1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. American Queen
We had been recommended the American Queen by a close friend, who is quite choosy so we felt confident all would be prefect! Not quite! Disappointed with quality of some of entertainment. Particularly the lounge singer- we felt very poor, could have been much better. Sadly dinner service was lacking, although did improve so I guess someone at a neighbourung table may have said something? We were served wrong meals repeatedly, had to ask for drinks to be served and the attitude of some staff was very off hand. Front porch cafe- always great service and choice- both at breakfast and lunch. Top deck bar- likewise, always good. This isn't a cheap trip and expectations were so high and I have to admit we were disappointed with these areas! In other areas they excelled, organistaion around trips, both additional and standard were excellent- we did both. Ease on and off at ports was great- never been so easy! The 'Hop on/Hop off' bus service fab! In terms of value for money- depends on your point of view - I know some of my fellow dinner partners felt it wasn't. However if you use all the facilities, all the trips provided as part of package, along with buses it does feel like you know what you are paying for. I think the poor service at dinner and 'not so good' entertainment in places left it feeling wanting. We , for insatnce , seldom ate lunch- but suited ourselves and made a sandwich which we took with us when on shore for a trip. Had fruit etc to eat during the day so we gained in other ways. Satff in general really great, helpful, friendly. Staterooms as expected- really clean, comfortable and well serviced- we had a private verandah which was great.

Almost Perfect!

American Queen Cruise Review by Justbeginners

2 people found this helpful
Trip Details
  • Sail Date: April 2019
  • Destination: USA
We had been recommended the American Queen by a close friend, who is quite choosy so we felt confident all would be prefect!

Not quite!

Disappointed with quality of some of entertainment.

Particularly the lounge singer- we felt very poor, could have been much better.

Sadly dinner service was lacking, although did improve so I guess someone at a neighbourung table may have said something?

We were served wrong meals repeatedly, had to ask for drinks to be served and the attitude of some staff was very off hand.

Front porch cafe- always great service and choice- both at breakfast and lunch.

Top deck bar- likewise, always good.

This isn't a cheap trip and expectations were so high and I have to admit we were disappointed with these areas!

In other areas they excelled, organistaion around trips, both additional and standard were excellent- we did both.

Ease on and off at ports was great- never been so easy!

The 'Hop on/Hop off' bus service fab!

In terms of value for money- depends on your point of view - I know some of my fellow dinner partners felt it wasn't.

However if you use all the facilities, all the trips provided as part of package, along with buses it does feel like you know what you are paying for.

I think the poor service at dinner and 'not so good' entertainment in places left it feeling wanting.

We , for insatnce , seldom ate lunch- but suited ourselves and made a sandwich which we took with us when on shore for a trip.

Had fruit etc to eat during the day so we gained in other ways.

Satff in general really great, helpful, friendly.

Staterooms as expected- really clean, comfortable and well serviced- we had a private verandah which was great.
Guest Experience Manager, Guest Relations Manager has responded
Hi Justbeginners! Thank you for taking the time to submit your review! We hope you will come back and see that we have made some improvements in the areas you have given us your feedback on. We are pleased to learn that you were pleased with the majority of your cruise and look forward to welcoming you back on board! Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
Justbeginners’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get American Queen price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Cabin 329
Very clean, comfortable, themed.
Everything you could need.
Nice to have verandah.