132 Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Cruise Reviews

Thursday was the final stop in Scotland at Edinburgh. The ship did not dock and used its lifeboats to shuttle people into the Queensferry port – the tender boat time and a 40 minute shuttle bus ride into town significantly delayed ... Read More
Thursday was the final stop in Scotland at Edinburgh. The ship did not dock and used its lifeboats to shuttle people into the Queensferry port – the tender boat time and a 40 minute shuttle bus ride into town significantly delayed enjoyment of Edinburgh. Ray had obtained online tickets for Edinburgh Castle so they walked from St. Andrews square to Edinburgh Castle, built on top of a hill. Arriving shortly after 10am, Ray and Traci were fortunate to miss the huge crowds which later appeared even on a weekday off season visit. They joined one of the walking tours and learned about its rich history. The oldest existing structure at the castle – St. Margaret’s Chapel was originally built in the 1100s. Over the years, the castle expanded, parts demolished, and extensive renovations took place. Even today, the Royal Regiment of Scotland is garrisoned at the castle. A small cemetery for pets of soldiers is found within the walls. The large complex contains several museums housing the Crown Jewels of Scotland, War Memorial, and detailed exhibits of castle inhabitants and areas used as prisons for captured soldiers. While the complex has many replica cannons, a modern Howitzer is used to fire a 1pm charge daily. The crowds continued to grow as Ray and Traci left the castle and headed east on the Royal Mile. Nearby, they decided to stop at Camera Obscura – a tall building housing many types of illusions. On the top floor, a special periscope displays a 360 view of surrounding Edinburgh. Outside, balconies allowed visitors to appreciate the beautiful landscape on a sunny day. On the next four floors, tourists were treated to all sorts of optical illusions, electronic images, a disorienting light tunnel, and a maze built of mirrors. Camera Obscura was a nice diversion from the mostly historical sites visited during this trip. Ray and Traci walked further down the Royal Mile, stopping at Café Nero, Europe’s answer to Starbucks, and shared a toasted ham and cheese sandwich. Their last stop in Edinburgh was at Holyrood, the Queen’s official residence while in Scotland. Fortunately, crowds were light at the end of the day, so Ray and Traci could appreciate the history and beauty of Holyrood. The tour featured great reception halls, offices, and dining areas used today for official visits but unfortunately no photos were allowed. This policy was sternly explained to Ray after he inadvertently photographed the elegant dining room! The surrounding grounds were immaculately maintained. Traci especially enjoyed the special exhibition of Harry and Meghan’s Royal wedding which displayed the wedding gown, veil and tiara. As is the case with many ship stops, time grew short and Ray and Traci had to take the reverse route on the bus and tender boat back to the Crown Princess. A Scottish band provided music for the ship's departure. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Gorgeous scenery - took the x99 bus at the port for 9 pounds round trip. Had prebooked the castle tickets. We walked up to the castle - if you can’t walk there are buses and taxis.
Gorgeous scenery - took the x99 bus at the port for 9 pounds round trip. Had prebooked the castle tickets. We walked up to the castle - if you can’t walk there are buses and taxis. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
I enjoyed my tour of Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Yacht. The ship was especially interesting.
I enjoyed my tour of Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Yacht. The ship was especially interesting. Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
We hit most of the interesting places in the city. Wished we had more time to spend in Edinburgh. There is a lot to see.
We hit most of the interesting places in the city. Wished we had more time to spend in Edinburgh. There is a lot to see. Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
Went to the Edinburgh Castle and walked around Edinburgh---great city to do on your own. Hop on the X99 and you'll be fine!!!
Went to the Edinburgh Castle and walked around Edinburgh---great city to do on your own. Hop on the X99 and you'll be fine!!! Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
Enjoyed and Rosslyn Chapel. Anytime my husband gets whisky on a tour it deserves 5 Stars!
Enjoyed and Rosslyn Chapel. Anytime my husband gets whisky on a tour it deserves 5 Stars! Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
Edinburgh is an awesome city with a wealth of history...so much to see but little time. Walking the Royal Mile is a must.
