• Cheers to 25 years: Celebrate with Us!
  • Write a Review
  • Boards
  • Log In
  • Find a Cruise
  • Deals
  • Excursions
  • More

AmaDante Review

-- / 5.0
Editor Rating
27 reviews

The Good and the Bad

Review for AmaDante to Europe River
User Avatar
VetteCity
6-10 Cruises • Age 60s

Rating by category

Cabin
Embarkation
Dining
Entertainment
Fitness & Recreation

Additional details

Sail Date: Oct 2019
Cabin: Stateroom with French Balcony

We chose this cruise because our preferred cruise line, Windstar, doesn’t have river cruises. We also enjoy Tauck, but an AmEx agent convinced me AMA has the best river cruises. We are right now on the last two days of the Rivers and Castles cruise. The sites have been amazing- I can’t imagine a better itinerary. But a cruise is more than just sites. It is also the means of transportation, the food, the service and the general social aspect of the whole trip. First- I want to tell you not to bother paying an up charge for a balcony. Second and third floors all have large sliding windows. Our room and bath are very small, which is ok but not great. The bed is ok comfortable. The sheets and towels are very nice and the young woman who cares for our room is great. The excursions are great. But, the dining room and food are the pits- not quite as bad as school cafeteria, but almost. The carpet in the dining room is really dirty. The first night the servers were dropping and breaking things constantly. It was a loud, crazy, messy scene. Some of the food is above average, but most of it is NOT good. The servers are in such a hurry they throw food in front of you and start removing things before you have time to eat. They scrape plates and stack dirty dishes in front of guests like a cheap diner. Before dinner is even over they clear food out and start making up tables around you for the next day. It is tea time right now For the third day in a row, the cake that was set out is frozen solid. I broke into a cupcake that was so dry it was inedible. I like the staff, although, because they are mostly Slavic, they are not very friendly or have any sense of humor. Yes, I know they work hard for long hours. I hope management pays well. And we tip generously. But, we PAY for this trip and should receive gracious services. Anyway, my advice is- use ama for a great itinerary, not a magnificent journey. We have been spoiled by getting all the best from Windstar. I have photos but am unable to add them from my phone.

Response from Eva , Coordinator, Social Media

Dear VetteCity, Thank you for taking the time to share your insights regarding your experience with AmaWaterways. We regret to learn our service came up short of your cruising expectations....

Cabin Review

Stateroom with French Balcony

Very small room and bath.

Port Reviews

Nuremberg

Loved the marketplace

5 Helpful Votes

Find an AmaDante Cruise from $2,549

Want to cruise smarter?
Get expert advice, insider tips and more.
By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

We have updated the Cruise Critic Privacy and Cookie Statement effective on October 1, 2020. Please click here for more information.