1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. MSC Divina
(Posting this online because MSC, both onboard and at the corporate level, would do nothing except say, "We're sorry.") They overcharged us, then would not adjust the bill. The customer service we received throughout our cruise was, in fact, #customerNOservice. Quite frankly, we are appalled at the lack of respect and lack of common courtesy we received from your employees on the MSC Divina (with three noted exceptions). We were ignored, given lip-service, brushed aside, and actually lied to by employees. I will list a few examples: 1) We were forced to wait for over an hour and a half at check-in in a long, hot, very crowded check-in line. With my physical difficulties, this was almost unbearable for me. (My physical limitations are previously documented with MSC.) I requested from one of the employees to allow me to use the much shorter, much less crowded physically limited check-in line. The employee curtly refused my request. #CustomerNoService 2) As soon as we entered our cabin, we saw that there was no electrical outlet near the bed with which to power my breathing machine. (One of my medical issues previously documented.) We asked our cabin attendant for an extension cord for this use. He came back later saying that he couldn't bring one (as they DID do for us on the MSC Seaside on our last trip). He said that I would have to personally go back to the "reception" desk and pay a deposit in order to pick one up for ourselves. What a pain! Why does the Divina require a deposit when the Seaside does not? How inconvenient! #CustomerNoService 3) Shortly after I purchased internet service on my device for $49.90, the MSC app showed me other options I might prefer, including "Premium" internet with 7000 megabytes for only $71.51. I purchased that option, believing that it was replacing the package that I had chosen four minutes earlier. Instead, I later find out that this was in addition to the previously purchased package. I told guest relations that I did not want an addition. They basically told me that it was too bad. They couldn't (wouldn't) do anything to help. Then the internet service problems began . . . My device would connect to the internet service sometimes - then other times it wouldn't connect at all. When it did connect, it would knock me offline after a short time, often when I was right in the middle of my online work. VERY frustrating! I reported these problems over and over again to "guest relations". They looked at my device several times. There was nothing wrong with my device. Internet would work for a while, then it would stop again. The reception in our cabin was particularly spotty. *NOTE: There should be many electronic documents available for verification regarding these reported issues. At one point, the "guest relations" person said that he would have the IT Director look into it. I got a couple of return phone calls over a couple of days, each one saying that they couldn't find anything wrong. Each one proceeded to explain to me "how spotty any satellite internet service could be". They would go no further than that. This wasted an enormous part of our vacation trying to connect and re-connect and re-connect over and over again. VERY frustrating! Finally, on the next to last day, a "guest relations" person told me that he would get the IT Director to place a router in our cabin to assure we would have good service for the last day of our trip. HE LIED! Nothing further was seen or heard from anyone regarding this. We did NOT get a router brought to our room. #CustomerNoService 4) The only employees we encountered who consistently displayed a pleasant demeanor toward guests were our dinner servers and the cabin attendants we passed in the hallways. The "Guest Relations" areas were terribly understaffed, (thirty guests in line, with only two or three attendants) and the personnel there were not good ambassadors for MSC. They would provide printed information sheets when needed, but for any problem issues, they either gave lip-service to the problems, saying they would take care of things - or they passed the buck by saying that "someone will get back with you." No one ever got back with us. I heard numerous other guests complaining of the same terrible service. #CustomerNoService 5) Only one employee, out of the dozens we encountered during our trip showed some deference to guests as the guests passed by. In the buffet, employees pushing carts did not give way to guests, rather they pushed right through guests that were holding plates in their hands. The employees barely slowed down as they rushed past the guests. Twice, I was almost run down by one of these employees pushing a cart. NOT very guest-friendly. #CustomerNoService 6) The buffet tables were "cleared" after previous guests had left. The tables were wiped, but were not really clean. The employees just wiped around salt and pepper shakers and sweetener caddies. Food particles were left on the table at almost every buffet meal. We had to wipe the table again before we could feel comfortable placing our food and drinks on it. #CustomerNoService Additionally, I sense a little "bait and switch" going on with the "Drinks On Us" which was part of our reservation. Nowhere did I see online anything about additional service charges that would be added for each and every drink we had "On MSC". We prepaid our service charges/gratuities before boarding. We did not expect to have to pay extra service charges beyond that. MSC needs to explain to potential guests these additional charges BEFORE the potential guests decide to purchase a voyage on MSC. (In fact, on one of the MSC emails I received, it was specifically stated: "DRINK PACKAGE TERMS & CONDITIONS: Easy Package is included with the promotion. Service charges are included." Finally . . . At no time were we ever shown any reason to believe that our business was important or appreciated by MSC. Instead, it appears that our presence onboard was an inconvenience to each and every MSC service person, except for Cy (our cabin attendant) and Michael and Ulysses (our dinner servers) and, of course, those who wanted to sell us stuff in the various shops. This was far and away the worst cruise experience (out of seven cruises) we have ever encountered.

Worst.cruise.service.ever! Stay Away from MSC Divina!