Edinburgh is an awesome city with a wealth of history...so much to see but little time. Walking the Royal Mile is a must. Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
I took the Castle tour with Time on your Own. Excellent itinerary, and just right amount of time to see the Castle (not enough time to see Crown Jewels, but OK), and to walk around the city on your own.
I took the Castle tour with Time on your Own. Excellent itinerary, and just right amount of time to see the Castle (not enough time to see Crown Jewels, but OK), and to walk around the city on your own. Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
For me, the highlight. So much to see so did Hop-on and dropped of to visitthe Castle. Dissapointed as Holyrood was closed because Queeen was coming to stay on following day
For me, the highlight. So much to see so did Hop-on and dropped of to visitthe Castle. Dissapointed as Holyrood was closed because Queeen was coming to stay on following day Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
Took a shuttle to city center and did the hop on and off. Had lunch on the Royal Mile. While you are walking you feel like you are walking in a city from a fairy tale.
Took a shuttle to city center and did the hop on and off. Had lunch on the Royal Mile. While you are walking you feel like you are walking in a city from a fairy tale. Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
had the 50 Dollar for excursion at each port. good thing was, that i didnt need a tender ticket. loved Edinburgh. at the port back i had time to walk to the royal yacht, is a visit worth if you have enough time.
had the 50 Dollar for excursion at each port. good thing was, that i didnt need a tender ticket. loved Edinburgh. at the port back i had time to walk to the royal yacht, is a visit worth if you have enough time. Read Less
Sail Date May 2019
I love Edinburgh. I've been about 6 times. This time I used my Lothian bus ticket I'd purchased at the pier for £9 to go to the Ocean Terminal. No 22 or No 11 go down there and run very regularly not far from St Andrews Square ... Read More
I love Edinburgh. I've been about 6 times. This time I used my Lothian bus ticket I'd purchased at the pier for £9 to go to the Ocean Terminal. No 22 or No 11 go down there and run very regularly not far from St Andrews Square drop off point. I went on the Britannia. Entry was £16 and you are given a handset which explains everything. I also had coffee and scone in the café on board which cost £8. They do light lunches as well. Thoroughly enjoyed going through what I'd seen so often on TV when it was in use. On return to the city I walked along Princes Street for a bit of shopping and sights. Read Less
Sail Date May 2019
What's not to like? Took the Princess provided bus (yes, they charge for it) to the city center. Spent the day exploring the castle and the city. I wouldn't mind spending the night here, but alas, it was only the day. Plenty ... Read More
What's not to like? Took the Princess provided bus (yes, they charge for it) to the city center. Spent the day exploring the castle and the city. I wouldn't mind spending the night here, but alas, it was only the day. Plenty to see and do. Read Less
Sail Date May 2019
Newhaven, Scotland: Edinburgh was cancelled due to wind and rough seas. A big disappointment for many as there was no way of doing a 30 minute tender and not have ½ the tender get sick. I was so happy to have visited 3 days pre-cruise but ... Read More
Newhaven, Scotland: Edinburgh was cancelled due to wind and rough seas. A big disappointment for many as there was no way of doing a 30 minute tender and not have ½ the tender get sick. I was so happy to have visited 3 days pre-cruise but had planned to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia close to port. Edinburgh, Scotland: A wonderful 3 days spent in the city and plan to be back. Our first afternoon was spent visiting the monuments at Calton Hill, Waverly Station, and the hotel area. Day 2 was spent at Holyrood Palace for a tour in the morning and a “gilding” craft class in the afternoon. DW found the workshop on their website and insisted that we experience it. It was a highlight of her trip. Day 3 was spent with a Royal Mile walk and visit to Edinburgh Castle. It is highly recommended that you pre-book entrance to both the Palace and Castle or you may risk a long wait and possibly a missed opportunity if it’s a port day visit. Read Less
Sail Date September 2018

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click