1. Home
  2. Cruise Lines
  3. MSC Cruises
  4. MSC Cruises Cruise Reviews
Cruise Ratings
1,495
979
766
753
623
Sail Date: February 2018
The cruise was fun just disappointed that we did not go to the Portuguese, but overall I really enjoyed myself. I wanted to purchase my photos unfortunately when I went there they have removed the photos on the photo gallery and there was ... Read More
The cruise was fun just disappointed that we did not go to the Portuguese, but overall I really enjoyed myself. I wanted to purchase my photos unfortunately when I went there they have removed the photos on the photo gallery and there was no one to assist us on the site. If the crew can just be visible on that end because people want to enquire and purchase their pictures but if there is no one we come back without our nice pictures. Other crew members I don’t know if is their attitude or they don’t know the ship, you ask them direction and the say they don’t know, I think is better to train them so that they can be familiar with the ship or maybe they need to change their attitude. The experience was nice maybe next time I will take the cruise to Maputo I hope I will enjoy it. Read Less
Sail Date: February 2018
My family members that have been before were raving about it, and we were able to afford it now so we decided when the special came out to try it ourselves, we really enjoyed everything on the ship, the only thing because of the cyclone ... Read More
My family members that have been before were raving about it, and we were able to afford it now so we decided when the special came out to try it ourselves, we really enjoyed everything on the ship, the only thing because of the cyclone the night before going to the island, the captain refused, but it was understandable, hopefully we can go on another trip and we will be able to go to the island, the children really enjoyed themselves, and indeed we will LOVE to Go again definitely, God willing, We did not have any problems with the embarkation and disembarkation procedures, All crew members were very friendly and hospitable, this is one very economical and relaxing holiday which my family and i will definitely do again, the music in the lounges were great and the shows were also amazing well done to MSC Crew members all around the ship. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: January 2018
We purchased this cruise as we wanted an add on to the end of our South African Safari. As the cruise was only 4 nights we booked a suite with drinks package and priority boarding included. So on arrival we expected to see a separate ... Read More
We purchased this cruise as we wanted an add on to the end of our South African Safari. As the cruise was only 4 nights we booked a suite with drinks package and priority boarding included. So on arrival we expected to see a separate line for Priority boarding but nothing until we get inside the terminal where we ask a MSC rep who tells us to go into the line that stated easy on or something to those lines. here we queued and once we reached the front we were told sorry not this line and told to re-join the original line we were in which had we stayed in we would of been on board by now. so we had the embarrassment of walking back past everyone behind us due to their incompetence. Once on board we think ok mistakes happen lets go and get a drink.. No this is not possible as evidently Alcohol is not permitted until after we sail. how ridiculous. So we decide to investigate the ship and find there is an Irish Bar, but this is the Irish bar in the world that does NOT sell Guinness. But the bonus for the wife it does sell Strongbow. But hey presto this is a premium drink (evidently) and not included in the drinks package. Next we hear my wife's name called out over tannoy system requesting her to go to guest relations, here they explain that as she is English she will require a visa to get off ship at the 2 destinations we are travelling to, and request her passport, I ask do you not require mine then ????? oh yes we will need that as well, they state that the passports will be delivered direct to our room. We go to our suite expecting for great things and to be honest the room was not bad but to me only on par with a balcony room on most other ships, I had forgotten my socket adaptor so popped to guest relations, hey presto sorry no adaptors available told to go to shop. $50 later I had the only available adaptor type they sold. So let's get the internet package sorted, I purchase the top package available to use on 4 appliances. and off we go to muster station for the safety drill. all of which was very well done in a short time. Decide to just have Buffet for dinner tonight which was just very basic and very little choice. So after dinner we decide to go to the Irish pub which overall had good service and entertainment, but one side of this bar is acceptable for smoking and the whole place stinks and makes your eyes sore, surely a fire risk at sea waiting to happen. also smoking allowed down one side of main prom deck. if we had known this beforehand we would never of booked this cruise. Next morning I order 2 eggs over easy from the buffet, well 2 minutes later these 2 eggs turned up that I could of put on the soles of my shoes they were so hard. I then check my internet which was very slow and sometimes took forever to log on. I then find that despite me switching my Wi-Fi off the last time I used it I was now down to very little allowance left, on checking it states I was last on air for over 2.5 hours so I point this out to guest relations who say I need to purchase another package, thanks for nothing there then. So now decide to disembark ship via tender so get in a very long queue for over 30 minutes and when we reach the exit we are both told to go to guest relations as we need visa's. off we trot and are told it's $50 per person to go to a deserted island we ask about the following day and are told it's the same to visit Pomne. We tell them not to bother absolute rip off. so spent the day on board relaxing. that evening there is an issue with the ship and its decided to cancel the next destination and we are all issued a $20 refund whoopee a free game of bingo each very generous. In general we were very disappointed in the attitude of the staff they need sending to a new charm school as the one they are using is not working. will we be using MSC again not unless they change their smoking policy and staff training is improved dramatically. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2018
