• TRAVEL NOTICE: Learn more about COVID-19
  • Write a Review
  • Boards
  • Log In
  • Find a Cruise
  • Deals
  • Excursions
  • More

Viking Embla Review

4.0 / 5.0
Editor Rating
141 reviews

Terrible Experience

Review for Viking Embla to Europe
User Avatar
10+ Cruises • Age 70s

Rating by category

Public Rooms
Fitness & Recreation

Additional details

Sail Date: Jul 2019
Cabin: Veranda Stateroom

Viking River Cruise on “Embla:” Bucharest to Budapest w/ 3-nt Prague Add-On


Terrible experience with Viking aboard their boat Embla due to major maintenance issues known to them before our cruise started. Half speed at best; little to no air-conditioning with room temperatures ranging from the high 70s into the 90s. The dining room felt even hotter with everyone assembled. This was a boat maintenance issue, NOT a river problem. We did not have a river cruise; the boat stayed in Russe, Bulgaria for 3 days. Then we were on buses for the rest of the trip. No choice/options as to what we ate. Viking gave minimal refund and never answered my emails to Customer Relations and several senior management personnel.

Response from VikingS, Community Team

Hello, tufftwo71. We recognize that you were among the guests of Viking Embla who experienced delays and hardware issues during your travel with us. While mechanical issues do sometimes...

Cabin Review

Veranda Stateroom

Cabin B

Cabin was small. A/C was minimal, but that was due to problem with whole boat.

8 Helpful Votes

Find a Viking Embla Cruise from $1,999

Want to cruise smarter?
Get expert advice, insider tips and more.
By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.