386 Amber Cove (Puerto Plata) Cruise Reviews

Ziplining tour - excellent time. The staff gave us Mangos and Quenepas to eat while waiting for our turn. Very friendly staff. We never felt rushed.
Ziplining tour - excellent time. The staff gave us Mangos and Quenepas to eat while waiting for our turn. Very friendly staff. We never felt rushed. Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
We booked the large ocean cabana. Very well appointed rooms, hot tub, fridge, loungers and regular wait staff bringing food and drinks. Great deal! Will do it again!
We booked the large ocean cabana. Very well appointed rooms, hot tub, fridge, loungers and regular wait staff bringing food and drinks. Great deal! Will do it again! Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
I booked the La Casa En La Playa excursion, and it was tremendous. We had about a 20 minute drive from the port to the house, and Galen aka Mama, did a terrific job on our way back to the Magic entertaining us and educating us as to her ... Read More
I booked the La Casa En La Playa excursion, and it was tremendous. We had about a 20 minute drive from the port to the house, and Galen aka Mama, did a terrific job on our way back to the Magic entertaining us and educating us as to her country. Although there was also an excursion there from the Horizon, Mama assured us that there was plenty of food and loungers for us all. It never seemed overcrowded at all, and we were able to use the kayaks, snorkel equipment and paddle boards at our leisure. The buffet lunch was fantastic with lots of choices ranging from salad, fresh fruit, jerked meats and other authentic Dominican food. The staff made us feel very welcome, very safe and very comfortable. Best part was reclining in a hammock under a tree after lunch. 10 out of 10 stars Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
We took a island tour excursion endorsed by Carnival & we paid for 3 hour tour & the facilitator cut the entire groups time by 1 hour. I issued a complaint & only got a $12 Credit back... Horrible. If you love the beach , Go to ... Read More
We took a island tour excursion endorsed by Carnival & we paid for 3 hour tour & the facilitator cut the entire groups time by 1 hour. I issued a complaint & only got a $12 Credit back... Horrible. If you love the beach , Go to Playa Dorado... You won't be disappointed. Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
While not my favorite island to look at our shore excursion booked through Carnival was excellent. We had bus transportation to the resort and once there we were greeted with mimosas and beautiful cabana's right near the bar. There ... Read More
While not my favorite island to look at our shore excursion booked through Carnival was excellent. We had bus transportation to the resort and once there we were greeted with mimosas and beautiful cabana's right near the bar. There were hammocks and string swings and then a wonderful buffet lunch of local dishes. Food was amazing and the drinks plentiful Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
We did the Amber Cover Adventures jump and slide the waterfalls. We booked it outside of Carnival (cheaper and more waterfalls) although Carnival I believe will match prices. Not exactly sure how it works, I heard about this after the ... Read More
We did the Amber Cover Adventures jump and slide the waterfalls. We booked it outside of Carnival (cheaper and more waterfalls) although Carnival I believe will match prices. Not exactly sure how it works, I heard about this after the fact. ACA was very organized and guarantees you will be back on time. The waterfalls were amazing. The highest jump was 35 feet. Scary but do it! It's a once in a lifetime and oh so worth it. We were all a little leary but this was a wonderful excursion. Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
We did an independent tour with Amber Cove Adventures to ride the Teleferico and then visit Puerto Plata. I'm not a big fan of the cruise ship "artificial" ports and like to go outside the port area, and this tour did not
We did an independent tour with Amber Cove Adventures to ride the Teleferico and then visit Puerto Plata. I'm not a big fan of the cruise ship "artificial" ports and like to go outside the port area, and this tour did not disappoint. Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
The area was beautiful with dark blue water like a jewel. My granddaughter tried a coconut and drank the milk. She was tickled with the experience. There was a large swimming pool where guest could swim.
The area was beautiful with dark blue water like a jewel. My granddaughter tried a coconut and drank the milk. She was tickled with the experience. There was a large swimming pool where guest could swim. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Did the monkey island excursion. All proceeds go to medical supplies for Haiti etc
Did the monkey island excursion. All proceeds go to medical supplies for Haiti etc Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Monkey Jungle and Zip Line was awesome!! Part of the proceeds go to benefit a dental clinic for locals. In 28 cruises this was one of the best excursions.
Monkey Jungle and Zip Line was awesome!! Part of the proceeds go to benefit a dental clinic for locals. In 28 cruises this was one of the best excursions. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Catamaran sail/beach/snorkel trip was a lot of fun. 45 min ride to the beach, but you sail directly back to the ship/port. Actually enjoyed seeing the Dominican on the bus and Allen gave us really good info about the area and culture.
Catamaran sail/beach/snorkel trip was a lot of fun. 45 min ride to the beach, but you sail directly back to the ship/port. Actually enjoyed seeing the Dominican on the bus and Allen gave us really good info about the area and culture. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
We rented a pool side cabana and it was worth every penny. My only complaint was that we weren’t there long enough.
We rented a pool side cabana and it was worth every penny. My only complaint was that we weren’t there long enough. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Went on a tour, sponsored by Carnival Cruise Line. Went on tour of Puerta Platta. Went to Anglican Church, store, drive around country side, cigar manufacturer, chocolate factory, place for lunch, farm. Very interesting tour. Would ... Read More
Went on a tour, sponsored by Carnival Cruise Line. Went on tour of Puerta Platta. Went to Anglican Church, store, drive around country side, cigar manufacturer, chocolate factory, place for lunch, farm. Very interesting tour. Would recommend it. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Gorgeous port which made me feel bad when we left it. The people are so poor. Took excursion to Ocean World. I highly recommend it!! Beautiful place and it made up for the not so great time we had with the ship.
Gorgeous port which made me feel bad when we left it. The people are so poor. Took excursion to Ocean World. I highly recommend it!! Beautiful place and it made up for the not so great time we had with the ship. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Went to Damajagua Falls. Great excursion. Very fun! This was the highlight or our cruise.
Went to Damajagua Falls. Great excursion. Very fun! This was the highlight or our cruise. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Amber Cove was the most beautiful place! We didnt do an excursion, we just stayed at the resort right off the port . COCO something.. I forget the name. It was wonderful, we did zip-line and that was so fun( the first time I ever done ... Read More
Amber Cove was the most beautiful place! We didnt do an excursion, we just stayed at the resort right off the port . COCO something.. I forget the name. It was wonderful, we did zip-line and that was so fun( the first time I ever done that)! The pool was free, we did buy drinks and food.(Very Good)! I plan on returning and exploring the Island!! Read Less
Sail Date May 2018
I've been here with FATHOM where we did humanitarian work. The port is lovely. This trip I spent the day at the POOL and it was VERY relaxing and fun. Plenty of chairs.
I've been here with FATHOM where we did humanitarian work. The port is lovely. This trip I spent the day at the POOL and it was VERY relaxing and fun. Plenty of chairs. Read Less
Sail Date May 2018

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click