479 Colon (Cristobal) Cruise Reviews

We wanted to book an excursion. They had filled up very quickly. Our only options were Panama city (been there, done that) or just the port. This was by far the worst day of the whole cruise. Apparently there was a problem with the port ... Read More
We wanted to book an excursion. They had filled up very quickly. Our only options were Panama city (been there, done that) or just the port. This was by far the worst day of the whole cruise. Apparently there was a problem with the port authorities and they did not have enough buses to ferry passengers and MSC made everyone wait hours sitting in lounges before letting them off. The staff was not even trying to apologize for the delays and acted like these wait times were normal and acceptable. If you finally managed to get off the ship, well, it wasn't worth it. Cristobal is one of the worst disgusting slums I have seen. I was not feeling safe and did not stay long. If you do not have an excursion for this port, do not bother. Read Less
Sail Date January 2018
It is an industrial port and the only place to visit were the shops inside the terminal facilities. We were warned not to venture past the terminal property as it was considered unsafe. No tours were offered beyond this facility.
It is an industrial port and the only place to visit were the shops inside the terminal facilities. We were warned not to venture past the terminal property as it was considered unsafe. No tours were offered beyond this facility. Read Less
Sail Date January 2018
Great place to visit both Panama City and the Panama Canal. Would recommend doing it through MSC so that you can disembark faster. In Panama you must take a bus service to exit the ship.
Great place to visit both Panama City and the Panama Canal. Would recommend doing it through MSC so that you can disembark faster. In Panama you must take a bus service to exit the ship. Read Less
Sail Date December 2017
the biggest mess, container pier, no walking thru the port, need to take a shuttle service provided by the port authority. obviously it was the 1st time for MSC to be there. After long waiting time, the surrounding area if the port is not ... Read More
the biggest mess, container pier, no walking thru the port, need to take a shuttle service provided by the port authority. obviously it was the 1st time for MSC to be there. After long waiting time, the surrounding area if the port is not safe at all. It looks like in the slums. Garbage on the streets, no paved streets, rotten houses, dirt everywhere. It was a bad experience. the driver dropped us close to a free trade zone which wasn't much better than the other area, was happy to be back on the ship Read Less
Sail Date December 2017
Walked in the mall area. Enjoyed that very much. Again good value items available. Free wifi with a couple of drinks. Wifi excellent. Speedy.
Walked in the mall area. Enjoyed that very much. Again good value items available. Free wifi with a couple of drinks. Wifi excellent. Speedy. Read Less
Sail Date December 2017
Really nothing to do here and doesn't seem safe. You can get off the boat and visit the shops in the terminal building but I would not venture out further than that.
Really nothing to do here and doesn't seem safe. You can get off the boat and visit the shops in the terminal building but I would not venture out further than that. Read Less
Sail Date December 2017
Nothing at this port. Panama Canal. Must take ship sponsored tour. We did the ferry to the Pacific which allows you to see more of Panama. Long day but highly recommended.
Nothing at this port. Panama Canal. Must take ship sponsored tour. We did the ferry to the Pacific which allows you to see more of Panama. Long day but highly recommended. Read Less
Sail Date October 2017
At Colon I went on a trip with a local. Went to the Panama Canal and the Dutyfree shops. The Canal was nice, and the shops were pretty cheap.
At Colon I went on a trip with a local. Went to the Panama Canal and the Dutyfree shops. The Canal was nice, and the shops were pretty cheap. Read Less
Sail Date October 2017
Tour of gatun locks was awesome and a must see!! The tour of Panama City was ok but our tour guide was not very good. He was unable to speak English very well - hard to understand. Tour guide pointed out and explained in detail how ... Read More
Tour of gatun locks was awesome and a must see!! The tour of Panama City was ok but our tour guide was not very good. He was unable to speak English very well - hard to understand. Tour guide pointed out and explained in detail how solicitation of a prostitute occurs as it was happening in front of us - ummm not so good! Read Less
Sail Date May 2017
Not much to do here without an excursion. We booked one, but it was cancelled by the cruise line due to lack of participation. We were told not to go out on our own due to safety reasons.
Not much to do here without an excursion. We booked one, but it was cancelled by the cruise line due to lack of participation. We were told not to go out on our own due to safety reasons. Read Less
Sail Date May 2017
terrible port. Dirty and nothing to see close to ship. Trips were far away and you had to ride a long time on the bus to get there and back. One trip did not return till 10 PM.
terrible port. Dirty and nothing to see close to ship. Trips were far away and you had to ride a long time on the bus to get there and back. One trip did not return till 10 PM. Read Less
Sail Date April 2017
Panama is very poor country. Colon was run down and shopping area was scary. The canal area should have had a museum to highlight the rich history of the canal.
Panama is very poor country. Colon was run down and shopping area was scary. The canal area should have had a museum to highlight the rich history of the canal. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017
We didn't do an excursion in Colon because we wanted to see the ship go through the Panama Canal twice (in and out). It was definitely worth it. The ship had someone come onto the boat and spend the day narrating all about the ... Read More
We didn't do an excursion in Colon because we wanted to see the ship go through the Panama Canal twice (in and out). It was definitely worth it. The ship had someone come onto the boat and spend the day narrating all about the process and the canal. It was super interesting and fascinating to watch the boat go in and out. We stepped out to the port in Colon for a couple minutes and that was all it took. The port was in a terrible area with nothing but a casino and one or two silly shops. It was extremely dirty and was a terrible spot. However, I don't really think Colon is part of the experience. The whole point of our trip was the canal, and we weren't about to miss a moment of it. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017
This tour also included the Gatun Locks. It could have been great, but they dump every bus coming from the cruise ship there all at once. There is not enough viewing area for everyone one to be up there at once. Panama City old town is ... Read More
This tour also included the Gatun Locks. It could have been great, but they dump every bus coming from the cruise ship there all at once. There is not enough viewing area for everyone one to be up there at once. Panama City old town is beautiful, but our guide wasn't very good. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017
Saw lots of great things in the Panama area, but were 8 of us crammed into a very uncomfortable van and we paid $159 pp - too high for what we did. Loved the being-restored Colonial area and enjoyed walking around there.
Saw lots of great things in the Panama area, but were 8 of us crammed into a very uncomfortable van and we paid $159 pp - too high for what we did. Loved the being-restored Colonial area and enjoyed walking around there. Read Less
Sail Date March 2017

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click