AmaDante Review

-- / 5.0
Editor Rating
39 reviews

The Cruise That Wasn't

Review for Europe River Cruise on AmaDante
User Avatar
Traveling Monkey
First Time Cruiser • Age 70s

Rating by category

Additional details

Sail Date: Apr 2024

We experienced a very disappointing 7-day roundtrip between Paris and Normandy "cruise." It wasn't a cruise at all. It was more like a stay on a houseboat that didn't move.

The Seine was at very high water levels and the ship could not leave Paris. Now the high water levels is certainly not the fault of AMA but the way they handled the situation was. We went through four captains, two cruise directors, and two ships and still didn't make most of our itinerary.

AMA made no effort to contact us prior to boarding to let us know that we would be stuck in Paris. So instead of boarding AMALyra we were surprised to see AMADante (sister ship) instead. At the welcome aboard meeting we learned that the high river levels precluded sailing but that they would make up for it with bus trips to attractions in Paris or nearby sites. These last minute tours were poorly organized and not part of the itinerary we had planned for. AMA's apparent strategy for dealing with the situation was to hope and pray the river levels dropped. They didn't drop. They continued to rise.

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Dear guest, we appreciate you taking the time to relay your experience with us. We'd like to thank you for your understanding of how the impact that low/high water levels can have on any...

2 Helpful Votes
previous reviewnext review

Find an AmaDante Cruise from $2,899

Any Month

Get special cruise deals, expert advice, insider tips and more.By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

© 1995—2024, The Independent Traveler, Inc.