Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: May 2019
Did an excursion boat up the fjord through an independent vendor. Excellent. Very comfortable, narration good and adequate stops for photos. Also did self-guided walk of Fortress military museum, fish market and Bryggen. Loved it.
Did an excursion boat up the fjord through an independent vendor. Excellent. Very comfortable, narration good and adequate stops for photos. Also did self-guided walk of Fortress military museum, fish market and Bryggen. Loved it. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
We took the funicular up to Mount Floyen. Spectacular views with goats grazing on the hillside. Should not be missed. Also did the HOHO bus. Bergen is a lovely city.
We took the funicular up to Mount Floyen. Spectacular views with goats grazing on the hillside. Should not be missed. Also did the HOHO bus. Bergen is a lovely city. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: May 2019
I walked around the town on my own. Wasn’t far from the ship. Lots to see here including the Fish Market, St. Mary’s Church, Bergen’s Haneatic Quarter (Bryggen) is a fragile wooded old town here in the city. I wanted to see Theta ... Read More
I walked around the town on my own. Wasn’t far from the ship. Lots to see here including the Fish Market, St. Mary’s Church, Bergen’s Haneatic Quarter (Bryggen) is a fragile wooded old town here in the city. I wanted to see Theta Museum, which highlights Norway’s resistance movement during WWII. It is very hard to find BUT I managed to finally find it. Unfortunately it was closed. They only have a few short opening hours during the week (Tue, Sat, Sun 2:00-4:00 pm) Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
We actually went to to Haugesund which is between Stavanger and Bergen, but cruisecritic don’t have it on their list. This was a brilliant experience. It was Norwegian national day. The entire population was out in the streets and ... Read More
We actually went to to Haugesund which is between Stavanger and Bergen, but cruisecritic don’t have it on their list. This was a brilliant experience. It was Norwegian national day. The entire population was out in the streets and squares in their national dress. They were friendly and very keen to explain all about their national day, their customs and traditions. The school children all meet in the town square and free parading they go to school to play Norwegian games and eat ‘sausages and bacon’ a lady told me. There are numerous bars, restaurants and cafes along the waterside, but be aware, some only take card payment and are cash free. We really enjoyed walking around this town with the buzzing atmosphere of the festival - not sure what it would be like on a normal day. Although you dock quite close to town and there is a shuttle bus, it stops at the start of a bridge that you have to walk over to get into town. It is quite steep. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
Windy, but had a trip around the old town, the wooden buildings are amazing. Again will go back to stay for a few days to really explore the place. Spent a lot in the shops, really lovely thing to buy.
Windy, but had a trip around the old town, the wooden buildings are amazing. Again will go back to stay for a few days to really explore the place. Spent a lot in the shops, really lovely thing to buy. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2018
Should have added a day to the trip so that we could explore Bergen. A wonderful Heritage site, funicular railway to a viewing platform is a must. Cable car as well further out of the centre.
Should have added a day to the trip so that we could explore Bergen. A wonderful Heritage site, funicular railway to a viewing platform is a must. Cable car as well further out of the centre. Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2018
Forget the hop on buses. You can walk around Bergen easily. Recommend the venicular railway but get there early to avoid the queues. Buy tickets online or pay at the kiosk. Cheaper than the shore excursion cost.
Forget the hop on buses. You can walk around Bergen easily. Recommend the venicular railway but get there early to avoid the queues. Buy tickets online or pay at the kiosk. Cheaper than the shore excursion cost. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2018
City tour plus Ulriken Cable car. At the top of the mountain, we would be completely clouded in and then it would clear and then it would...We went back into town after lunch and did Mt. Floyen on our own for much less than ship excursion.... Read More
City tour plus Ulriken Cable car. At the top of the mountain, we would be completely clouded in and then it would clear and then it would...We went back into town after lunch and did Mt. Floyen on our own for much less than ship excursion. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
Big town with lots of shops, great place to wonder around. Would recommend going upto the veiw point which over looks the town
Big town with lots of shops, great place to wonder around. Would recommend going upto the veiw point which over looks the town Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
it was a beautiful city ...we took the hop on hop off bus . We booked online from Stromma for both the bus and funicular ride. We found their famous red bus in the port where we exchanged our online vouchers for tickets. we took the ... Read More
it was a beautiful city ...we took the hop on hop off bus . We booked online from Stromma for both the bus and funicular ride. We found their famous red bus in the port where we exchanged our online vouchers for tickets. we took the funicular ride and went up to Floyen mountain . the view from there is beautiful . you will find there kids playground, a zip line and of course a troll statue ... also you can walk for 5 minutes to a beautiful lake ...you can rent bike or kayak Bergen is the wettest city in the world ...it rains most of the days so you should be prepared . Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
Lovely town just a shame it was pouring of rain and so Misty the Vennicular Railway was not worth going to. We did go and do some shopping, there are a few shops that sell Christmas Decorations all year round, look around before buying. ... Read More
Lovely town just a shame it was pouring of rain and so Misty the Vennicular Railway was not worth going to. We did go and do some shopping, there are a few shops that sell Christmas Decorations all year round, look around before buying. Lovely harbour and seemed to be a few things to do but we were soaked so decided to return to ship Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
Just walked thorough, less crowded early on, we walked through about 8.30am and it was great, having by lunchtime when we returned.
Just walked thorough, less crowded early on, we walked through about 8.30am and it was great, having by lunchtime when we returned. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
See above. Bought tickets for the funicular on the day, went early and avoided crowds. Details in my review above. Great walk back down through the troll forest.
See above. Bought tickets for the funicular on the day, went early and avoided crowds. Details in my review above. Great walk back down through the troll forest. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise