Sail Date: January 2018
We. Wanted to see this part of the world and the price was very reasonable . But as always you get what you pay for. The Bora Bora Buffet was the poorest selection of food we have encountered onboard . The food was Luke warm at ... Read More
We. Wanted to see this part of the world and the price was very reasonable . But as always you get what you pay for. The Bora Bora Buffet was the poorest selection of food we have encountered onboard . The food was Luke warm at best , it reminded me of a school canteen, what they professed to be omelets were cooked en mass and folded into rectangles on display ready to be selected however they must be on display for eons as they were barely warm and very gloopy and tasteless, In a nutshell food is poor . The breakfast juices were squash and not fresh juice . The balcony was so small it contained 2 very small chairs and a wicker table about a foot square and that filled the balcony space . My husband was very impressed with the gym , the bar servers in the Splendida bar were very attentive and cheerful . Although the entertainment in the main area on level 5 varied from an absolutely stupendous opera singer , and very good classical duo , to a mediocre Roberto with his guitar , Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2017
I wanted a cruise our of Dubai. My hobby is traveling and I travel every month-plus. I have been on about 140 cruises. My first cruise in 1973 was with Costa and I cruised on the Carla C out of San Juan years later. These cruises were ... Read More
I wanted a cruise our of Dubai. My hobby is traveling and I travel every month-plus. I have been on about 140 cruises. My first cruise in 1973 was with Costa and I cruised on the Carla C out of San Juan years later. These cruises were great, but Costa has changed. They charge extra for every thing. I booked cruise, air, hotel and excursions with Expedia. Everything worked out fine, except the cruise and the last two excursions. I had to be out of the hotel by noon. So I got to the terminal at 1130. There the Costa people told me check in was at 8:30 PM, which was new to me. They said it is on your documents, not mine. So the first day of the cruise was spent sitting in the terminal. So it became a six day cruise, even the gratuities were for seven days on a six day cruise. If you had a complaint, they would say what is your cabin number and that was the end of that. Most cruise ships post menus, not this ship. On the plus side best room safes I have seen and most of the crew were friendly. Read Less
Sail Date: December 2017
I guess we went with an open mind. As they say..." when in Rome - do as the Romans do" so we adjusted our expectations but ended up enjoying the experience of an Italian themed ship - from the over the top Italian decor to pasta ... Read More
I guess we went with an open mind. As they say..." when in Rome - do as the Romans do" so we adjusted our expectations but ended up enjoying the experience of an Italian themed ship - from the over the top Italian decor to pasta everyday with our meals. We were worried after reading the reviews but I realized that North Americans just cruise differently from Europeans...no bottomless ice teas and lemonades, coffees and teas limited to breakfasts and merendas, lots of pasta, but we got to enjoy Osso Buco, gnocchis, bombolones for breakfast, olive oil and balsamic with your bread instead of butter and many more...Honestly - I enjoyed the food more than the other cruise lines that we've been on. Service was up to par in the restaurants and cabin but they can do a better job communicating with the English speaking passengers. First night apparently was an All-White party and we obviously did not get the memo as we showed up dressed in black...hahaha. Enjoyed the dance lessons and live entertainment was available in many of the bars and clubs. Overall - it was a pleasant experience. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2017
I chose this trip because of the itinerary and Sil Seas reputation. We went to Abu Dhabi where were were looking forward to seeing the new Louvre; t it was closed on Monday when we arrived!!! Why weren't we told so that we could have ... Read More
I chose this trip because of the itinerary and Sil Seas reputation. We went to Abu Dhabi where were were looking forward to seeing the new Louvre; t it was closed on Monday when we arrived!!! Why weren't we told so that we could have gone there from Dubai where we had two days to spend? Two of the five Gulf States were not worth a visit. BTW, Silver Seas should have specified just how "long sleeves' and "appropriate attire" were defined by the mosques. Several women were not allowed in, and I managed to buy long wrap just in time. The food on board was poor!!! The breads were stale, un-warmed and the same old same old every single night. Same old desserts at night as well. Service poor on deck 4 restaurant; we came in at 8 and ended up being 20 minutes late for the ten pm show. Voices of Silver Seas were good only with soloists or duets. Hypnotist was an insult!!! Lectures were uneven: the Indian father and daughter, especially the former, were difficult to understand (accent). Maldives where we landed was a dump. Disembarking took two hours; checking into Seychelles another three. Too late to do anything there. We should have spent several days visiting the beaches and the Botanical Gardens and skipped the Maldives and two of the Emirates. Drill inadequate; our room with hundreds others sent to the theatre instead of muster station. What if theatre was on fire or flooded??? Exercise balls in gym filthy; no elastic stretch bands in sight. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: November 2017
