238 Freeport Cruise Reviews

-Industrial -Tourist trap -Cost $5 per person to get a cab to get to the beach or shops -The shops right off the ship were better than the ones you have to take a cab to.
-Industrial -Tourist trap -Cost $5 per person to get a cab to get to the beach or shops -The shops right off the ship were better than the ones you have to take a cab to. Read Less
Sail Date July 2011
You're only there until 2pm and the beach is a half hour cab ride away. We went to Lucaya Beach, which the Shore Excursion desk recommended, but it was very small and somewhat dirty with no chairs, umbrellas or facilities. It was also ... Read More
You're only there until 2pm and the beach is a half hour cab ride away. We went to Lucaya Beach, which the Shore Excursion desk recommended, but it was very small and somewhat dirty with no chairs, umbrellas or facilities. It was also a long walk down a gravel path through the police station, and next to an abandoned resort hotel. Not worth the time to get there and back in my opinion. However if you do find yourself at Billy Joe's cafe on the beach, make sure to try the grilled conch. There's nothing to do where the ship docks except maybe a gift shop. I would recommend just staying on the ship. Read Less
Sail Date July 2011
Freeport is not really a great port to visit, as it is in an industrial area of the island, however, a short bus ride away will take you to the shopping area where there are restaurants, beaches, and shops. It is not an exciting ... Read More
Freeport is not really a great port to visit, as it is in an industrial area of the island, however, a short bus ride away will take you to the shopping area where there are restaurants, beaches, and shops. It is not an exciting island/port at all, but if you are looking to just relax on the beach and do a little shopping it is not too bad. Read Less
Sail Date September 2011
We went on the Wyndymn Resort excursion. It was $100 per person and included food, drinks, and non motorized sporting activities. We enjoyed the trip but I felt like a hundred bucks was a little steep.
We went on the Wyndymn Resort excursion. It was $100 per person and included food, drinks, and non motorized sporting activities. We enjoyed the trip but I felt like a hundred bucks was a little steep. Read Less
Sail Date September 2011
Freeport is your typical port pier shopping experience with the "straw market" hawkers and a live Caribbean band that breaks into action whenever a passenger appears on the gangway coming off the ship. I can't tell you ... Read More
Freeport is your typical port pier shopping experience with the "straw market" hawkers and a live Caribbean band that breaks into action whenever a passenger appears on the gangway coming off the ship. I can't tell you anything about any of the ship's excursions or any excursions for that matter, nor the famous or infamous "Our Lucaya" as I didn't make it anywhere near it. I can share with you one of the highlights of my cruise, and that was a visit to the Perfume Factory in the old International Bazaar in Freeport. I had read about it online, and decided that was my one stop. I disembarked and tried to get a taxi. "How much to the International Bazaar?" I asked. "It's closed lady, go to Our Lucaya, its better!" Now I knew this was coming. From having read on CruiseCritic, the taxi drivers make $5 to take you to Our Lucaya and only $4 to the International Bazaar, so they tend to stretch the truth. It's true that about 50% of the shops in the International Bazaar are closed. Due to the hurricanes and the main hotel there closing, many shops just never reopened. There is endless gossip about how may be buying the hotel and resurrecting the area, but those rumors have been going on for a few years now. Who really knows? One historical icon that still stands at the International Bazaar is the Perfume Factory. Its history goes back being founding in 1969 by Albert Whisnant, later sold to Peter and Patricia Aston in 1976, and since Mr. Aston's death in 1993, is now ran by Mrs. Aston and daughter Chrisanne, but you can read all about that on their website. In brief, it's a free standing building that appears to be a replica of an old Bahamian Mansion. Inside, your nose will be delighted with an exotic dance of refreshing delightful fragrances coming from tropical perfumes, lotions, oils and soaps. The friendly staff will be grateful you came and more than happy to escort you throughout the premises for a tour. If you are so inclined, you can sit down before a myriad of essential oils and create your very own fragrance, which you will hand mix and create yourself. For a very reasonable fee, you will leave with 1.5oz of your signature scent and a certificate of registry for your formula. It may sound very kitschy, but I spent my afternoon taking the tour, creating my fragrance and speaking with Chrisanne (daughter of the Astons). No doubt this lovely woman has given this tour hundreds, no thousands of times, but by her demeanor with me, I would have sworn it was one of her first. Her excitement and joy in helping someone understand fragrances was contagious. So I simply had to create my own. Make the time to visit the Perfume Factory. If Chrisanne is there, please tell her that I said hello. Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
Did not leave the port as the weather was bad. Freeport has little to do at the port area as it is primarily and industrial area. We did disembark at Freeport to visit the bar located at the port (Sunday NFL football).
