Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
20 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2016
Loved Darwin. We hired a taxi for an hour and saw quite a bit of the place. Couldn't live there with their climate.
Loved Darwin. We hired a taxi for an hour and saw quite a bit of the place. Couldn't live there with their climate. Read Less
Sail Date: November 2015
Use the ships shuttle bus, and at $20 USD it was a bit rich. We got on a local bus, and went to the aviation museum at the RAAF base. Lots of history and well worth a visit. very hot though. I'd love to go back and do more things. ... Read More
Use the ships shuttle bus, and at $20 USD it was a bit rich. We got on a local bus, and went to the aviation museum at the RAAF base. Lots of history and well worth a visit. very hot though. I'd love to go back and do more things. Nice place. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2015
Complete waste of 3 hours except for the 30 minute stop at the Darwin Museum. Don't bother with this tour would be my advice.
Complete waste of 3 hours except for the 30 minute stop at the Darwin Museum. Don't bother with this tour would be my advice. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2015
Can walk to town and all around city, lots of little things to see if first time. Good cheap bus trip to Casserina Shopping Centre by public transport to see the suburbs and for good shopping and eateries.
Can walk to town and all around city, lots of little things to see if first time. Good cheap bus trip to Casserina Shopping Centre by public transport to see the suburbs and for good shopping and eateries. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: October 2015
Having been to Darwin several times before we disembarked to pop into shops for a few things. Darwin is a nice port has lots to see and do.
Having been to Darwin several times before we disembarked to pop into shops for a few things. Darwin is a nice port has lots to see and do. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2015
Did a self tour of the Tunnels, City, Crocosaurus and the War Museum. Very much enjoyed our excursion at a fraction of the price the Cruise Line were charging.
Did a self tour of the Tunnels, City, Crocosaurus and the War Museum. Very much enjoyed our excursion at a fraction of the price the Cruise Line were charging. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2015
I love Darwin there is so much to do there. The local bus service for $2 concession for a whole day you can get to anywhere you want to go. The information booth is very helpful about routes and times of buses. The buses are air ... Read More
I love Darwin there is so much to do there. The local bus service for $2 concession for a whole day you can get to anywhere you want to go. The information booth is very helpful about routes and times of buses. The buses are air conditioned. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2015
We have been to Darwin many tines before so we just walked into town to stretch our legs. The heat and humidity was oppressive and we were back on board in time for lunch.
We have been to Darwin many tines before so we just walked into town to stretch our legs. The heat and humidity was oppressive and we were back on board in time for lunch. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: September 2015
Easy 990 mtr walk into town. Found the Chinese Temple and Museum that was cheap and worthwhile. Most of Darwin's attractions are hours away so be aware that tours to Litchfield and Jumping Crocs will take 4-6 hours in a bus.
Easy 990 mtr walk into town. Found the Chinese Temple and Museum that was cheap and worthwhile. Most of Darwin's attractions are hours away so be aware that tours to Litchfield and Jumping Crocs will take 4-6 hours in a bus. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2015
Having been in Darwin recently we did our own thing wandering aroud Darwin and spending find at the wave pool. Could be a good port for an overnight stop which would give better trip options for Kakadu etc
Having been in Darwin recently we did our own thing wandering aroud Darwin and spending find at the wave pool. Could be a good port for an overnight stop which would give better trip options for Kakadu etc Read Less
Sail Date: February 2015
We just fell in love with Darwin, first time there, and after Indonesia the atmosphere was a lovely change. We weren't enjoying the cruise at all so decided to jump ship in Darwin and not do the remaining week on the ship we were so ... Read More
We just fell in love with Darwin, first time there, and after Indonesia the atmosphere was a lovely change. We weren't enjoying the cruise at all so decided to jump ship in Darwin and not do the remaining week on the ship we were so not impressed with this cruise, never again !! Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: February 2015
We didn't travel far but we could spend a few days having a good look around. Hot and humid but it's a modern vibrant city. The WW2 bombing info was confronting and interesting.
We didn't travel far but we could spend a few days having a good look around. Hot and humid but it's a modern vibrant city. The WW2 bombing info was confronting and interesting. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2015
Yet again we have been to Darwin twice before - on one occasion spending two weeks touring Kakadu and visiting Katharine and the Gorge as well as visiting the Hurricane Tracey and Aircraft Museums. As a consequence we spent the time in the ... Read More
Yet again we have been to Darwin twice before - on one occasion spending two weeks touring Kakadu and visiting Katharine and the Gorge as well as visiting the Hurricane Tracey and Aircraft Museums. As a consequence we spent the time in the town and using a hotspot for our internet connection bearing in mind the difficulties on the ship Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: November 2014
We just caught the shuttle bus into town. We did a bit of shopping and had a great lunch at a local pub. We desperately wanted to buy some coffee so we could make ourselves a cup of coffee in our cabin. There was an electric kettle ... Read More
We just caught the shuttle bus into town. We did a bit of shopping and had a great lunch at a local pub. We desperately wanted to buy some coffee so we could make ourselves a cup of coffee in our cabin. There was an electric kettle supplied in the cabin, plus many flavours of tea bags, but no coffee at all! Read Less
Sail Date: November 2014
A tour was organised by a Cruise Critic member to Litchfield National Park using Off Road Dreaming for $135. It was an excellent tour. See Trip Advisor for reviews. While the ship's tour buses were given a limited time at each ... Read More
A tour was organised by a Cruise Critic member to Litchfield National Park using Off Road Dreaming for $135. It was an excellent tour. See Trip Advisor for reviews. While the ship's tour buses were given a limited time at each waterfall, we spent as long as we liked as there were only 12 of us and the ship wasn't leaving until 10pm. We arrived back at 7pm. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2014
We did a hop on hop off bus as we wanted to explore ourselves. Darwin has alot of history which we found the museums and Art Gallery very interesting. There is lot of lovely parks and buildings that have been well preserved.
We did a hop on hop off bus as we wanted to explore ourselves. Darwin has alot of history which we found the museums and Art Gallery very interesting. There is lot of lovely parks and buildings that have been well preserved. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2014
nice place, good visit, took double decker bus tour, the immigration bit needs to be looked at, Princess, having older folks standing in line for one hour is not on!
nice place, good visit, took double decker bus tour, the immigration bit needs to be looked at, Princess, having older folks standing in line for one hour is not on! Read Less
Sail Date: April 2013
The modern port facilities make it easy to disembark and reboard the ship in Darwin. Darwin is interesting because of it's historic role in WW2. It was the only Australian city to be bombed by the Japanese. It presents an ... Read More
The modern port facilities make it easy to disembark and reboard the ship in Darwin. Darwin is interesting because of it's historic role in WW2. It was the only Australian city to be bombed by the Japanese. It presents an opportunity to see a crocodile and native fish in an aquarium. There is a stinger free, shark free and crocodile free swimming area near the wharf/marina and an artifical wave pool which may be worth a visit. The city has a rural feel and the parks and significant buildings are easily identified and have well planned signage with explanations for tourists. The city is also quite dirty and littered with rubbish and the streets are populated by a kind of underclass who will beg money as you pass by. We visited on a Sunday, so most shops were closed. There were restaurants and food shops however and the pubs do nice food too. The coffee was good in the Mitchell Street shopping mall, near the news agency. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise