The food really is wonderful. The cabin was really nice too, comfortable bed and linens. The staff was very friendly especially our steward.But if you wanted a drink at the pool you best hustle on over to the bar because they aren't going to ask if you need anything. Odd because all the restaurant people were on it! Entertainment was marginal to poor. The pool side band played about an hour and quit at noon. What's up with that. The comedian was great - talking about marriage. One of the lectures was the "history of cruise ships" -- which was not interesting to us. Other topics would have been more interesting. The cooking classes were always full - and also had a cost. There were wonderful restaurants which had no cost. You had to make a reservation for the restaurants on the day you wanted If it was not full or others did not show or canceled you could then go to the restaurant. Our really bad experience was with the destination services desk. The counter Manager raised her voice at a girl, Natalie, who was trying her best to explain her complaint in English. Her issue, which ironically was ours too, was failure to get a $199 credit for an excursion that was canceled due to bad weather. She, like us, thought we should get full credit for it - as it was one of the 3 included excursions in our fare. We were to get 3 "free" excursions. When we got 2 "free" excursions - we felt a credit was appropriate. We weren't the only ones that felt this way. When Natalie asked what she was supposed to do with her excursion tickets - the manager replied "keep them for a souvenir". Natalie, her husband and my wife and I talked to the General Manager. He explained that the "free" excursions were an advertising gimmick to get customers to sign up for the cruise. The "free" excursions essentially had no value - but, as a courtesy Oceania would credit our account $100. My stance was that if the excursions had no value then why did they put a $199 charge for them. We ended up getting $100 credit for a $199 excursion. But if I can convince you to cruise with other lines I'm happy. We paid nearly $10,000 for the cruise and they chose to cheat us out of $198 on one excursion and $240 on another. Amazing!!! I wouldn't say this cruise was "fun". It did offer excursions that were incredible with talented locals who entertained with glee. Post cruise we had to be off the ship by 9:00 am. Flights out of Tahiti are at 11:00 pm. One of the good things Oceanic gave us a choice to have our luggage transported to the airport - which meant we did not have to lug it around all day. The luggage was delivered at 6:30 at the airport. That was really nice. One of the hotels, Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort,Oceania offered an excursion that picked up passengers to hotels until transport to the airport in the evening. This resort was the same place we stayed before the cruise. Please read my wife's review of Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort. We gave it a 2 star rating, the breakfast ($30 each) was fine - dinner food was terrible and expensive. The resort had uncomfortable living room furnishings Anyway, the post cruise excursion lets passengers hang out in a ballroom with the rest of the gang, eat bad food and relax. We noticed that the hotel had a sign that a day rate was $125 but we found out from other travelers that the resort charged up to $400 for a day room. The pool at the Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort was nice when they weren't having spinner classes - twice a day. Try Royal Caribbean, Viking, Holland America or anything else

Great food...That is All

Marina Cruise Review by billnancycriswell

1 person found this helpful
Trip Details
  • Sail Date: January 2019
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Cabin Type: Concierge Level
The food really is wonderful. The cabin was really nice too, comfortable bed and linens. The staff was very friendly especially our steward.But if you wanted a drink at the pool you best hustle on over to the bar because they aren't going to ask if you need anything. Odd because all the restaurant people were on it!

Entertainment was marginal to poor. The pool side band played about an hour and quit at noon. What's up with that. The comedian was great - talking about marriage. One of the lectures was the "history of cruise ships" -- which was not interesting to us. Other topics would have been more interesting. The cooking classes were always full - and also had a cost. There were wonderful restaurants which had no cost. You had to make a reservation for the restaurants on the day you wanted If it was not full or others did not show or canceled you could then go to the restaurant.

Our really bad experience was with the destination services desk. The counter Manager raised her voice at a girl, Natalie, who was trying her best to explain her complaint in English. Her issue, which ironically was ours too, was failure to get a $199 credit for an excursion that was canceled due to bad weather. She, like us, thought we should get full credit for it - as it was one of the 3 included excursions in our fare. We were to get 3 "free" excursions. When we got 2 "free" excursions - we felt a credit was appropriate. We weren't the only ones that felt this way. When Natalie asked what she was supposed to do with her excursion tickets - the manager replied "keep them for a souvenir". Natalie, her husband and my wife and I talked to the General Manager. He explained that the "free" excursions were an advertising gimmick to get customers to sign up for the cruise. The "free" excursions essentially had no value - but, as a courtesy Oceania would credit our account $100. My stance was that if the excursions had no value then why did they put a $199 charge for them. We ended up getting $100 credit for a $199 excursion. But if I can convince you to cruise with other lines I'm happy. We paid nearly $10,000 for the cruise and they chose to cheat us out of $198 on one excursion and $240 on another. Amazing!!! I wouldn't say this cruise was "fun". It did offer excursions that were

incredible with talented locals who entertained with glee.

Post cruise we had to be off the ship by 9:00 am. Flights out of Tahiti are at 11:00 pm. One of the good things Oceanic gave us a choice to have our luggage transported to the airport - which meant we did not have to lug it around all day. The luggage was delivered at 6:30 at the airport. That was really nice. One of the hotels, Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort,Oceania offered an excursion that picked up passengers to hotels until transport to the airport in the evening. This resort was the same place we stayed before the cruise. Please read my wife's review of Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort. We gave it a 2 star rating, the breakfast ($30 each) was fine - dinner food was terrible and expensive. The resort had uncomfortable living room furnishings Anyway, the post cruise excursion lets passengers hang out in a ballroom with the rest of the gang, eat bad food and relax. We noticed that the hotel had a sign that a day rate was $125 but we found out from other travelers that the resort charged up to $400 for a day room. The pool at the Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort was nice when they weren't having spinner classes - twice a day.

Try Royal Caribbean, Viking, Holland America or anything else
billnancycriswell’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Oceania Marina price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Concierge Level
Cabin A2 9072
Nice enough, great bed
Deck 10 Inside Cabins, Balcony Cabins, Suite Cabins