The cruise linked some new ports for us with some we wished to revisit. Also a brief Western Med cruise on Azamara had really impressed. Suite benefits also very attractive. With the one exception of the Azamazing Evening (which ... Read More
The cruise linked some new ports for us with some we wished to revisit. Also a brief Western Med cruise on Azamara had really impressed. Suite benefits also very attractive. With the one exception of the Azamazing Evening (which definitely was not!), the cruise exceeded expectations. The food in the specialty restaurants and the buffet is outstanding. Crew went out of way to be helpful. Suite kept immaculately and goodies just kept arriving. Would i recommend? Yes without a doubt. Azamara Journey is R6 in the former Renaissance fleet. An ideal size which with under 700 passengers can reach smaller ports. It also has a more intimate fell. The way the Captain and Cruise Director Eric worked together was a joy to behold and experience. The ports of call were very interesting and. Contrasted nicely. The Kuala Lumpur ships tour was particularly well organised. It more than made up for the disappointing Azamazing evening in Colombo where Taj Hotels put on some lovely Sri Lankan dancing interspersed with some dire westernised singers. At embarkation in Singapore we were embarrassingly held by Customs because we had some small Azamara bottles of sports. We were eventually allowed off without a fine if we paid USD 42. Duty. A trap for the unwary. Azamara could usefully warn passengers. A brilliant very memorable cruise with 2 small glitches which in no way detracted from a wonderful cruise. We aim to sail Azamara again. Read Less
BBMacLaird, CBO - Azamara Club Cruises has responded
Thank you barrymx5 for submitting a cruise review of your sailing on the Journey. We are honored that you'll recommend Azamara Club Cruises to your friends, and that you aim to sail again with us. We look forward to welcoming you aboard soon!
Sail Date: November 2017
We just returned from our Cruise Dubai to Singapore stopping in Mumbai, Goa, Cochin, Colombo, and Singapore. We arranged private tours in all ports and all were fine. The ship itself is a wonderful vessel. Small enough with only ... Read More
We just returned from our Cruise Dubai to Singapore stopping in Mumbai, Goa, Cochin, Colombo, and Singapore. We arranged private tours in all ports and all were fine. The ship itself is a wonderful vessel. Small enough with only around 600 passengers to be intimate and friendly. She is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and Officers, especially the Captain, very visible. Eric the cruise director, is the best cruise director I have ever seen on a cruise. Food is amazing, especially in the speciality restaurants. Those are the good - two niggles though. One was the Spa where the manageress is very high on herself and needs a lesson in customer relations. Second was the last day where I was interested to see what would happen. On other cruises such as Celebrity and Princess the last morning is always the same. There is the pervasive feeling that they can't wait to get you off the ship. Azamara Journey was no different, which was a shame, because it leaves a bitter taste after such a lovely cruise. Breakfast buffet in the main dining room was awful. Tables had been pushed closely together which was awkward with everyone having hand luggage. Supposedly hot food was either lukewarm, cold or had run out and not replenished at 8 a.m. No more friendly waiters, we were lucky to get served. I would not let this stop me with cruising with Azamara again though .....it was just interesting to note that they are no difference to other cruise lines we have travelled on, even though they consider themselves to be a cut above. Read Less
BBMacLaird, CBO - Azamara Club Cruises has responded
Hi ElandMar, thank you for writing the cruise review. We are glad you enjoyed the cruise. I'll pass along your comments about feeling rushed on the final morning. That is not our intention! We appreciate the feedback, and look forward to welcoming you aboard in the near future.
Sail Date: November 2017
We just completed cruise number 10 on Azamara, and are looking froward to number 11 and 12, already booked for early next year. We can't speak highly enough of the Captain and crew who contribute 100% to passenger satisfaction. Special ... Read More
We just completed cruise number 10 on Azamara, and are looking froward to number 11 and 12, already booked for early next year. We can't speak highly enough of the Captain and crew who contribute 100% to passenger satisfaction. Special mention must go to the Cruise Director, Eric De Gray We dined in the Patio Restaurant on several evenings, and found the food and service excellent. As Bridge players, we also appreciated having a bridge coordinator on board. On this cruise, our Director/Teacher, Vic Quiros, was most helpful in clearing some of the "foggy" areas in our current bridge regime. (Just when we thought we knew it all????) We organized most of our off shore excursions through contacts made with other Cruise Critic members before departure. We were able to travel in a smaller group, which made our three trips in India more manageable, and therefore more relaxing. Overall, good food, fantastic entertainment and the relaxed atmosphere all contribute to a very enjoyable voyage. Read Less
BBMacLaird, CBO - Azamara Club Cruises has responded
Dear Seachange1, thank you for submitting a cruise review on your recent Journey voyage. And a big thank you for completing 10 voyages, and booking 2 more! We so appreciate your loyalty to Azamara Club Cruises!