MSC Divina Cruise Review by karlsuggs

Trip Details
  • Sail Date: December 2018
  • Destination: Western Caribbean
  • Cabin Type: Bella Balcony Stateroom
(Posting this online because MSC, both onboard and at the corporate level, would do nothing except say, "We're sorry.") They overcharged us, then would not adjust the bill. The customer service we received throughout our cruise was, in fact, #customerNOservice.

Quite frankly, we are appalled at the lack of respect and lack of common courtesy we received from your employees on the MSC Divina (with three noted exceptions). We were ignored, given lip-service, brushed aside, and actually lied to by employees.

I will list a few examples:

1) We were forced to wait for over an hour and a half at check-in in a long, hot, very crowded check-in line. With my physical difficulties, this was almost unbearable for me. (My physical limitations are previously documented with MSC.) I requested from one of the employees to allow me to use the much shorter, much less crowded physically limited check-in line. The employee curtly refused my request. #CustomerNoService

2) As soon as we entered our cabin, we saw that there was no electrical outlet near the bed with which to power my breathing machine. (One of my medical issues previously documented.) We asked our cabin attendant for an extension cord for this use. He came back later saying that he couldn't bring one (as they DID do for us on the MSC Seaside on our last trip). He said that I would have to personally go back to the "reception" desk and pay a deposit in order to pick one up for ourselves. What a pain! Why does the Divina require a deposit when the Seaside does not? How inconvenient! #CustomerNoService

3) Shortly after I purchased internet service on my device for $49.90, the MSC app showed me other options I might prefer, including "Premium" internet with 7000 megabytes for only $71.51. I purchased that option, believing that it was replacing the package that I had chosen four minutes earlier. Instead, I later find out that this was in addition to the previously purchased package. I told guest relations that I did not want an addition. They basically told me that it was too bad. They couldn't (wouldn't) do anything to help.

Then the internet service problems began . . . My device would connect to the internet service sometimes - then other times it wouldn't connect at all. When it did connect, it would knock me offline after a short time, often when I was right in the middle of my online work. VERY frustrating! I reported these problems over and over again to "guest relations". They looked at my device several times. There was nothing wrong with my device. Internet would work for a while, then it would stop again. The reception in our cabin was particularly spotty. *NOTE: There should be many electronic documents available for verification regarding these reported issues.

At one point, the "guest relations" person said that he would have the IT Director look into it. I got a couple of return phone calls over a couple of days, each one saying that they couldn't find anything wrong. Each one proceeded to explain to me "how spotty any satellite internet service could be". They would go no further than that.

This wasted an enormous part of our vacation trying to connect and re-connect and re-connect over and over again. VERY frustrating!

Finally, on the next to last day, a "guest relations" person told me that he would get the IT Director to place a router in our cabin to assure we would have good service for the last day of our trip. HE LIED! Nothing further was seen or heard from anyone regarding this. We did NOT get a router brought to our room. #CustomerNoService

4) The only employees we encountered who consistently displayed a pleasant demeanor toward guests were our dinner servers and the cabin attendants we passed in the hallways. The "Guest Relations" areas were terribly understaffed, (thirty guests in line, with only two or three attendants) and the personnel there were not good ambassadors for MSC. They would provide printed information sheets when needed, but for any problem issues, they either gave lip-service to the problems, saying they would take care of things - or they passed the buck by saying that "someone will get back with you." No one ever got back with us. I heard numerous other guests complaining of the same terrible service. #CustomerNoService

5) Only one employee, out of the dozens we encountered during our trip showed some deference to guests as the guests passed by. In the buffet, employees pushing carts did not give way to guests, rather they pushed right through guests that were holding plates in their hands. The employees barely slowed down as they rushed past the guests. Twice, I was almost run down by one of these employees pushing a cart. NOT very guest-friendly. #CustomerNoService

6) The buffet tables were "cleared" after previous guests had left. The tables were wiped, but were not really clean. The employees just wiped around salt and pepper shakers and sweetener caddies. Food particles were left on the table at almost every buffet meal. We had to wipe the table again before we could feel comfortable placing our food and drinks on it. #CustomerNoService

Additionally, I sense a little "bait and switch" going on with the "Drinks On Us" which was part of our reservation. Nowhere did I see online anything about additional service charges that would be added for each and every drink we had "On MSC". We prepaid our service charges/gratuities before boarding. We did not expect to have to pay extra service charges beyond that. MSC needs to explain to potential guests these additional charges BEFORE the potential guests decide to purchase a voyage on MSC. (In fact, on one of the MSC emails I received, it was specifically stated: "DRINK PACKAGE TERMS & CONDITIONS: Easy Package is included with the promotion. Service charges are included."

Finally . . . At no time were we ever shown any reason to believe that our business was important or appreciated by MSC. Instead, it appears that our presence onboard was an inconvenience to each and every MSC service person, except for Cy (our cabin attendant) and Michael and Ulysses (our dinner servers) and, of course, those who wanted to sell us stuff in the various shops.

This was far and away the worst cruise experience (out of seven cruises) we have ever encountered.
karlsuggs’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get MSC Divina price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Bella Balcony Stateroom
Cabin B1
Just your average cabin.
Cupido Deck Inside Cabins, Balcony Cabins