Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
Just walked thorough, less crowded early on, we walked through about 8.30am and it was great, having by lunchtime when we returned.
Just walked thorough, less crowded early on, we walked through about 8.30am and it was great, having by lunchtime when we returned. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
See above. Bought tickets for the funicular on the day, went early and avoided crowds. Details in my review above. Great walk back down through the troll forest.
See above. Bought tickets for the funicular on the day, went early and avoided crowds. Details in my review above. Great walk back down through the troll forest. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2018
We used the Hop on Hop off Blue bus. If you want to see Mount Floyen it has the best combo price. The views from above were fantastic, a must do. The fish market was great for those wanting some crab or other seafood cause you sure ... Read More
We used the Hop on Hop off Blue bus. If you want to see Mount Floyen it has the best combo price. The views from above were fantastic, a must do. The fish market was great for those wanting some crab or other seafood cause you sure aren't getting any on the ship, which is a shame. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
Took flobanen to top of mt. Floyen for a hike. Go early-the funicular line gets ridiculously long. Took self-guided walking tour. Fish market is worth seeing. Bryggen area is too crowded and touristy.
Took flobanen to top of mt. Floyen for a hike. Go early-the funicular line gets ridiculously long. Took self-guided walking tour. Fish market is worth seeing. Bryggen area is too crowded and touristy. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2018
This was the only port where we had all day, pouring rain. It didn't slow us down, but we had to put some rain gear on to stay dry. We walked through Bryggen and then spent a few hours wandering through the fortress. Unfortunately, ... Read More
This was the only port where we had all day, pouring rain. It didn't slow us down, but we had to put some rain gear on to stay dry. We walked through Bryggen and then spent a few hours wandering through the fortress. Unfortunately, some ships were docked much closer to the shopping and fortress/castle but we had a long walk into town. There was a shuttle that took you a bit closer, but still a lot of walking to get anywhere. Nice town. Would love to go back and see it in good weather. Read Less
9 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
We had planned to take the venicular up to the view point but the queues were enormous so decided to walk again! Took about an hour at a slow pace as my legs by now were quite achy. Lovely views once again.
We had planned to take the venicular up to the view point but the queues were enormous so decided to walk again! Took about an hour at a slow pace as my legs by now were quite achy. Lovely views once again. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
Take the cable car to the top. Walk along the sea and see colorful houses in this World Heritage City. Visit the Hanseatic Museum or visit the fish market
Take the cable car to the top. Walk along the sea and see colorful houses in this World Heritage City. Visit the Hanseatic Museum or visit the fish market Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
There are several hop-on-hop-off bus companies situated right outside the port. Taxis are available but the fares are outrageous. Otherwise it's a walk of about a half-mile to the touristy part of the city. As we were in port on ... Read More
There are several hop-on-hop-off bus companies situated right outside the port. Taxis are available but the fares are outrageous. Otherwise it's a walk of about a half-mile to the touristy part of the city. As we were in port on Sunday, it wasn't worth going to the main downtown as most everything was closed. The historic (tourist) area was open and crowded. I believe we were the only ship in port so I can imagine what a mob scene it would be if there was a mega ship or two there. It was the typical tourist stores and the famous fish market. We had a nice lunch and bought some Norwegian caviar to take home. Sales taxes in Norway are VERY high but, if you spend a certain amount in a store, can get a special receipt that you can present when customs officials come on board before you leave Norway. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
When we first arrived it was a bit rainy, but it cleared up, and was mostly overcast. We had a nice wander around the centre of Bergen exploring shops, main areas and little back roads. All of which was pleasant. We then stopped for a ... Read More
When we first arrived it was a bit rainy, but it cleared up, and was mostly overcast. We had a nice wander around the centre of Bergen exploring shops, main areas and little back roads. All of which was pleasant. We then stopped for a drink and a quick bite in a quirky cafe before going up the funicular on Mount Floyen. At the top you have amazing views over Bergen and the sea, plus there are some nice walks around the forest. We ever had a go at canoeing on the lake, which was free! Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
Can be crowded if ships are docked, we hit a day that was walkable. Plenty of outside food and beer patios, shops sell pretty much the same stuff, but we did get a few gifts there. The overall look is wonderful from water and ground.
Can be crowded if ships are docked, we hit a day that was walkable. Plenty of outside food and beer patios, shops sell pretty much the same stuff, but we did get a few gifts there. The overall look is wonderful from water and ground. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
Walked the city centre and to the fish market,I had a sea food meal and then walked to catch the funicular ride to Floyen hill, beautiful view point from the top. Bought only one way ticket as I walked down the hill through the ... Read More
Walked the city centre and to the fish market,I had a sea food meal and then walked to catch the funicular ride to Floyen hill, beautiful view point from the top. Bought only one way ticket as I walked down the hill through the picturesque forest. no expensive excursion Fromm the cruise ship the only cost was the meal and ride to Floyen hill which was 50 Norwegian krona. Don’t bother changing money as I have used my nationwide debit card to pay for every thing. Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
Free port shuttle bus and easy walk into town. Plenty to see and do. The Mount Floyen funicular is a must with a lovely walk back into town.
Free port shuttle bus and easy walk into town. Plenty to see and do. The Mount Floyen funicular is a must with a lovely walk back into town. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise