, the old colonial town. It has undergone significant amounts of renovation & re-building, but there is more to do. We really enjoyed ourselves, walking along the old sea wall, photographing the restored buildings, dropping into cafes & bars when it got too hot. It was easy to get a taxi back to the ship. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017
Gateway to the Panama Canal and surrounding lake Gatun with great opportunities to visit the canal and its locks, canal nature or nearby Panama City.
Gateway to the Panama Canal and surrounding lake Gatun with great opportunities to visit the canal and its locks, canal nature or nearby Panama City. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
Did a Gatun Lake trip. Nice except too many people crowded in the monkey watch boats.
Did a Gatun Lake trip. Nice except too many people crowded in the monkey watch boats. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click