Island Escape- we couldnt wait to escape from this ferry: Island Escape Cruise Review by carol bell

Island Escape 1
carol bell

Overall Member Rating

Island Escape- we couldnt wait to escape from this ferry

Sail Date: August 2011
Destination: Europe - Western Mediterranean
Embarkation: Other
My husband and i booked this cruise through thomson and were really looking forward to it. The cruise was our honeymoon and we paid three and a half thousand pounds for it. I was told that the ship was having a refit at the time of our booking and we would be amongst the first passengers aboard it sounded fantastic.

We embarked on the 16th august 2011 and nothing could have prepared us for the squalour we were to endure for the next fortnight.The cabin was so small we both could not side by side in it.The whole room had water damage which ment the walls were brown with water stains. The carpet was covered in red wine and was so thread bear you could see the hessian backing.When i opened the bathroom door i was greeted with the most disgusting bathroom id ever seen. The whole place stank of sewage and was thick with damp and mould. After two weeks of being subjected to this filthy bathroom my husband and myself came home with skin infections on our feet from the unsanitary More conditions from the bathroom floor and rancid carpet. i broke into tears this was not what what me and my husband had saved and worked so hard for.We went to reception to complain but were told there were no other cabins so we were stuck with the hovel.

Over the next fortnight we found out lots of rather unsavoury things about the boat.It is in fact an ex ferry thomson own it and make money on it but wash their hands of any responsibility of it. I booked a thomson cruise on the advise of one of their travel advisors and this is not a thomson cruise.The whole ship is dirty,tired and scruffy. and in need of a complete refit.The refit i had been told about by the thomson advisor was actually on the boats engines and not on the ship itself. If you go to thomsons website this ferry/ship is advertised alongside their other ships and unless you are told it isnt a thomson ship you wouldnt know.The price was suppose to include tips so you didnt have to pay any extra but after paying thousands of pounds for a squat i think they should be included.The bar staff do not get paid a proper wage so have to sell as much alcohol or ciggeretes as they can that means they are constantly harrassing you to spend money. To be honest i was infuriated by this pushy selling until i found out that for a 90hr week they had been paid around ?71. These are poor people from poor countries working to send money home to their families i felt so sorry for them.Jobs are hard to find in there countries and this cruise firm has totally taken advantage of there situation i am disgusted.

The ports of call were ok but some were so far away from the main points of interest i.e rome or monaco you have no choice but to pay for ship excursions most of which are really expensive.A word of advice unless you,ve gone it alone before and you know where you are going do not do it.We did and it was the most stressful few hours of our lives if your late the boat will leave without you unless of course, you booked the expensive ship excursion then the boat waits.The food was nothing to write home about and the same food seemed to be trotted out on a rota.In summary do not book this cruise unless you want to throw your money away.Me and my husband are in the process of putting in a complaint against thomson we want a refund and we will not shut up and go away untill we do. Less

Published 09/06/11

Cabin review: IN6543

6543 disgusting, avoid at all costs. Do yourself a favour do not book any cabin just avoid this ferry.

Read more Island Escape cruise reviews >>
Read Cruise Critic’s Island Escape Review >>
carol bell
Enrichment Activities
Family & Children
Fitness & Recreation
Onboard Experience
Public Rooms
Shore Excursions
Value for Money