Did not leave the port as the weather was bad. Freeport has little to do at the port area as it is primarily and industrial area. We did disembark at Freeport to visit the bar located at the port (Sunday NFL football). Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
I recommend you book an excursion on Freeport, because there is very little to do!
I recommend you book an excursion on Freeport, because there is very little to do! Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
The port itself doesn't have too much to offer. We took a van/taxi to Lucayan Beach for $5 per person-one way. (price is posted so you know what each trip will cost) Once the taxi dropped us we found a small area with very limited ... Read More
The port itself doesn't have too much to offer. We took a van/taxi to Lucayan Beach for $5 per person-one way. (price is posted so you know what each trip will cost) Once the taxi dropped us we found a small area with very limited shopping but several restaurants. We had just had breakfast on the ship so we weren't looking for food. We walked to the beach but was disappointed to find a very small beach area with no shade. We had to carry our own towels from the ship and there were only 2 porta pottys available at the beach. No place to change, etc. There was a bar and grill area but seating was very limited. The place was packed with people from the 3 ships that were in port that day. My family did rent wave-runners ($70 for 30 minutes) This was lots of fun but pretty costly for only 30 minutes. I would not go back to this location again. I've read there are other beaches which are not a busy...I would encourage you to check them out. The taxi rides felt overall safe. Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
The port in Freeport is in a huge industrial zone, surrounded by oil silos, shipping containers, and drydock facilities. It was a 20 minute bus ride (that cost $20 round trip for two) to get to the shopping district that had nothing more ... Read More
The port in Freeport is in a huge industrial zone, surrounded by oil silos, shipping containers, and drydock facilities. It was a 20 minute bus ride (that cost $20 round trip for two) to get to the shopping district that had nothing more to offer than Nassau did right of the ship. Quite a disappointment. Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
Freeport was very industrial, typical of ports. Unfortunately you have to be in port all day and the views are not very enjoyable.
Freeport was very industrial, typical of ports. Unfortunately you have to be in port all day and the views are not very enjoyable. Read Less
Sail Date November 2011
In Freeport we took taxi's to Port Lucaya and went to the Public Beach. Our plan was to parasail, however, the tide was extremely high and you could not access the public beach at all. We hit the casino there and wondered the shops ... Read More
In Freeport we took taxi's to Port Lucaya and went to the Public Beach. Our plan was to parasail, however, the tide was extremely high and you could not access the public beach at all. We hit the casino there and wondered the shops before heading back to port. Read Less
Sail Date November 2011
Straw market was a let down, beach access was a joke, unless you take the day pass to Atlantis, this port is a waste of time
Straw market was a let down, beach access was a joke, unless you take the day pass to Atlantis, this port is a waste of time Read Less
Sail Date November 2011
I was not as dirty as nassau. Stay on the boat! everyone tries to hustle you into buying something. I'm not sure about the excursions because we didnt do any. but just to walk around and shop was a waste. it started raining so we went ... Read More
I was not as dirty as nassau. Stay on the boat! everyone tries to hustle you into buying something. I'm not sure about the excursions because we didnt do any. but just to walk around and shop was a waste. it started raining so we went back on board to get massages. Read Less
Sail Date November 2011
Actually, not too much to do unless you made prior arrangements. Found a great little bar and had a local beer.