We celebrated my brother-in-law's 50th. It was a family occasion. It was my first cruise and yes on my vision board. The overall experience was a good first. Albeit, the experience was shattered when I woke up one morning with bed bugs ... Read More
We celebrated my brother-in-law's 50th. It was a family occasion. It was my first cruise and yes on my vision board. The overall experience was a good first. Albeit, the experience was shattered when I woke up one morning with bed bugs crawling over me. On day two, I got a rash, and thought it was a heat rash. On the second last day, it had spread and I was feeling miserable, and stayed in the cabin most of the morning, on medication for the itching. I caught one of the bed bugs in a glass and took it to the GSL. I was taken to the Medical Centre. There I was interrogated about why "I only found the bed bugs then". Unacceptable!!! Bed bugs truly were the last thing I expected. I was given an injection and some cream. The stop over in Pomene was cancelled - this was a disappointment! We did not go on the Portuguese Island trip that day, and decided to do activities on the boat. However, there were not many activities presented as a back-up. We had our dinner at Il Galeone Restaurant. The two waiters that took care of us - Bobby and Anush - were really great. The food however was a let-down. We paid for easy embarkation. This turned out to be another mess-up, as we were told by one of the assistance to go back to the back of the queue. I laid a formal complaint against this assistant named, Joshua. My wife and I looked forward to this experience. We have both travelled extensively, and this was our first 'long-haul' with our kids. We have spoken about the experience much, and we are both in agreement that we will not travel on MSC Symphonia again. We look forward to another cruise, with a company that will satisfy. The best experience was the travellers on board. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2018
The first on the boat was absolutely fantastic and we told our family and friends to join on the second cruise. Only to experience that the quality has dropped since our first experience. I would recommend it again unless they do a ... Read More
The first on the boat was absolutely fantastic and we told our family and friends to join on the second cruise. Only to experience that the quality has dropped since our first experience. I would recommend it again unless they do a thorough quality upgrade overall. We couldn't go to the Pomene Island and were credited to a rediculous 20 dollars. Does that mean the it will cost me 20dollars to go to Pomene Islands when we paid nearly 600 dollars for the trip of which we spend 3 full days and 4 nights. Not at all any value for money. The food and drinks quality are really bad. After 2 days, I couldn't handle the food. Cocktails taste likes its been diluted with water and ice. The disco club music pathetic. Get rid of the DJ - has no thorough knowledge of music. The musicians at the different bars entertain us beautifully - that was a real enjoyment. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2018
I have always been interested in taking a vacation on a cruise. The MSC cruise seemed ideal, and I was right. The embarkation/ disembarkation process is tremendously quick and smooth. I loved our balcony cabin, just being able to look ... Read More
I have always been interested in taking a vacation on a cruise. The MSC cruise seemed ideal, and I was right. The embarkation/ disembarkation process is tremendously quick and smooth. I loved our balcony cabin, just being able to look at the precious sunrise and sunsets from my room and the smell of the ocean. Myself and my partner were quite fortunate to see the dolphins swim in pairs when we got to Portuguese Island on the morning of the 30th. The stay on the ship was an amazing experience. The fine dining was pleasant, great entertainment, excellent service and of course not forgetting the reasonable prices of perfumes and jewelry. We explored the beautiful Inhaca Island and got to meet the King if Inhaca Island. In addition I enjoyed the days spent at Portuguese Island, which included their beautiful warm water at the sea. The scenery is amazing and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2018
Bad experience. Will not recommend. Changed Itinerary without valid reason. They told us we are not going to stop at Pomene due to high swells. I think it was a big fat lie as the weather was perfect! According to other passengers ... Read More
Bad experience. Will not recommend. Changed Itinerary without valid reason. They told us we are not going to stop at Pomene due to high swells. I think it was a big fat lie as the weather was perfect! According to other passengers it was not the first time MSC uses the same excuse not to embark at Pomene. They offered passengers a refund of $20 per person which is the equivalent of 4 alcoholic drinks. What a slap in the face!! The food was not as good as what we expected with limited variety. Dinner portions in the restaurant were very small. Public toilets were clean, but had a bad smell. Although we were not happy with a lot of things, the service from the staff were excellent. Sometimes we struggled to understand each other, but everybody were very friendly and helpful. Embarkation and disembarkation process is very well organised. Read Less
Already Booked?

Get to know who you’ll be sailing with

Find a Cruise