AmaVerde Review

Very disappointing.

Review for Europe River Cruise on AmaVerde
User Avatar
10+ Cruises • Age 50s

Rating by category

Value for Money
Public Rooms
Fitness & Recreation

Additional details

Sail Date: Apr 2023
Cabin: Outside Stateroom with Balcony

Thoroughly enjoyed 2 prior cruises on Amawaterways, but this was very disappointing. Definitely the worst culinary experience we have had on River or Ocean cruises. There were only about 60 passengers onboard so the staff closed off all the dining room booth seating for the entire 7 day cruise, & they did so by laying crumbled up table cloths on the table tops. Not only looked sloppy & unprofessional (see photos) but was a total guest turn-off. Have absolutely no idea what was going on in the kitchen, but to say the food was substandard would be to offer an unintended compliment. One night they served lamb, but it was not lamb chops. Plates arrived with 2 "tiny" slices of lamb loin or leg that were absolutely 3" long x 1" wide x 1/4" thick. Most pathetic serving of any dish I have received on any sailing on any vessel. Same with all other meals, & even the basic hamburger was disgusting. It was a discussion point among guests if it was even beef on the bun? Food variety was totally non-existent on this sailing. The exact same small round bread rolls for both lunch & dinner for 7 days. Never any variation OR options. Breakfast had a slightly larger selection, but only 1 side of the single toaster was working. There was apparently no pastry chef on board since the same exact 3 types of tiny pastries were served each morning. Look & tasted like they had been bought in a huge bag at departure & became harder & less attractive & flavorful daily. Unforgivable. With the single exception of 1 night when a very talented couple calling themselves No Boundaries came onboard to play, the entertainment was almost painful to watch. Excellent housekeeping & overall service was top notch, just as it was on the 2 previous cruises, with all staff being helpful, courteous & eager to help. No complaints about the cabin or bathroom, but it would be nice to have a small lounge chair in the cabins as opposed to the 2 small straight back chairs. WiFi worked fine & the boat was in good condition. Itinerary was enjoyable, with good guides at each stop. Unfortunately, the kitchen was a HUGE disappointment.

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

We sincerely apologize for the disappointing culinary experience you had with us. We appreciate you taking the time to document your concerns, as it gives us a chance to address any areas of...

Cabin Review

Outside Stateroom with Balcony

8 Helpful Votes
previous reviewnext review

Find an AmaVerde Cruise from $1,999

Any Month

Get special cruise deals, expert advice, insider tips and more.By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

© 1995—2024, The Independent Traveler, Inc.