1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Royal Princess
It was rated the Best New England Cruise Land combination. Or so the advertisement said. Best for them because they have cut quality of food, shows, room size, Just over all, poorly run. We will never cruise with princess again!! Best thing the Cruise Director Matt O'. Matt did his best to keep up morale, tall order for someone trying to save a sinking ship. Food was not up to par and timing was very poor. Missed 3 out of 10 dinners due to "Any Time Dining". What they don't tell you is that it is "Any Time They Want You To Dine". Also, schedule your dinning rooms, so that one can eat early, due to GERD issues, and still find a seat in the Auditorium.We missed 2 shows due to "Standing Room Only" at the first Show. Service as good as could be expected, as they had 140 new crew members, who were using passengers to learn the ropes. NOT the Crews fault - - MANAGEMENT is using the cheapest labor to get the most money. We were informed that they were training for the "HOLIDAY SEASON". Princess needs to help their staff by providing the best training. We booked our flight through Princess. When it was too late to book our own, they moved us to a "RED EYE" to their $$$ advantage. Also, took 2 days to catch up on sleep.Due to a freeway accident, we stood with our luggage from 7:45 A.M. till 1:30 P.M. because they had no back up plan. For all the trouble, we were offered nothing.

Princess has dropped the ball. They are not the best, as was advertised.

Royal Princess Cruise Review by ConnieZimp

3 people found this helpful
Trip Details
It was rated the Best New England Cruise Land combination. Or so the advertisement said.

Best for them because they have cut quality of food, shows, room size, Just over all, poorly run. We will never cruise with princess again!!

Best thing the Cruise Director Matt O'. Matt did his best to keep up morale, tall order for someone trying to save a sinking ship. Food was not up to par and timing was very poor.

Missed 3 out of 10 dinners due to "Any Time Dining". What they don't tell you is that it is "Any Time They Want You To Dine". Also, schedule your dinning rooms, so that one can eat early, due to GERD issues, and still find a seat in the Auditorium.We missed 2 shows due to "Standing Room Only" at the first Show.

Service as good as could be expected, as they had 140 new crew members, who were using passengers to learn the ropes. NOT the Crews fault - - MANAGEMENT is using the cheapest labor to get the most money. We were informed that they were training for the "HOLIDAY SEASON". Princess needs to help their staff by providing the best training.

We booked our flight through Princess. When it was too late to book our own, they moved us to a "RED EYE" to their $$$ advantage. Also, took 2 days to catch up on sleep.Due to a freeway accident, we stood with our luggage from 7:45 A.M. till 1:30 P.M. because they had no back up plan. For all the trouble, we were offered nothing.
PrincessCruises3, Social Team, Princess Cruises has responded
Hi ConnieZimp, we are truly sorry if you had an unsatisfactory experience onboard Royal Princess. We definitely intend for all guests to have a wonderful time during our cruises and wish you had a better experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
ConnieZimp’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Royal Princess price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Deluxe Balcony
Cabin DB D616
Deluxe Balcony, if you are a very small person. Only 18inchs between the foot of the bed and the wall. Reminded me of a prison cell,or what I've seen on TV. Highway robbery for the price to space ratio.
Riviera Deck Inside Cabins, Balcony Cabins, Suite Cabins

Port & Shore Excursion Reviews

  • Historic Salem & Witch Museum
    The Museum of Salem is set up for Elementary School children.Tried to be scary instead of factual. If I had been given that information in the description, I would have been better prepared to receive it in that context. It was described at a much higher level.
    View All 4 Historic Salem & Witch Museum Reviews