CYBER MONDAY DEALS! Get discounts on top-rated cruises.
  • Newsletter
  • Write a Review
  • Boards
  • Deals
  • Find a Cruise
  • Reviews
  • News
  • Cruise Tips

AmaKristina Review

A big disappointment

Review for Europe River Cruise on AmaKristina
2-5 Cruises • Age 60s

Rating by category

Value for Money
Public Rooms
Fitness & Recreation

Additional details

Sail Date: May 2023
Cabin: Outside Stateroom with French Balcony and Outside Balcony

We have just returned from The Colours of Province Cruise / pre and post trip which took place from June 12th - 25th, 2023. This was our second cruise with AMA. Our first being the Melodies of the Danube in August/September 2022. That cruise was amazing and the reason we did not hesitate to book a second trip with AMA. Unfortunately The Colours of Provence was very disappointing. One of the best parts of a river cruise is to sit on the top deck of the ship to relax and enjoy the scenery as you are sailing. We were unable to sit out for most of the trip with the sunshades up due to the low bridges. This was a June cruise and it was hot. Sitting in the lounge is not exactly what we signed up for. We were also cruising by industrial areas. Definitely not the beautiful scenery we were expecting. Perhaps this is why we saw no other boats until we were further north up river. Of note, on our last morning of the cruise we were bused to Lyon at 9:00 AM so the ship could get ready for the next set of guests. We were told we could do some shopping while waiting for the booked cooking class. Stores do not open until 10:00 and our class started at 10:45 so we needed to wander around for almost 2 hours. The cooking class was absolutely a waste of time, basically recipes you learn as a young teenager in home economics class. Then we had to wait until 1:00 PM to board the bus to take us to the train for a 1:30ish departure to Paris. That’s 4 hours of filler time. We would have rather arrived in Paris early to discover the city while waiting for our rooms to be ready. To make matters worse our cruise manager had us picked up at 6:00 AM on our last morning in Paris for a 10:30 AM flight to our next connection. Once again waiting around for 4 long hours, now in a hot stuffy airport lounge. We could have slept in, had breakfast and still made our connections. There was absolutely no thought put towards this. I do want to point out that the staff were very attentive and hard working. Unfortunately the food was quite mediocre and it was obvious near the end of the cruise as passengers were going into town to eat dinner. This was a very expensive cruise and we’re expecting the same experience as that of our previous trip. Unfortunately this one fell way short. The Melodies of the Danube 10/10. The Colours of Province 5.5-6/10. If asked would not recommend this cruise to anyone. AMA has much better offerings.

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on board your Colors of Provence river cruise. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or disappointing experiences that you had during this...

Cabin Review

Outside Stateroom with French Balcony and Outside Balcony

Our cabin was always clean and well attended by staff.

2 Helpful Votes
previous reviewnext review

Find an AmaKristina Cruise from $2,800

Any Month
About UsCruise DestinationsFirst Time CruisersFind A Cruise

International Sites

© 1995—2023, The Independent Traveler, Inc.

  • Privacy and Cookies Statement

  • Terms of Use

  • Site Map