99 Fuerte Amador (Balboa) Cruise Reviews

We booked a private tour through Panama Your Way. For eight hours we toured all over Panama City. Enrique is an excellant guide. We highly recomend this company.
We booked a private tour through Panama Your Way. For eight hours we toured all over Panama City. Enrique is an excellant guide. We highly recomend this company. Read Less
Sail Date April 2017
Panamataxi send Oscar and Felix to guide us 6 though the museum at the locks and the old and new city. We wanted some stops along the way and they made it possible without any complaints. The restaurant in the old town was nice and we had ... Read More
Panamataxi send Oscar and Felix to guide us 6 though the museum at the locks and the old and new city. We wanted some stops along the way and they made it possible without any complaints. The restaurant in the old town was nice and we had great day. Read Less
Sail Date April 2017
We did Panama's Rainforest Aerial Tram through the ship. Beautiful!!!! We saw Toucans, Howler monkeys with baby, sloths, orchid area, green frog area, & butterflies. Stopped at Gamboa Resort for punch. This tour was $30 cheaper ... Read More
We did Panama's Rainforest Aerial Tram through the ship. Beautiful!!!! We saw Toucans, Howler monkeys with baby, sloths, orchid area, green frog area, & butterflies. Stopped at Gamboa Resort for punch. This tour was $30 cheaper than the one in Costa Rica and people told us they didn't see what we saw. Read Less
Sail Date April 2017
We did our own thing here, taking a taxi from the cruise ship tender dock to the Casco Viejo, the old colonial town. It has undergone significant amounts of renovation & re-building, but there is more to do. We really enjoyed ... Read More
We did our own thing here, taking a taxi from the cruise ship tender dock to the Casco Viejo, the old colonial town. It has undergone significant amounts of renovation & re-building, but there is more to do. We really enjoyed ourselves, walking along the old sea wall, photographing the restored buildings, dropping into cafes & bars when it got too hot. It was easy to get a taxi back to the ship. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017
We took a taxi to Metropolitan Park. We enjoyed a stroll through this large "city" park. We were able to see a fair number of birds, but no sloths.
We took a taxi to Metropolitan Park. We enjoyed a stroll through this large "city" park. We were able to see a fair number of birds, but no sloths. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017
Gateway to the Panama Canal and surrounding lake Gatun with great opportunities to visit the canal and its locks, canal nature or nearby Panama City.
Gateway to the Panama Canal and surrounding lake Gatun with great opportunities to visit the canal and its locks, canal nature or nearby Panama City. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
Did a Gatun Lake trip. Nice except too many people crowded in the monkey watch boats.
Did a Gatun Lake trip. Nice except too many people crowded in the monkey watch boats. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
Nice place to experience the canal from land. Do NOT do a ship excursion here. The ship excursion left the visitor center as a ship was coming into the canal. Duh! The main reason you want to be there is to see a ship coming through. ... Read More
Nice place to experience the canal from land. Do NOT do a ship excursion here. The ship excursion left the visitor center as a ship was coming into the canal. Duh! The main reason you want to be there is to see a ship coming through. Fortunately we were on the independent HOHO bus. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
Long bus ride, but takes you to East side of the canal. Got to see the Gatun Locks and several ships going through. Get to see a lot of county, but the locks were truly amazing.
Long bus ride, but takes you to East side of the canal. Got to see the Gatun Locks and several ships going through. Get to see a lot of county, but the locks were truly amazing. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
Ship staff and crew kept referring to Port Balboa as port Amador. Pretty bad when the crew doesn't know where they are. Took tour of the Museum of the Canal. Consisted mostly of pictures and interpretive signs in Spanish. Guide ... Read More
Ship staff and crew kept referring to Port Balboa as port Amador. Pretty bad when the crew doesn't know where they are. Took tour of the Museum of the Canal. Consisted mostly of pictures and interpretive signs in Spanish. Guide added little explanation of the pictures and used stuffv o describe many things. If I understood more Spanish, it may have benn better. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
Colonial Panama City is absolutely lovely. It was a bit hot and humid for our walking tour, but we survived. The tour of the Miraflores locks was outstanding.
Colonial Panama City is absolutely lovely. It was a bit hot and humid for our walking tour, but we survived. The tour of the Miraflores locks was outstanding. Read Less
Sail Date March 2016
We did the walking tour of old and new Panama. Next time I recommend the book tour or the train ride.
We did the walking tour of old and new Panama. Next time I recommend the book tour or the train ride. Read Less
Sail Date February 2016
Took the hop on hop off. They failed to tell us it arrives around 10:20 at the terminal and every 45 minutes after. We waited over an hour for it. Don't buy your ticket on board ($44). It's $29 online but the people working the ... Read More
Took the hop on hop off. They failed to tell us it arrives around 10:20 at the terminal and every 45 minutes after. We waited over an hour for it. Don't buy your ticket on board ($44). It's $29 online but the people working the bus were only charging $25. I guess it was too hard to make change. The brochure on the bus said $29. It's a 2 hour round trip but probably better to cab it to the first stop (Old Town). Second stop would be downtown. Those 60 story buildings look impressive until you get up close and start seeing all the cracks in the foundations. The trip up to the locks is a waste of time. You're going through them anyway. It's $15 US for the visitors centre but you can get a "Restaurant Only Ticket" for free but the restaurant charges $44. Coming back down we managed to get past the ticket takers out on the the outdoor main floor patio where there was a reasonably priced snack bar. Read Less
Sail Date February 2016
Seeing the new locks and the canal up close a day before going through it made the passage experience much better. However, our guide was an anti-American who repeated herself over and over with useless information; we actually filed a ... Read More
Seeing the new locks and the canal up close a day before going through it made the passage experience much better. However, our guide was an anti-American who repeated herself over and over with useless information; we actually filed a formal complaint back on board. The sights were great, listening to her was awful. Read Less
Sail Date February 2016
Had difficulty understanding the guide. She missed opportunities to relate Panama City's history. Explanations were short. This was a Princess tour $70 US
Had difficulty understanding the guide. She missed opportunities to relate Panama City's history. Explanations were short. This was a Princess tour $70 US Read Less
Sail Date February 2016
I took a cruise here - rainforest canopy tram. It was fun, but I think the place we went needs a bit more improvement.
I took a cruise here - rainforest canopy tram. It was fun, but I think the place we went needs a bit more improvement. Read Less
Sail Date January 2016

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click