Actually, not too much to do unless you made prior arrangements. Found a great little bar and had a local beer. Read Less
Sail Date November 2011
Ok, i wouldn't spend the money on the cab to go, they have they same stores at the straw market right off the ship, cab was $10 pp round trip
Ok, i wouldn't spend the money on the cab to go, they have they same stores at the straw market right off the ship, cab was $10 pp round trip Read Less
Sail Date November 2011
We booked the Viva Wyndham "All-Inclusive" Beach Break in Freeport, and booked it through Carnival. As you'll see if you read up on Freeport, there is really not much to do there. The port area is in the middle of a large ... Read More
We booked the Viva Wyndham "All-Inclusive" Beach Break in Freeport, and booked it through Carnival. As you'll see if you read up on Freeport, there is really not much to do there. The port area is in the middle of a large industrial area, with nothing for cruise passengers other than a makeshift souvenir area erected in the middle of a parking lot. If it had been later in the year, we probably would have gone for a snorkeling trip, but with the promise of cool water temperatures, we opted for this Wyndham trip. It was, by the way, a recent offering from Carnival, and there we no reviews on their website when we booked. It is expensive, by the way -- nearly $100 per adult and $75 per child. We docked around noon, and met our bus on the pier at 1230. A tour bus was waiting to take us; once full, we took a 20-30 minute ride across the island. Our driver pointed out some sights along the way, but in reality, there are none. The "resort" is really more of a mid-grade motel/hotel. I, honestly, had expected a much nicer place. After receiving our wristbands and a short orientation speech, we were free to go on our own. Lunch was being served indoors until 2:30pm, but they assured us that the beachside snack bar would be serving food all afternoon. We elected to go straight to the beach and secure chairs, which was not a problem. The beach is nice and it was clean. As advertised, there were lots of "non-motorized activies" available. My biggest complaint about the resort, however, was the food and service. The line at the snack bar was incredibly slow and they were either not ready for people to arrive or simply didn't care. I waited 25 minutes (with only two people ahead of me) before I was asked what I wanted, only to be told that hamburgers would be another 10 minutes. As it was, they only serve hot dogs, hamburgers, and chicken nuggets. I checked out the indoor buffet before they closed, and aside from a pasta station and scary salad bar, they offered little more. Plus, the cafeteria did not look overly clean. Drinks, too, required a wait in line and were average at best. They even ran out of frozen pina coladas and strawberry margaritas as the beach-side bar about 30 minutes after we arrived. The beach seemed to be full of ship passengers and regular resort guest, most of whom were from Europe. With that caveat, there were a lot of smokers on the beach and around the pool. There is also, for the record, strong and free wifi available in the indoor bar area, but not on the beach. Another complaint about this excursion is that they only offer one trip to and from the resort, so unless we paid for a private cab, we had to wait until the return trip at 5:30pm, which meant we missed our dinner seating. Plus, the ride back was very loud and "non-family-friendly" as lots of people on the excursion chose to fully avail themselves of the open bar and were very drunk and obnoxious during the ride back. Overall, I cannot recommend this excursion, if only for the exorbitant cost. As for the port itself, I could foresee no reason to ever return to Freeport. Read Less
Sail Date December 2011
I don't know why the boat stops here. The port is very industrial. You must take a taxi if you want to see anything. And the taxis are very expensive.
I don't know why the boat stops here. The port is very industrial. You must take a taxi if you want to see anything. And the taxis are very expensive. Read Less
Sail Date December 2011
Stay on the ship, unless you have an excursion booked, the only thing to do is take a taxi ($5.00 each on-way) to Port Lucaya. Nothing more than a smaller Nassau. We did win some money at the casino, so it wasn't a total waste of
Stay on the ship, unless you have an excursion booked, the only thing to do is take a taxi ($5.00 each on-way) to Port Lucaya. Nothing more than a smaller Nassau. We did win some money at the casino, so it wasn't a total waste of time. Read Less
Sail Date December 2011
The catamaran/snorkel trip was fine, but the port itself is isolated from everything - if you're not on a tour, you'll need to take a fairly pricey taxi to get anywhere you'll want to go.
The catamaran/snorkel trip was fine, but the port itself is isolated from everything - if you're not on a tour, you'll need to take a fairly pricey taxi to get anywhere you'll want to go. Read Less
Sail Date January 2012
A taxi ride to shopping and beach was $30. As I am not a shopper and it was a little chilly to go to a beach, we chose to look through the cruise port shops, so my husband could get a t-shirt and get back on the ship. Glad for the ... Read More
A taxi ride to shopping and beach was $30. As I am not a shopper and it was a little chilly to go to a beach, we chose to look through the cruise port shops, so my husband could get a t-shirt and get back on the ship. Glad for the decision with the limited number of people on the ship, the hot tubs were virtually empty. Read Less
Sail Date January 2012
By the time we arrived here I was really sick of straw market hawkers selling cheap junk. Every excursion stopped by these straw markets selling stuff imported from China :(
By the time we arrived here I was really sick of straw market hawkers selling cheap junk. Every excursion stopped by these straw markets selling stuff imported from China :( Read Less
Sail Date January 2012

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click