American Empress Review

Empress not up to standard of American Queen

Review for the USA Cruise on American Empress
User Avatar
Ann from Alabama
2-5 Cruises • Age 70s

Rating by category

Cabin
Value for Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Service

Additional details

Sail Date: Nov 2023

This company has gone down hill. This was our second cruise with American Queen. We took the Queen from New Orleans to Memphis in Nov 2019. It was amazing; great food; great service; great tours. We were so excited to go on another cruise after the success of our first one. We were so disappointed with the Empress. Between the cruise and airfare, we (my husband and I) paid almost $10,000. The boat went from Portland Oregon to Spokane Washington. The scenery was amazing. The boat not so much. The food was awful. There were two dining rooms; one formal and one buffet. The food on the buffet was always lukewarm. The dishes were not clean so you had to keep looking to find a clean one. I finally started taking the dirty ones to the staff. The soup was so salty that you could hardly eat it. The formal dining room food was warmer but it was still second rate unlike our previous voyage with this company. The purser staff couldn't/wouldn't provide the next days schedule until dinner every day which made it hard to decide what you wanted to do. They seemed to have trouble with scheduling. You would have thought they would have planned it out before the voyage. We had a post-cruise tour scheduled on Monday (the last day) that would have gotten us to the Spokane airport at 1:30 pm. So, we scheduled a hotel room and planned to fly home on Tuesday (of Thanksgiving week). At 7:00 am on Monday, we were told they had cancelled the tours the night before (without notifying us) and that they were using non American Queen buses with no bathrooms to take us directly to the airport (2.5 hours away). At this point, it was too late to cancel our hotel and change our flights. We were stuck at the Spokane airport hotel with no transport and nothing to do.

We had already planned to take another cruise with this company next year. I'm not going to waste my time or money on them again.

Response from BriannaH, Guest Relations @American Queen Voyages

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear that the scenery was amazing; however, we are disappointed to hear about the dining experience and the cancelled tour on Monday that...

Cabin Review

Room was comfortable and clean.

7 Helpful Votes
next review

Find a cruise

Any Month

Get special cruise deals, expert advice, insider tips and more.By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

© 1995—2024, The Independent Traveler, Inc.