1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Carnival Legend
This cruise was in celebration of my husband's 40th birthday. We repeated this cruise from 8 years ago and were quite excited to take our daughter back to the last frontier. The negative: We opted for a balcony room but were recommended an "obstructed view" by not only our travel agent but a Carnival representative as well to shave a few dollars off the total. Our first concern was the view for our 9 yr old. We're going to Alaska with the view being our main priority. No worries we were told, the lifeboat is "tucked" underneath your balcony. Uhhhh....not accurate at all. The lifeboat was flush with the bottom of our balcony and given her height, it was nearly impossible for her to see ANYTHING except UP. After many phone calls to our agent and Carnival, notes were found where the representative inaccurately described the view. We were told, "Oh, sorry. The ship is full, there is no where for us to move you." We were bumped to the top of the list if anyone had to leave ship. We were, in fact, moved to a different cabin mid-way through the cruise when a family had to leave. No one helped move our luggage from one floor to another and we were moved to a downgrade in category. There was little to no apology for such a disappointing and frustrating situation due to a CARNIVAL EMPLOYEE. Next, we were given an onboard credit with our booking which no one seemed to find. While at the front desk I logged into my Carnival account and showed the associate our credit, email her a screenshot of my account and await a response from the Miami office. It was the end of the cruise when we received the credit. Dinner was such a slooooowwwww affair. When you have a 9 year old, a 1.5 - 2 hr dining event is not ideal. There were nights we would order wine and either need to remind the waiter numerous times that we hadn't received our wine or never even get it. The food was average for a cruise ship. Carnival has eliminated (at least on our cruise) the bar waiter that served the dining room. Walking from the Truffles Dining room to Follies Lounge required us to walk through the casino that is a smokefest. Our daughter was looking forward to the Kid's Club but was extremely disappointed when her age group was combined with the toddler group which made for boring, age inappropriate activities (or plopping them in front of a tv with an outdated movie). Carnival redeemed themselves with her in the onboard daily activities which we engaged in more than any other cruise. We were involved in an array of activities which connected us with other passengers on a first name basis. We have sailed many times on Carnival and have been happy with the level of service over the years. It appears that in an attempt to be competitive in pricing, Carnival's solution was to reduce level of service by reducing employee count. Disappointing to say the least. On the positive: One of the highlights of our cruise was the Chef's Table. It. Was. Amazing. The date happened to coincide with his birthday so it worked out perfectly. The service amazing and the food was extraordinary. I highly recommend the Chef's Table if you're looking to splurge or indulge. The ship has gone a renovation of common areas in recent years and there have been a few additions worth mentioning: Guy's Burger Joint: Great flat top burgers with an array of toppings available to make it exactly how you like it. Blue Iguana Cantina: Good fast mexican food that can be "somewhat" customized with chips and salsa (my fav!) Alchemy Bar: Vintage-themed cocktail bar directly outside the dining room. Nightly music was offered in the area pre/post dinner which our 9 yr old really enjoyed since it's in a common area.

The decline of service

Carnival Legend Cruise Review by Lovin2Trvl

Trip Details
  • Sail Date: July 2018
  • Destination: Alaska
This cruise was in celebration of my husband's 40th birthday. We repeated this cruise from 8 years ago and were quite excited to take our daughter back to the last frontier. The negative: We opted for a balcony room but were recommended an "obstructed view" by not only our travel agent but a Carnival representative as well to shave a few dollars off the total. Our first concern was the view for our 9 yr old. We're going to Alaska with the view being our main priority. No worries we were told, the lifeboat is "tucked" underneath your balcony. Uhhhh....not accurate at all. The lifeboat was flush with the bottom of our balcony and given her height, it was nearly impossible for her to see ANYTHING except UP. After many phone calls to our agent and Carnival, notes were found where the representative inaccurately described the view. We were told, "Oh, sorry. The ship is full, there is no where for us to move you." We were bumped to the top of the list if anyone had to leave ship. We were, in fact, moved to a different cabin mid-way through the cruise when a family had to leave. No one helped move our luggage from one floor to another and we were moved to a downgrade in category. There was little to no apology for such a disappointing and frustrating situation due to a CARNIVAL EMPLOYEE.

Next, we were given an onboard credit with our booking which no one seemed to find. While at the front desk I logged into my Carnival account and showed the associate our credit, email her a screenshot of my account and await a response from the Miami office. It was the end of the cruise when we received the credit.

Dinner was such a slooooowwwww affair. When you have a 9 year old, a 1.5 - 2 hr dining event is not ideal. There were nights we would order wine and either need to remind the waiter numerous times that we hadn't received our wine or never even get it. The food was average for a cruise ship.

Carnival has eliminated (at least on our cruise) the bar waiter that served the dining room.

Walking from the Truffles Dining room to Follies Lounge required us to walk through the casino that is a smokefest.

Our daughter was looking forward to the Kid's Club but was extremely disappointed when her age group was combined with the toddler group which made for boring, age inappropriate activities (or plopping them in front of a tv with an outdated movie). Carnival redeemed themselves with her in the onboard daily activities which we engaged in more than any other cruise. We were involved in an array of activities which connected us with other passengers on a first name basis.

We have sailed many times on Carnival and have been happy with the level of service over the years. It appears that in an attempt to be competitive in pricing, Carnival's solution was to reduce level of service by reducing employee count. Disappointing to say the least.

On the positive: One of the highlights of our cruise was the Chef's Table. It. Was. Amazing. The date happened to coincide with his birthday so it worked out perfectly. The service amazing and the food was extraordinary. I highly recommend the Chef's Table if you're looking to splurge or indulge.

The ship has gone a renovation of common areas in recent years and there have been a few additions worth mentioning:

Guy's Burger Joint: Great flat top burgers with an array of toppings available to make it exactly how you like it.

Blue Iguana Cantina: Good fast mexican food that can be "somewhat" customized with chips and salsa (my fav!)

Alchemy Bar: Vintage-themed cocktail bar directly outside the dining room. Nightly music was offered in the area pre/post dinner which our 9 yr old really enjoyed since it's in a common area.
Lovin2Trvl’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Ages 7 to 9
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Carnival Legend price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Port & Shore Excursion Reviews

  • Whales, Bears and Glaciers
    Started with the whale watching. The tour guides were very personable though they struggled that day to find whales (at no fault of their own....nature is unpredictable!)
    We had a bus ride over to Mendenhall Glacier where we were fortunate enough to spot a bear that peaked out of the woods to give flight to a woman walking her dog on the sidewalk!
    The glacier was beautiful!
    View All 50 Whales, Bears and Glaciers Reviews
  • Skagway
    It was a short excursion where you are basically guaranteed to find gold (if you pan correctly). Our 9 yr old LOVED it and we combined all of our gold flakes together & purchased a keepsake necklace for her to keep it in.
    View All 975 Skagway Cruise Port Reviews
    View Cruise Critic's Skagway Cruise Port Review