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: November 2017
We chose the cruise because of the itinerary to Southern India and Sri Lanka. The departure point was Dubai and we had never been there either. New ports were hard to ignore. Dubai and the UAE were special. The architecture, the ... Read More
We chose the cruise because of the itinerary to Southern India and Sri Lanka. The departure point was Dubai and we had never been there either. New ports were hard to ignore. Dubai and the UAE were special. The architecture, the buildings, the people and the culture were fascinating. Surprised that the city was so clean. Booked three tours on Viator: Top 5 places to see, Falconry in the desert, and a day trip to Abu Dhabi's Grand Mosque. Our stateroom was a Spa Suite which was beautiful. We had a huge washroom with separate sinks. There are many drawers for clothing storage and many closets. Definitely spacious. The drawback to these suites on the 9th deck is the smoking section nearby. “Spa suite” should be in a healthy area of the boat. We had to walk through thick smoke to enter our room. Not good placement for a suite. The entertainment was nice, the speakers were excellent. Bingo was disappointing in that few people showed up for the game. Cycling in Goa was a disappointment in that it was cancelled due to poor turnout. Dined in Prime steakhouse and the Italian Restaurant. Food selection was excellent. We did not care for the dining room atmosphere. Overall, great cruise. Read Less
BBMacLaird, CBO - Azamara Club Cruises has responded
Thank you SMason17 for submitting a cruise review for us! We are so glad you found the cruise great. We hope to welcome you back aboard soon!
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: November 2017
I chose this trip because of the itinerary and I like all inclusive cruises. Few cruise lines go down the coast of Africa from Dubai. The food and wine were very nice, although maybe not to an extreme foodie and wine lover’s ... Read More
I chose this trip because of the itinerary and I like all inclusive cruises. Few cruise lines go down the coast of Africa from Dubai. The food and wine were very nice, although maybe not to an extreme foodie and wine lover’s standards. Most people would be more than happy with the selection and food presentation. The cream soups were fabulous. Entertainment by a fairly small group of entertainers in a small venue was excellent and the speakers for the enrichment lectures were good. Unfortunately there was very little information on ports of call, but lots of history and demographic info. This was unfortunate if you wanted to know about a port and didn’t want to spend the additional cost of going on a ships tour. Speaking of ships tours, this is where Crystal was a let down. The tours seemed to be poorly planned, with many participants complaining about the tours when they returned. They were too expensive compared to the price of booking your own tour to not be top notch. In almost every port the shuttle bus seemed to only go to malls or dirty, unattractive outdoor markets. Gardens, beaches, historic areas were ignored and required taxis to see them. I would suggest that we have plenty of malls at home. Some passengers were unhappy that we did not stop in Madagascar because of the plague outbreak, but we did get an extra day in the Seychelles. This satisfied my husband and I. We liked the new unassigned dinner arrangements and made lots of new friends by eating with different people most nights. We could eat whatever time we wanted and watch the show that best matched our dinner. This is a very positive change from earlier fixed dining on crystal. The overall feeling on the cruise was a little less stuffy than on previous cruises we took on Crystal although we would love to hear some real rock and roll music. The type that does not require dancing cheek to cheek. Crystal clients idea of casual is far from what the rest of the world considers casual. Bring very nice ‘casual’ clothes with you. At least half the men wore tuxes and black suits on formal nights and all the women wore fancy cocktail outfits or long dresses. The service at meals and service from cabin attendants was very good. The rooms are of a standard size. We were not in the new upgraded rooms so the room was just like ones we have been in previously, on the small side but functional. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2017
i had great expectations prior to my cruise on Crystal Symphony and was not in the least disappointed. The food was varied, well presented, interesting and simply delicious. I have seen some criticism of the Brazilian Restaurant. I simply ... Read More
i had great expectations prior to my cruise on Crystal Symphony and was not in the least disappointed. The food was varied, well presented, interesting and simply delicious. I have seen some criticism of the Brazilian Restaurant. I simply don't agree with that review, and found the food delicious and the staff very professional. There are plenty of choices for restaurants on board this ship and ones which meet all requirements, which is important when the passengers are so diverse in their origins and tastes. Buffets can be not to everyones taste but when of such a high quality and freshness cannot be considered below any reasonable persons standards by any means. The staff on board were a credit to Crystal Cruises and were a joy to meet. The entertainment was varied and of a very high standard to all tastes. Embarkation and Debarkation procedures were very professional and streamlined and the free WIFI, although slow at times, was a good addition to the overall services provided by such a wonderful Cruise line. Read Less

Find a Cruise